skip navigation
Carnival of Souls

Carnival of Souls(1962)

  • Friday, October 31 @ 04:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Carnival of Souls After surviving a car crash, a... MORE > $3.99 Regularly $3.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Carnival of Souls

    • Goetan
    • 10/5/13

    An influential cult classic. Hilligoss is a church organist haunted by a mysterious man, director Harvey himself, after surviving a car crash; the other performances are amateurish. While the film succeeds in creating an eerie mood and setting, it gets campy at times, while still being serious. A small, very creepy B-movie perfect for Halloween. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Trivia about the film

    • KKat
    • 10/4/13

    I heard that the same location was used for this film and Neon City. Is that true?

  • ONE OF MY TOP FAVORITES

    • John DeBlasi
    • 9/30/13

    Carnival of Souls has been one of my top favorite films ever since I first saw it many years ago. It is haunting and creepy. Yes, it was made with not much money and the acting is not the best, but that's what makes it different then those high gloss horror films. After seeing it many times it is now just a good time when it is on, that is why I am so glad that TCM is airing it this month, and at a decent hour of the day, not in the middle of the night. I will be there right from the start to view it once again. Now if we can only get TCM to air The Mask, and I don't mean the Jim Carry movie, But the 1960's horror film that is in 3D.

  • Crappy movie

    • Eric Von Gerdes
    • 10/25/11

    An hour an a half of my life that I wish I could get back

  • delightful

    • Zac
    • 10/24/11

    I enjoy this type of movie very much for the clothes, cars, wooden acting and overall lo-budget 60's feel. In the final scene I am positive I saw the eyes blink of the middle corpse in the car pulled from the river. What a great film!

  • Carnival of Souls

    • claudette McCormack
    • 10/24/11

    I am stuck in a motel in a horrible tiny burg (hey, could be a horror movie)! while orientating for a new job. Seriously, just because it is Halloween is no reason to show such a terrible movie. The writing perhaps may not be that bad, however the acting is just atrocious! It appears as if the director decided to save money by letting the extras who happened to live in the movie location perform major lines. I would really rather watch an Ed Wood movie and at least get some good laughs. How about Glen or Glenda in addition to Plan 9 from outer space? Now that would be enjoyable as well as satisfying the obvious requirement that horror movies must be shown just because of the holiday. Please, to the powers that be at T.C.M., don't do this to us again! T.C.M. is just about the only T.V. I watch, because the movies are so unbelievably great, and it is almost painful, after a long hard day at work to see such horrid movies. I am turning off the telly or at least the sound, and am going to open a book instead.

  • Carnival Of Souls

    • marcia ventimiglia
    • 10/23/11

    A film that haunts. From the vintage cars and clothing, (not at the time of filming) to the fuzzy production quality-it mezmerizes the watcher. The sounds, the make-up of the undead, all work together to create a creepy journey into 60's horror film. Candace Hilligoss goes from aloof uncertainy to stark raving terror and then to wooden acceptance with the greatest of ease. The random deafness is a fantastic touch of the macabre-no blood & guts needed here!

  • Carnival of Souls (1962)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/30/10

    Over the years, this film has grown in popularity. When it was released it was generally dismissed. It is ultra low budget, but the film has an undeniable eeriness to it, and did does have a unique approach and style. The acting isn't too bad, but it;s certainly not great. The editing is a bit rough. But, considering the budget, they did a remarkable job.

  • Loved this film

    • Kim
    • 11/19/09

    I loved the haunting and haunted quality of this film. Some of the images stay with you for years.

  • A Dreamy Horror Classic

    • Cheryl
    • 11/4/09

    Or should that be nightmar-ish? This is a beautifully atmospheric horror film with a story that puts me in mind of the ancient legend about the man to whom Death reportedly appeared one night, spurring the man to leap on his horse and ride frantically to a town many miles from his home, only to find Death there, mocking him with the words, "I have been waiting for you." Particularly noteworthy is the the macabre ballroom scene . . . I definitely recommend this one highly for all horro and mystery fans. And no ugly violence (a big plus for my money)!

  • Perfect Fodder For TCM Underground!

    • Pearl
    • 4/22/07

    Great ultra-low budget creep fest. Very interesting. Scenes will stay with you for days. Not because of poor quality film, but excellent writing. This is NOT a high tech film. After all, it IS 45 years old, but it is well worth the watch.

  • Cult classic

    • Ruby
    • 5/15/06

    Cheaply and crudely done (the makeup alone would cause laughter now), the direction and acting is at times wooden and decidedly sloooow; while at other times patently theatrical and cheesy. For some unfathomable reason these combinations come together (along with that repetitive organ music) to make a disturbing horror classic...just luck, I guess. This film will stay with you. Who knew?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.