skip navigation
Cleopatra

Cleopatra(1934)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cleopatra The fabled queen of Egypt... MORE > $23.96 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Cleopatra

    • DON RILEY
    • 5/27/17

    I like this film a lot. Claudette Colbert is alive, sexual, enticing and with great personality. She is simply wonderful in this, very believable as Cleopatra. Not a ravishing beauty but her sexuality and personality is so perfect for the unexpurgated seductress and she plays it with feeling. I believe a great deal of this films allure is do to yer performance. The film also has clear and concise direction it flows wonderfully. The many extras and violence and costume also add to the wonder. The characters of Marc Antony and Caesar also are done well enough, Antony may be a bit too powerful but I thought it worked. Bravo ! Loved it !

  • Cleo The Great!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 1/13/17

    It plays like a comic book.

  • Another duddy Friday night programming by TCM

    • Robert Mann
    • 1/13/17

    Why dominate the whole of a Friday night viewing with the theme of Cleopatra? More tomfoolery in programming, especially with this early dud. I like C. Colbert, but she is hardly the type. rm

  • Cleopatra

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/31/12

    A true, DeMille epic that came at the beginning of the Hays' code. Colbert is excellent as the sensual title character, as are William & Wilcoxon as her Roman lovers. Oscar-winning cinematography, revealing costumes & huge, art-deco Egyptian sets magnificently recreate's that ancient period. Somewhat dated, but still an enjoyable film. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Sumptuous cinematography

    • RedRain
    • 2/20/12

    This film is beautifully made thanks to the genius of DeMille. I did not care for the cutesy portrayal of Cleopatra, however, and found it cheapened her. In reality, we know from many ancient writings that Cleopatra was a very strong woman and, in film, this was portrayed more realistically by Elizabeth Taylor. Vivian Leigh also played on the cutesy and flirtacious aspect of Cleopatra in her own film in 1945 and I did not like her performance either. Warren William plays a superb Julius Caesar and I was saddened when he was assassinated so early in the film, as I wanted to see much more of him in this role. Henry Wilcoxon as Marc Anthony gives a credible performance but his being shown as drunk all the time put me off. I much preferred Richard Burton in this role, as he played Anthony as a very strong warrior who, while succumbing to Cleopatra's charms, was still head of his army and a fierce leader of men. I believe there are now nine versions of Cleopatra on film. I would rank this one as #2 due to the overwhelming richness of the film.

  • Cleopatra (1934)

    • Stephen Kuckelman
    • 1/12/12

    I remember seeing the Liz Taylor remake in theaters in 1963 and was quite bored at the time. It wasn't until many years later when I saw the 1934 version on TV and have since always preferred it by quite a wide margin. I will say that I believe the 1963 re-make is not as bad as many make it out to be, and it seems to get better with time, but still pales in comparrison. I read many years ago that the european release of this move had a different orgy scene filned with some nudity that couldn't be released in the US. Does anyone know anything about their being a different version of this movie?

  • The definitive Cleopatra

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/12/11

    None of the actresses to follow, in any of the remakes of this film, can hold a candle to the seductive, alluring, and driven performance by Claudette Colbert. She is an amazingly talented actress, proven by her ability to play any kind of role - from a spoiled heiress, to a struggling single mother, to the Queen of the Nile (who is surely the most dynamic and well-known woman in history) - and each handled with equal aplomb. The movie itself is watchable and entertaining. The scene where she and Marc Antony are looking for the hiccup is quite amusing. Some of the scenes without Claudette tend to drag a bit, though.

  • Dated, painful

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 5/21/11

    After seeing the 60s version with Liz Taylor with truly opulent production values from 20th Century Fox on that one, I was very disappointed in this offering. The story does cry out for color, and the staging of DeMille's version with Colbert seems leaden, almost unwatchable. Meanwhile, Warren William's death scene as Caesar was way too quick and almost laughable. Just bad all around.

  • Cleopatra (1934)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/14/10

    Extravagant production, very Cecil B. DeMille. A bit over the top and a bit campy. Claudette Colbert is always good, Warren William is fair, he doesn't have much charisma. It's fascinating as a curio.

  • a great 'art deco' cleo!

    • marcco
    • 6/6/07

    a really great example of storytelling on film. demille's genius with the visuals here are on the level of hitchcock, "pure cinema".

  • The ultimate patriot

    • Marilyn Clark
    • 3/28/06

    When we visited Egypt in 1998, we learned that Cleopatra was celebrated less for her beauty than for her courage and resourcefulness in attempting to protect Egypt's position and continuation of her own Greek/Egyptian heritage in a Roman-dominated world. Although Claudette Colbert is undeniably beautiful and alluring, somehow her interpretation of the character conveys that practical urgency better to me than the bombastic later version with Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton. Warren William is splendid Julius Caesar, and Henry Wilcoxin is a fine Mark Anthony. The characterizations created by actors in the thirties are exceptional and perhaps unmatched, in my book. Non sequitur, but further proof of the quality and scope of Ms. Colbert's talent is that she starred in two other great films ("It Happened One Night" and "Imitation of Life") in 1934, the same year as "Cleopatra".

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.