skip navigation
Cat People

Cat People(1942)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cat People A newlywed fears that an... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Val Lewton Classic(1942)

    • nshepard
    • 10/27/12

    "The Cat People" has Producer Val Lewton at the top of his game. Creepy atmospheric struggle of Irene Dubrovna(Simone Simon) as she deals with her duality, woman or "cat person." Jacques Turnier deftly directs this clever little thriller/horror story on a shoestring budget with a Big Impact. Irene has a disturbing lifestyle as she is unable to consummate her marriage to Oliver Reed(Kent Smith) without fear of unleahing the "beast" inside her. Yeah, like most relationships this one also comes with a caveat. 5 stars out of 5. Great entertainment.

  • Cat People

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/27/12

    The film that put producer Lewton in cinema history. Simon, one of cinema's most sympathetic creatures, is a shy Serb who believes that she'll turn into a cat if sexually aroused or enraged. The weak story exemplifies that what we imagine in the moody settings are scarier than what can be presented on screen. A grand chiller. I give it a 4/5.

  • Shape shifting amongst the shadows

    • catfishgal
    • 10/31/10

    This is the one movie I was looking forward to this Halloween. I even took a nap so I could watch it at 1 a.m. It is just as thought provoking and ominous as I remembered. The scene with the older gypsy-like woman in the restaurant and the scene in the swimming pool are really scary. The notion that Simone Simone's character is the most afraid of her cat presence endears her to me and frightens me at the same time. I even stayed tuned in afterward for Marin Scorcese's short about the producer. I sure wasn't ready to walk the stairs to my bedroom alone yet - too many hiding places for a cat.

  • All-Time Classic

    • Larry Huber
    • 8/1/10

    A miracle of suspense and tension. No movie has ever created so much suspense from what you don't see. You feel in your bones very early on there can't be a happy ending and there isn't. Well-made in every department. Watch it alone at night and see what happens.

  • Cat People (1942)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/21/10

    63/100. I have never understood the huge appeal to this film. It's not a bad film at all, but I thought it was just a bit too hokey. Anyone who follows my reviews know I love the classics, but I just don't get it with Cat People. The cast is fine, it has a good atmosphere. Great cinematography and the lighting is extraordinary, decent pacing, but for me it just does not have that "wow" factor. Jacques Tournier's direction is good, but it just isn't a great film. I just thought it was a bit to silly to really work on a classic level. The performances are okay, but a bit bland. It does create an amazing atmosphere. Simone Simon has the look, but her acting is merely adequate.

  • Great Movie

    • John Demsys
    • 10/31/09

    The film, which cost $141,659, brought in almost $4 million in its first two years and saved the studio from financial disaster. Cat People testifies to the power of suggestion and the priority of imagination over budget in the creation of great cinema.

  • This

    • Marilyn
    • 7/27/08

    is another movie everyone should see, at least once. I really can't pint out the exact reason I liked this movie, but I knew I had to get a copy of it. It is truly a classic and just the fact that she is so overwhelmed with the fear of becoming a cat throughout keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering if she really will or is it just all in her mind.

  • About "Cat People"

    • graywolf
    • 1/14/08

    Whenever I see that the original "Cat People" is on, I look forward to revisiting that great story. I love both the original and the re-make. Shape-shifting is the timeless inspiration for many films - and the animals people change into range from wolves to kangaroos. But there's something eternally beguiling about a beautiful young woman changing into a feline! The original "Cat People" has a wonderful atmosphere of innocence irrevocably drawn into the magnet of the myth.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.