skip navigation
Carmen Jones

Carmen Jones(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Carmen Jones - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • carmen Jones

    • Lovette Baker
    • 2/11/13

    Very good movie strong acting and singing. I was so happy with saturday line up of movies staring blacks actors and actresses. Very nice, keep up the good Job it makes me feel proud to be black knowing that excellent actresses and actors exist when we were so racially divided.

  • Carmen Jones

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/30/12

    A powerful & entertaining modern adaptation of Bizet's opera. Dandridge became the first African-American nominated for a Leading Performance, and what a fiery one this is, great work from Belafonte & Bailey. Director Preminger packs the film with sensational numbers shot in a single take, but for some reason both leads had their singing dubbed. Will forever be remembered as Dandridge's vehicle. I give it a 4/5.

  • My all time favorite

    • cancope2
    • 9/29/12

    I recently showed this movie to my grand kids,they absolutely loved it. they wanted to watch certain scenes over and over.I cant say that I blame them. I've probably watched this movie dozens of time and each time find another reason to love it.The fashion, the hair styles, the music for that era is spot on. Dorothy Dandridge is superb. To truly understand her impact on the African American public, when she died, it was declared a day of mourning in the African American community.I know that parts of this movie was shot in my home town of Jacksonville,Florida therefore it holds a very special place in my heart.

  • Carmen Jones (1954)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/20/10

    How could anyone not like this?! The incredible talent involved. What an awesome score, Dorothy Dandridge is amazing. Great production, first class all the way. It is socially significant for African Americans, to showcase the amazing stars of the time. A wonderful film no matter what your color.

  • "Superb Musical"

    • V.Lamar Griffin
    • 9/18/09

    This is a film that I can watch over and over again. It is definately one of the movies that has played a part in me loving musicals. The all star cast that was featured in this film was awesome from the beginning to the end. V. Lamar Griffin

  • "Superb Musical

    • V.Lamar Griffin
    • 9/18/09

    This is a film that I can watch over and over again. It is definately one of the movies that has played a part in me loving musicals. The all star cast that was featured in this film was awesome from the beginning to the end. V. Lamar Griffin

  • love this movie : second fav. !!!

    • Randa
    • 3/7/08

    I fell in love this movie when I first saw it on TCM (age 11 , now 18) and since then : dorothy dandridge is one of my idols and makes me have the love for classic movies since. that's very rare for me ..thank TCM for showing me that classic movies never lose their touch in modern world today.

  • I Love This Movie!

    • Latoya Brown
    • 8/2/06

    I first watched this movie at an aunt's house, and I fell in love with it right from the beginning. The storyline is great. I recommend that everyone would buy this movie!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.