skip navigation
Cavalcade

Cavalcade(1933)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cavalcade A British family survives war and changing times. MORE > $12.95 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Cavalcade

    • Cavalcade
    • 2/5/14

    The film where director Frank Lloyd won his second Best Director Oscar over a very-embarrassed Frank Capra. Wynyard was nominated for a Best Actress Oscar, in an over-acted performance, as a mother and wife whose family experiences many changes in England in the new century. In addition to Lloyd's win, the film was named Best Picture and honoured for it's production design. A very lavish adaptation of Coward's play. I give it a 4/5.

  • What a Great Film!

    • Bob Wilson Jr
    • 3/6/11

    And thanks so much to TCM for running it. The music is perfectly used.I wonder if the people who did "Upstairs Downstairs" realized that sense, they were recreating "Cavalcade" in a certain sense?

  • Correction

    • Jeff Boston
    • 2/10/11

    I'm sorry, the accomplished actress Diana Wynyard is the lady who tried too hard in this handsome production, not the beautiful supporting actress Margaret Lindsay.

  • Not as great as it once was

    • Jeff Boston
    • 2/10/11

    I took in TCM's premiere showing of "Cavalcade" last night. I can see why it won Picture and Director Oscars four generations ago, but it's overall impression has diminished, and there are too many musical numbers (not characters breaking into song, but watching stage performances). The sons appear too effeminate as well. Such would never work nowadays. I also think Lindsay, with this film the first British actress nominated for Best Actress, overacted in several scenes. Una O'Connor (as Mrs. Bridges) was better. It is ironic that this film, with Lindsay's character continuously declaring her desire for peace, was released in early 1933. Later that year, Hitler and his National Socialists took over the reins of Germany. Ironic as well is the fact the film takes place in England, where five years after the release of "Cavalcade," Chamberlain pronounced "peace for our time." A year later, the largest scale war in the history of man began

  • Cavalcade(1933)

    • JordyZamboni
    • 1/11/11

    I too need this movie to complete my set I am happy to see I am not the only one collecting academy award winners for Best Picture. I read in the Winnipeg Sun newspaper (Randle King)that they are releasing this movie in a 75 Movie Box set. Single copies I hope will soon follow By for now I have to flood the ice.

  • Thrilled to see this film finally scheduled!

    • spunkylubbock
    • 11/13/10

    I was thriled to see that TCM has finally scheduled this film to be shown on 2/9/2011 during their annual lead in to the Oscars. I've heard about this film but have never seen it. I've been captivated by Diana Wynyard ever since I saw her in the original Gaslight (1940). Finally we will be able to see this three time Oscar winner.

  • Marvelous movie

    • JoAnn S
    • 11/4/10

    This movie is a little "dated" but one of the best I have ever seen.My parents had told me about this movie & I couldn't wait until I could finally see it.All old time movie buffs should see this movie. In my opinionit truly deserved the "Best Film Oscar".The only problem is that you cannot get it on DVD except as part of a package-Twentieth Century Fox 75th Anniversary.Maybe if we are lucky we can finally get it by "itself".

  • The Forgotten Award Winner...

    • David
    • 5/12/10

    More famous for its failure to appear on DVD than for its content, Cavalcade is a forgotten gem that ventures into new territories for its day. This is a film best watched after garnering an affection for old movies. Stylistically, one can see the transition from silent film to contemporary style at odds. The performances range from honest to highly theatrical, but from them emanates a warmth and integrity that mirrors Noel Coward's textual approach to the original play (seldom performed now). The plot itself plays out like a series of tiny vignettes that quickly highlight the development of the early 20th century -- perhaps hindering the emotional impact of what transpires. Saying that, the nature of the narrative does present itself as a true cavalcade of events in a way unfamiliar to audiences of today. There is a stiff upper-lipped ability for the characters to move quickly away from too much emotion -- hardly surprising given the violent period of transition felt in the early 20th century. This style is extremely consistent with Coward's style and also that of the modern British Novel. I found this an enjoyable film and one that acts as an interesting prologue to an era of film soon to follow. For those unable to find a DVD: there is a region-free Chinese DVD available for a very reasonable price on ebay. It is legitimate (ie: with registered identification and not unauthorized). However, it is authored in a PAL frame rate. For those of you with LCD TVs, you will likely be able to play this film. If you watch movies from your computer, you will also likely be able to watch this film. My Blu-ray player would not read the disc, but my DVD-ROM drive had no trouble and my LCD computer monitor had no trouble. So, anyone looking to complete a collection, you have options. It is in English and the Chinese subtitles can be turned off.

  • Can't Complete the Collection!

    • Bob Werner
    • 5/11/10

    I feel your pain, Linda Masek! I've got all 82 winners on DVD as well, but don't have this one or 'Wings' ... except on VHS. Frustrating, isn't it? Hopefully they'll cave, sooner or later, and we'll be able to have our entire collection on DVD! Do you have the Korean DVD of 'Wings'? I was considering buying that, but not sure I'd like the subtitles that I've read about.

  • Need this movie

    • Linda Masek
    • 1/27/10

    I have a collection of all Academy awards winners on DVD for best picture except for this one. I can't find it Please make it availble.

  • "Cavalcade" (1933) on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 12/26/09

    I'd love to have this movie on DVD. I've never seen it...yet. However, it won three Academy Awards including best picture, best director (Frank Lloyd), and best art direction.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.