skip navigation
The Children's Hour

The Children's Hour(1961)

  • Friday, August 22 @ 04:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Children's... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Classic

    • Kona Rose
    • 5/6/14

    Slander is a form of bullying, learned in childhood, perfected in adulthood. We have only recently exposed the reality of bullying in the schools. But what about the bullying in the workplace, in the home, everywhere? Still tolerated, looked at the other way, not confronted, and with no accountability for the serious damages, even loss of life as its consequences. I loved this movie since the first time I saw it. Would love to be able to see an enforceable law, without attorneys and courts involved, to hold loose lips and aggressive imaginations to equal disciplinarian action.

  • There's something about Mary

    • Phil
    • 1/15/14

    Though the story is not really about the bad little girl, it is the child who drives the story with her actions and motives and it is the child who deserves the scrutiny that most people bestow on the main characters and their unfortunate situation. Mary is an expert on 'naughty' and she is an expert at finding it in the world and people around her. Look at Mary and you'll discover a whole new story within a story.

  • The Children's Hour

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-4/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-4/5Screenplay-5/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-3 1/2 out of 5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • No Justice for the Victims

    • Howard Moses
    • 7/12/12

    As a retired teacher, I witnessed the consequences of malicious students' lies and insane gossip. This film is really about the damage those atrocities can do in any situation. If The Children's Hour (1961) is about lesbian love, it is about it in the unrequieted sense. Even if the truth comes out, oft times the victims are not restored to their positions, as that would mean that an administrator or parent was in error. Even worse, the self-esteem of the source of the lies is usually more important than the life of the victim. This movie is about a sickness that continues to the present which inexplicably makes people want to believe that which juicy and puriant, rather than what is plausible and what the evidence may actually support. It is an indicment of society as a whole. It is an idictment of people who should know better.

  • Exceptional...

    • Kate
    • 11/19/11

    An incredible capture of the angst and turmoil that is unfortunately still preset today. I can identify with this movie on all levels. Amazingly insightful, genuine, sad and raw. Someone said "ahead of its time" and that is spot on. It tugs at ever fiber if you're gay and you'll find yourself nodding, crying and filled with empathy.

  • LOVE this movie!!!

    • Angela H
    • 11/19/11

    This movie is great on so many levels... you have Shirley Mclane who is brilliant and Audrey Hepburn who is equally marvelous with a sprinkle of James Garner that makes the movie one of my essentials. Without giving the story away, the premise of having an evil lie from a child destroy the lives of obviously good people pulls at your emotions wanting good to trump evil. Until the verify end your hoping for vendication but... ok I wont spoil it but you won't be disappointed

  • Impossible to turn off...

    • David Patterson
    • 9/25/11

    Have you ever had the experience of seeing one of your favourite films come on the tube, and your reaction is "I've seen this two or three times recently, I don't think I'll bother watching it again". And then you turn it on for a moments glance, and you end up watching it through? That is what happened with The Children's Hour. It deals with a sensitive subject very subtly. Audrey Hepburn and Shirley Maclaine are perfectly balanced, and are two of the most "camera friendly" actresses in the business. James Garner is an under-rated actor, who was notably brilliant in The Americanization of Emily. The antagonists are brilliantly portrayed, and like all good stories, it is told with adequate complexity, enabling interest, but lucidly enough not to confuse. This movie is included in my Top 350 of All Time, via davebpatterson.yolasite.com.

  • THIS Is The Remake

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/12/11

    The previous reviewer is incorrect - "The Children's Hour" (1961) is the remake of "These Three" (1936), not the other way around. In "These Three" strict PCA standards prohibited any depiction or mention of a lesbian love affair, and instead a love triangle between the two teachers and the doctor is shown. By 1961 the PCA standards had eased to the point that the subject of lesbian love could be somewhat (but still not fully) presented on screen in "The Children's Hour". William Wyler directed both versions, with Miriam Hopkins playing the role of teacher Martha Dobie in "These Three" that Shirley MacLaine played in "The Children's Hour", with Hopkins also starring playing the role of Martha's aunt Lily Mortar. "These Three" is the original, "The Children's Hour" is the remake. Know the difference classic film fans.

  • Excellent

    • Frances Todd
    • 3/7/11

    I fell in love with this movie when I was just a young child. I've always felt and been told I have an old spirit. I love all the old movies. They just don't make them like they used to. This movie was excellent, the characters and even the children at the time was way ahead of themselves. I appreciate the excellent acting and even though this movie was way ahead of my time and it's own, anyone who knows movies will have to honestly admit this was an incredible movie and all the actors/actresses were incredible for the genre of this movie. I used to wish that I had been born back at the time of the old movies. It seemed things were different. I also recall a remake called "These Three" which I have been trying to buy and hopefully TCM will show this version as well if it is still available.

