skip navigation
Come Back, Little Sheba

Come Back, Little Sheba(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Come Back, Little Sheba A mismatched couple's... MORE > $5.98 Regularly $5.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Come back, Little Sheba

    • Goetan
    • 9/2/14

    A stirring adaptation of William Inge's play. Booth won a Best Actress Oscar as Lancaster's sloppy housewife, Moore was nominated for her performance as a young tenant who Lancaster becomes interested in. The story of long-lost happiness and achievements in a mismatched couple is pitiful and depressing, the story picks up more attention-grabbing drama in the second half. Compelling and emotionally attentive. I give it a 4/5.

  • COME BACK LITTLE SHEBA OR DON'T

    • SHARON CLARK
    • 11/24/13

    THE PERFORMANCES WERE GREAT. THE MOVIE MAKES ME WANT BACK THE TWO HOURS TO WATCH IT. I KNOW THERE ARE PEOPLE WITH NOTHING IN LIFE. MISTAKES MADE AT SIXTEEN CAN DESTROY ALL THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. I DO NOT NEED TO WATCH IT.

  • Outstanding performance from Miss Shirley Booth

    • Larry Esposito
    • 11/19/13

    I had never seen the entire film of "Come Back, Little Sheba," so I had no idea of just how good Miss Shirley Booth was. I saw her on TV many times as Hazel, but I never really came to appreciate her inestimable talents until recently viewing the film. It is a flawless performance and, I think, one of a handful of really great performances ever put on film. She is truly extraordinary and, even though some may think the film is dated, there are people out there today who live lives just as she does. The telephone scene with her mother is enough to convince me of how wonderful she was as an actress. Such a touching scene.I admire her and recognize that without her, we would have been missing something very important.

  • Inge the Misogynist

    • el debbo
    • 11/16/13

    I agree with reviewer "Mark". At the end of the movie, when Lola has a new 'do, and a fresh outlook, Doc says "It's good to be home." Yes, she's been a slob and a woman who slept til noon... nothing like the toothsome young boarder. But it's probable that Doc drove her to despondency. Why is this a classic? Flat, boorish characters and a shallow story. From an anthro perspective, it shows us how desolate the day-to-day existence of a midcentury housewife was. Nothingness, and it made me very sad. Two stars.

  • Nothing Could Hide Lancaster's Fabulous Physique

    • Natacha
    • 11/7/13

    This is an excellent film on many levels. Lancaster plays a recovering alcoholic and former medical student who ended up being a chiropractor because he impregnated Shirley Booth, now a frumpy, lonely middle-aged housewife. Because of the pregnancy, he marries her but she loses the baby and is unable to have more children. Lancaster's life is miserable. He doesn't love Booth, and tries to cope with the cumulative disappointments in his life, including his alcoholism which wrecked his career, and from which is trying to recover. His wife takes in a lovely young college girl as a boarder, and the sexual temptation pushes Lancaster over the edge. He vents his multiple pent-up frustrations. Despite a year of sobriety, he gets drunk and tries to kill Booth, insulting her by calling her a "fat slut", winding up in the mental ward of the hospital where he works. Although he is supposed to be a middle-aged drunk and the makeup people whitened the hair at his temples, Lancaster's fabulous physique still shows. He is an excellent actor and does a wonderful job portraying his character, but he doesn't look like he ever belonged with Shirley Booth, also an excellent actor who deservingly won an Oscar for her performance.

  • Does William Inge hate women?

    • Mark R
    • 11/2/13

    Am I alone in thinking Come Back Little Sheba is one of the most misogynist movies I have ever seen? To me it sends the message to women that if women don't keep up their appearance then they deserve to be abused by their husbands. It seems like we see this misogynist theme throughout Inge's work. For example, in The Dark at the Top of the Stairs, we are made to believe that it is the wife's fault if the husband strays. Not the best message to send to young girls.

  • A triumph for Booth and Lancaster

    • Johnny Perry
    • 3/13/13

    Shirley Booth repeats her highly lauded Broadway performance in William Inge's beautifully bleak character study of eternally postponed fruition. A must-see for students of fine stage acting transitioned to celluloid.

  • Come Back, Little Sheba

    • Kathy Winkel
    • 2/8/11

    I was only one year old when this movie came out and thefirst time I saw it was on the late late show on TV . I'veloved it ever since! I am thrilled when ever I can catch iton TCM . I always liked Shirley Booth in Hazel and who doesn't like Burt Lancaster? It is a classic and a great story ! ! !

  • Come Back, Little Sheba (1952)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/21/09

    A bleak film, but extremely well written and very moving. Shirley Booth gives a tour-de-force performance and even outshines Burt Lancaster. She deservedly won an Oscar. Well directed, good photography.

  • A movie you can't miss!!!

    • carol gillette
    • 2/21/09

    This movie is a classic.If you haven't seen it, you don't know what you're missing.I promise that even you guys will like it!So i'm getting the word out.And it's for sale.Don't delay!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.