skip navigation
CHARIOTS OF FIRE

CHARIOTS OF FIRE(1981)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

CHARIOTS OF FIRE Committed long-distance... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • chariots of fire

    • kevin sellers
    • 2/27/15

    I certainly agree that this very well made, tasteful, literate Masterpiece Theatre episode (with admittedly Masterpiece music) should not have won best picture over actual movies like "Reds" or "Atlantic City." If it had come out this year, now that the academy has loosened up and become somewhat younger and more hip, it would definitely have lost out to "Birdman." Give it a B.

  • Chariots of Fire on TCM Missing Scenes

    • De Guarnery
    • 2/27/15

    Last night we watched TCM all evening to include Chariots of Fire. Now it had been a long time since seeing this film, which is beautifully scored, shot and acted, but clearly there were some scenes missing. Most importantly when Liddell is called before the Olympic board and Duke of Wales about his non-participation in the heats on a Sunday. During that scene Linsday, who already had won a silver in the hurdles offered Liddell his spot in the 400. This entire scene was missing to include a lovely sermon from Liddell later that day. I don't want to purchase the film from TCM because I don't know if this is the full version of the film.

  • One of the Most Thrilling Movies Ever Made.

    • Johnny
    • 2/27/15

    The beach run scene sums up what Chariots of Fire is all about: the passion of running.

    • 2/26/15

  • stupid is as stupid does.

    • mark hasslinger
    • 2/26/15

    i hate this movie. the music is so schmaltzy it's ridiculous. change that and it might move up out of the gutter towards mediocrity.

  • A joke

    • Victor Gelsi
    • 2/26/15

    I saw it in the movies,and was bored to death by this film.Politics made this a winner.

  • tha year of living pretentiously

    • don letta
    • 2/26/15

    How this bit of pretentiousness ever made it to the competition, much less, win is certainly a topic for debate. Winning over Reds and ET, even the presenter (Loretta Young) was visibly shocked.Belongs right up there with The Greatest Show on Earth and Around the World in 80 Days for handing out awards for reasons other than excellence.

  • Chariots of Fire

    • Goetan
    • 2/18/14

    A stage for friendly competition. Cross & Charleson are two different runners striving for victory at the 1924 Olmypics, Holm was nominated for an Oscar as Cross' trainer. Won four Oscars including Best Picture, Best Original screenplay, Best Costume design and for Vangelis' iconic score. A triumphant and empowering film. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Chariots of Fire - A truly superb film

    • Judy
    • 2/27/11

    What a simply beautiful movie. It has the grace, charm, and elegance that you rarely see in film. I love watching the dichotomy of the two main characters and what their passion reveals in reaching the 1924 Olympics. The final race sequence is especially moving. For me it is the best film ever made in the latter 20th century - I can watch this one over, and over again.

  • COSTUMES

    • william gauslow
    • 2/17/11

    Never in the history of mankind has so much Herringbone tweed been on display. The casting call for men actors for this movie must have required distinguished noses. The British can grow them better than any other. This also brings an heightened sense of pretensiousness.

  • Fantastic score!

    • Leo Gonzalez
    • 1/9/10

    This is a great movie, worthy of having won best picture. Acting is superb and the score is fantastic.

  • Chariots of Fire (1981)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 11/11/09

    This is certainly one of the blandest of the best picture winners. It's a good story with fine acting, good production values, subtly directed. But it just isn't best picture material. The period detail and flavor is commendable.

  • Mystery girl

    • Randy
    • 1/24/06

    In the new 2-disc DVD, there is outfootage of an actress who plays the girlfriend of Eric Liddell. Does any one know her name? I don't think she is listed in the credits.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.