skip navigation
Come Back to the 5 & Dime Jimmy Dean, Jimmy Dean

Come Back to the 5 & Dime Jimmy Dean, Jimmy Dean(1982)

Contribute

FOR Come Back to the 5 & Dime Jimmy Dean, Jimmy Dean (1982) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Come Back to the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • j. dean X2

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/6/16

    Well, it's official. This is Robert Altman's worst film. An aimless, witless, pointless mess that wastes the considerable talents of Cher and Sandy Dennis, among others. Give it a D for drag (as in pacing) P.S. Even worse than this film is Jeff's gay and trans baiting review below. This guy used to be amusingly reactionary and occasionally perceptive. Now, he's just an offensive idiot. He also contradicts himself. In many of his previous reviews he extols American "exceptionalism," but here he castigates "abnormality." So, in the world according to Jeff, it's ok for the U.S. to deviate from the norm, but not non heterosexuals. This guy really needs a brain cell infusion.

  • The Divine James Dean ! Fitting Eulogy !

    • DON RILEY
    • 1/6/16

    The poet Gregory Corso said there are three stages Talent, Genius and The Divine. The only film actor who achieved the third stage was James Dean. This is brilliantly acted and equally brilliantly directed film. The incredible Sandy Dennis leads a remarkable cast of Karen Black, Kathy Bates (who has a limited role) and Cher ( who to my surprise is actually good and quite funny for the most part). She actually provides the greatest amount of timing and humor. This is troupe acting at its finest, the women are all exceptional and the film works as a tribute to James Dean in the tradition of James Dean "gut wrenching and cathartic". Five Stars

  • Premiered on TCM in primetime

    • Jeff Boston
    • 1/6/16

    There is one reason why this movie premiered on TCM 34 years after its limited and unsuccessful release. Last year was the year of Caitlyn, and this film serves to try to garner even more sympathy and normalization of the abnormal.

  • So disappointed!!

    • Alice
    • 1/5/16

    After reading the wonderful reviews about this film, I could not wait to see it. What a disappointment! What a let-down! I was raised in the south in the forties and fifties. No one talked with such filthy mouths as what I heard in this film. What a way to ruin what might have been a good film. Back then, this country, especially the south, at least professed to be Christian. A mother would have never tolerated her daughters to take the Lord's name in vain like I heard in this movie. If the director thought the bad language served to add realism, he was way off base.I am a faithful watcher of TCM mainly because I can usually trust I can watch clean films without foul language and excess violence. May I suggest you all do what you usually do, and reserve films like this one for late night? TCM is the last place people like me can enjoy clean films, with a moral to them, as well as a great story line. Thank you TCM. I hope it will be a very long time before I receive a shock like this again.

  • More fuss about James Dean.

    • denscul
    • 1/5/16

    I lived through the James Dean era, and even at the tender age ten, I heard my parent's gossip of Dean. By then I thought girls were a lot different than boys. There they were, going nuts over guys who would never give them a second thought. At least our hero's were real. They played baseball, football or drove cars at reckless speeds, but not to kill themselves but to win races. Watched the TCM premier with anticipation. A film I had never seen made in the 80's. The guest said the remakes costs 5 million. What a waste of film the first time. Maybe I couldn't get past the James Dean thing. I've seen and read a lot about reunions, and the secrets that come out. This film in my opinion is nothing special. This would be the first time I would not vote to have this available on home DVD. I also dislike Cher because she climbed up to fame on the back of Sonny Bono. Excuse the spelling if not correct. Her best acting was in Moonstruck. This apparently was he first film, and it showed, at least to this amateur reviewer.

  • Why Can't We Get This on DVD ?

    • Sid Servin
    • 8/31/10

    This is absolutely one of the best movies that I have ever seen. Saw it the last time some years back and can't get enough of it. Can someone tell me why this is not on DVD. I would even take it on VHS if its out there. The performances of Cher, Sandy Dennis, Karen Black and Kathy Bates are excellent. This movie leaves a lasting impression on you. Altman at his best in directing this picture.

  • what's taking so long?

    • Tashia
    • 4/24/09

    It seems so hard for the good films to get to home video and not the crappy ones I know they have this film on VHS but once you had DVD you never want to go back to VHS,and what is taking so long for every movie that is ever made to transfer to dvd!I want this movie to be on dvd because much I adore TCM I know they will never air it and if they do they will air it at some very late hour,and then never play it again.I want on dvd so I can watch whenever I feel like it.

  • As interesting as Silkwood, terribly overlooked.

    • Teena Phillips
    • 12/19/07

    I'm no reviewer, but here is a great film.The entire movie is in a five and dime store, so all of the focus is on the actors. Robert Altman takes him time and fully developes these characters with 3 secrets, which at this reunion get told, explained, developed one at a time. A very human look at humans and how they hide true feelings even among dear friends. The movie Giant had been filmed near by 20 yrs earlier and they formed a Jimmy Dean fan club. But now, 1 yearns to tell who they really are (Cher), 1 to tell who they always were (Black) and 1 to come to terms with who she really is (Dennis). Cher's very best work. Kathy Bates here too.We've all been there. See there's.Deeply satisfying. Deserves to be on a DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.