skip navigation
Carrie

Carrie(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Carrie - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Carrie (1954)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/23/10

    For the most part it is a well done film, generally interesting story, good art direction and costumes. Good performances from both the leads. It does lack excitement and is a little bland. It lacks a solid supporting cast and is too gloomy.

  • Another Olivier gem

    • Michele
    • 8/20/09

    Rebecca has always stood out to me as Olivier's most subtle performance but now having seen Carrie I am further impressed. The transformation in his character from prominent member of society to the sad, homeless man forlornly wandering the streets is truly amazing. The utter defeat expressed in his eyes and even his posture is haunting. Even the small movements of his fingers in that last heartbreaking scene speaks volumes. What an unparalleld talent.

  • Little known Wyler masterpiece

    • John Klintworth
    • 8/20/09

    A quiet, sad rendering of the novel in the masterful hands of director William Wyler. Jennifer Jones is very good as always portraying a slightly off-kilter character but it is Laurence Olivier who gives perhaps his most subtle and moving film performance. The strength of Olivier's performance shifts the focus toward his character moreso than Jones' character. Wyler I'm sure recognized the strength of Olivier's performance and made the shift himself. Eddie Albert and Miriam Hopkins are also excellent in supporting roles. But ultimately it is through Olivier's character that this fine tragedy is told.

  • Beautiful Film , Very Sad

    • muriel
    • 8/18/09

    Although, it is relentlessly sad, this is one of my favorite movies of Laurence Olivier, Jennifer Jones. The TCM article claims that Jones rceived faint praise while Olivier received high praise. However, I think Jones is wonderful in this film. (Although I agree that the character is romanticized for censorship reasons.) The TCM article also mentioned that Frederic March was considered for the role. He would also have been brilliant as George. Both actors could wrenchingly portray George's descent. One can't help feel sorry for George, but his bad choices lead him down that sorry road. No one mentions Miriam Hopkins as Mrs. Hurstwood, but her small role is a tour de force.

  • WOW!!!

    • Courtney
    • 8/18/09

    I just saw this movie for the 1st time last night and I have to add it to my favorite movie list. I thought it was wonderful. I cried like a baby at the end when George was homeless and walking the street begging for a handout. When he took the quarter and left the $50.00, I really lost it. He loved her so much but at the end was a broken man but still had his head waiter experience when he turned the coffee pot handle. Please show this again. I will always remember this movie. Please put it on DVD.

  • Carrie

    • Kathy
    • 8/18/09

    I just saw this movie for the first time last night, in fact it is the first I ever heard of it. I truly believe this is Jennifer Jones and Lawrence Olivier's best performances ever. The movie had it all with a very strong supporting cast. The most evil and cold I have ever seen Miriam Hopkins! Eddie plays a real cad!It not only holds your interest but takes you through a complete rollercoaster of emotions. I sobbed in the end. Should have been nominated for academy awards for both stars and supporting actress and actor. Fabulous must see sleeper. Truly enjoyed it and voted for it to be on dvd so I may own it.

  • My favorite movie!

    • noel
    • 8/4/08

    This quiet, forgotten masterpiece is myfavorite movie, and I think the best per-formance by Jennifer Jones, and the bestmovie performance by Laurence Olivier. Allthe performers ring true to the spirit ofthe novel, and one really sees what joy,and what abject misery can be caused bygiving up all for love. Just watch Jenni-fer Jones face in the carriage scene, andyou will discover what an accomplishedactress she is!

  • Carrie, What a gem.

    • Carol Richardson
    • 4/29/08

    When I bought Carrie I forgot what a wonderful movie it was.TCM never shows it, it is a wonderful love story that does have a tragic ending.but still a great movie, Laurence Olivier is at his best in this film and very handsome. Jennifer Jones is great ,and so is the rest of the cast.and the music score of David Raskin is just Beautiful. it would be great if TCM would show this forgotton film once in while.Thanks.

  • Will I Ever See It Again?

    • Evelyn Grant
    • 4/23/08

    I love this movie. I saw it years ago and would love to see it again. The film introduced me to Laurence Olivier, who since seeing him in Carrie is still my favourite actor.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.