  • A Lesbian Love Story Ahead of It's Time.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 7/30/10

    Oscar-winning director, William Wyler brings Lillian Hellman's (who co-wrote the adapted screenplay with John Michael Hayes) celebrated play to the silver screen surrounding the concept of lesbianism, a controversial subject that was never discussed openly in public back in the 1960s. Academy Award winners, Audrey Hepburn and Shirley MacLaine are the main characters as they play the headmistresses of an all girls' school, whose lives are being shattered by a sadistic little girl's (Karen Balkin) equally sadistic lie about her teachers' sexual relationship, which leads to slander with tragic consequences. A rather moody, highly-emotional drama ahead of it's time, yet more explicit in it's various themes. Both Hepburn and MacLaine give controversial performances of two women being victimized by a sadistic little bitch! Also starring James Garner, Miriam Hopkins, Fay Bainter, Veronica Cartwright, William Mims, Sallie Brophy, Diane Mountford, Mimi Gibson & Hope Summers.

  • Wyler, Hepburn, MacLaine, Hopkins, Garner Excel

    • David Atkins
    • 7/23/10

    William Wyler has to be on everybody's list of to 10 Directors:Wuthering Heights, Jezebel, The Heiress, The Letter, Best Years of Our Lives, Ben Hur, Funny Girl, Mrs. Miniver, et al. An astounding body of work.William Wyler remade his 30's hit 'These Three' starred Miriam Hopkins- Merle Oberon- Joel McCrea with the emphasis now on the lesbian theme. Very daring for 1962! Audrey Hepburn and Shirley MacLaine play teachers accused of a lesbian attraction by a nasty student. Great black and white photography and set dressings, all the hallmark of a Wyler film. Masterful. The denouement is MacLaine's character was Lesbian...and the ending leaves us wondering...about Hepburn's KarenSplendid support by Miriam Hopkins, Fay Bainter, and Jim Garneras Audrey Hepburn's boyfriend.

  • THE CHILDREN'S HOUR

    • LOUISE STEPHENS
    • 7/12/10

    Isn't it amazing that almost 50 years later, a film of this calibersurpasses anything produced today? Without computer generated assists and depending purely on good plot, acting and scenery this movie is far and above anything I have seen recently. Television and Theater has truly become the vast wasteland that we now have available to us. Sadly, only the movies made before 1980 are worth watching. Is anyone out there listening? Give us more of this kind of movie, and more of good TV instead of the Reality garbage and families like the awful Kardashians and the Gosslin's.

  • Reworking

    • Ncydious
    • 6/6/09

    The story in "These Three" (1936) is the same but with a man, Joel McCrea, in the scandal "angle." Both movies are very good; I prefer "These Three" though as I don't care for either McLaine or Hepburn. In both movies, the actresses that play Mary are equally amazing in their role.

  • Who says words can't hurt you?

    • Dean
    • 4/25/09

    Top notch acting throughout with a excellent realistic story thats so true to life and shows how a accusation or rumour can do irreversible and irreparable damage to a life or lives.Very powerful movie that gets better and better the whole way through.

  • The Children's Hour, Good Movie For It's Time

    • Jet
    • 2/1/09

    This movie was made when the subject of homosexuality, if talked about at all was done in a whisper. The main actresses are superb, they are both known for playing ground breaking roles.Unfortunately this movies ending is still something that happens all too frequently even in our 21st Century to gays and people who find themselves attracted to their own sex. God created human beings the way they are, to be ostracized and shut out of a family just because of sexual orientation is shameful and should not happen. Please don't do it to anyone in your family.

  • Ahead of Its Time!

    • Laura J
    • 1/18/09

    This movie was wonderful and so before its time for the subject. The cast was superb from the main stars down to the child actors. A must see. To see how THAT topic was such taboo back then and how hard it must have been if one did actually harbor such thoughts. How far we have come. Dont miss it!

  • i was suprised.

    • rick
    • 1/16/09

    this was good, very good. they both played their roles very well. the suprising thing is how much james garner was involved in film before the rockford files. ive seen him in quite a few films lately and he is an excellent actor and equally so in this movie. for 1961 i was suprised there wasnt great public uproar amongst the conservative groups, and to find this was released in an earlier version as a play many years before as these three 1936. my jaw dropped near the end ( i'm sure you can guess at which point ), i never saw it coming, the making of a good movie and good plot.

  • A sign of the times (1962)...

    • kimpunkrock
    • 6/28/06

    Watching this film blew me away...Gay Pride had just happened in seattle so this film played at a perfect time for some reflection on how the times have changed for gays and lesbeins..this film when it came out must have been controversial and for it's two leading ladies to make this film was a courageous thing. I can't imagine how hard it must have been to be gay back in those days and this film is a testament to this fact. This film is a gem that needs to be seen by alot more people. I especially enjoyed shirly mclaine's marvelous performance. Two thumbs up! Attention all lgbt's watch this movie. Thanks TCM for all the movies you show.

  • what is not seen is best rumored

    • mark tang
    • 3/27/06

    i usually prefer watching modernday filmmaking, but this is an exception. as a play adaptation, this is one of the best movies i have ever seen. i feel the director and screenwriter gave so much respect to the playwright. i believe the director and writers brought out the fine performances of Audrey Hepburn, Shirley Maclaine, James Garner and each supporting player. The conflictwas drawn between characters clearly, and the actors felt genuine. i thoroughly enjoyed watching this story evolve from beginning to end; altho, i would have ended the movie on a quieter, reflective musical note.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.