skip navigation
The Chalk Garden

The Chalk Garden(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Chalk Garden A grandmother seeks a... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Fantastic!

    • Bob
    • 5/29/13

    I can and have watched this movie multiple times and still be touched. As far as I am concerned it is a lost masterpiece. The performances, dialog and musical score are top notch. I do not understand why this movie is not shown on television more often while less deserving is shown too often.

  • Superb Actors in Coruscating Play

    • William Laine
    • 3/13/13

    I saw "The Chalk Garden" about 20 years ago on AMC. I have not seen it on TV since then. What a treat it was to see two of my favorite actresses, Deborah Kerr & Hayley Mills, together! Hayley was never better, & I suspect Deborah Kerr brought out the best in her ability. The intelligent script of Enid Bagnold's play must have inspired the superb cast. Malcolm Arnold's score enhanced the drama. How I wish Robert Osborne could secure it for showing on TCM!

  • Riveting

    • cz
    • 9/15/12

    Drama suitable for most ages. Intelligent, sharp, probing.

  • The Chalk Garden

    • Pamela
    • 8/18/12

    Riveting, emotional, heart wrenching, awesome, terrific cast

  • The Chalk Garden

    • Joseph Garcia
    • 4/3/12

    Riveting, outstanding story, and superb performances by the entire cast! The music speaks for the actors as well as the actors speak for the music. I consider my self so fortunate to have seen this film only once when I was very young...I have NEVER forgotten it. It speaks of injustice as well as incarceration due to testimony admitted as evidence. Mitigating circumstances were involved and as a result I now know why justice wears a blindfold. Please allow people to see this film so they may weigh the scales of justice for themselves and revel in what transpired, inspired, and ultimately achieved what we must all strive for, understanding, empathy, and the benefit of doubt. Thank you, Joe Garcia.

  • Polished to a British sheen!

    • Gerald Maloy
    • 4/25/10

    Crisp, biting dialogue, a brilliant mystery, and superb acting by some of Britain's best at the time. PLUS a score by Malcom Arnold! Why have we had to wait for this little gem to come to DVD while so much trash bombards us every day? The scenes with Deborah Kerr and Hayley Mills positively bristle and shine with a professionalism rarely seen today! Please listen, someone!

  • Magnificent...

    • marcus
    • 2/4/10

    Oh to have seen Gladys Cooper play this role, she who originated it..why oh why do the originators never play the movie roles? However this is brilliant, an endless favorite and the "second cast" is divine...see it, release it, watch it over and over...you won't see talent like this again...

  • A gut-wrenching film

    • Connie
    • 6/28/09

    I was 11 years old when I saw this film.It affected me personally; An example of how a young womam rose from a horrible past and was able to help a young girl & her grandmother out of a self-destuctive life-pattern. Hailey Mills' 'games' lead her to a secret she wasn't expecting. Deborah Kerr gets a chance to redeem herself. Everyone deserves a second chance!Connie

  • A Forgotten Gem

    • Karen
    • 1/8/09

    I haven't seen this movie in ages because it NEVER seems to be shown on TV anymore, but I loved it. It made me a huge Deborah Kerr fan. If you get a chance to see it, have tissues handy because the ending will tear your heart out. It's one of those films I can watch over and over, like "Casablanca."

  • Lesson from the Chalk Garden

    • gigi
    • 6/21/07

    This is a must-see movie. It has a lesson - everyone deserves a second chance. I watched this once in the 80's and learned to love not only the story but the actors as well especially Ms. Kerr (superb actress!). I never got a chance to see this movie again but I hope TCM will show this movie and with a DVD sale too.

  • a lovely movie

    • Perchta
    • 4/7/06

    It's a lovely movie, with some of a young Hayley Mill's best performances. Simply amazing, and definately a tear jerker.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.