skip navigation
Captain Newman, M. D.

Captain Newman, M. D.(1963)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • merely 3 stars

    • el debbo
    • 8/17/14

    I wanted to like this movie, but could not. The storyline got tedious and I began to feel "Let me outta here!" just as some of the psychiatric patients shouted. I admired Peck in Roman Holiday, To Kill a Mockingbird, and other movies, but he was too dry here or maybe the whole thing was just too flat and dry for me. 'Nuff said.

  • Captain Newman, M.D. (1963)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/29/10

    Good comedy drama, with a fascinating varied cast. The melodrama does get a bit heavy at times, bit for the most part it is interesting. Well made, good production. Gregory Peck gives the best performance in the cast, very subdued and effective.

  • captain newman, m.d.

    • robin adelman
    • 5/4/09

    Hello TCM:Just wanted to let everyone know that "Captain Newman, M.D. is available on the Gregory Peck Boxed Set Collection. You have to buy as a set, but all the films are good, with Captain Newman being worth it, since it is not available alone, and it worth seeing for Bobby Darin's performance, for which he was nominated for an Academy award. In fact, Bobby Darin did a number of interesting films, with fine performances; hopefully, TCM will showcase some of these very soon.Thank you,Robin Adelman

  • Outstanding Film

    • Bill
    • 10/4/08

    Captain Newman MD is one of the rare films that actually portrays the field of psychiatry with some genuine accuracy. Unlike most films which involve a psychiatrist either sleeping with his patients or murdering them, Captain Newman MD shows us a military psychiatrist who relates to his patients with compassion and devotion. The film is classified as a "comedy" and there are more than enough laughs to keep the viewer entertained. The dynamic between Tony Curtis and Gregory Peck is delightful.What makes this film work, however, is not the humor but the realism. Peck studied extensively to prepare for his role and spent time following psychiatrists in order to present a highly realistic character.Bobby Darin's depiction of his character's traumatic war experience is powerful. Robert Duvall is equally convincing as a downed pilot who has sought refuge in his depression. Eddie Albert's is a complex character trapped in mania and psychosis -- the relationships between his Colonel Bliss and Captain Newman is very convincing.Captain Newman MD has long been one of my very favorite films and I wish TCM would play it as regularly as they do many others. It's a classic and truly a great depiction of psychiatry as it was practiced in WW-II.

  • One of Peck's best!

    • Randy
    • 9/10/07

    One of the most entertaining movies I have ever seen and one of Gregory Peck's best. Great cast, great screenplay! We are only now learning that Mrs. Winston was Bethyl Leslie, not Lee Remmick. Wow! They must have been identical twins.

  • Pres. Bush could learn a lesson!

    • steve pfeiffer
    • 12/3/06

    Awesome!

  • It's a great movie!

    • Sandy
    • 12/2/06

    It has moral in it!

  • Captain Newman, MD

    • Craig
    • 11/24/06

    This movie is one of my favorite Mr Peck movies. It show the battle our military figths after the wars are over for them. Battles soliders keep figthing in there heads. I feel these military theme movies often tell a hidden story. A story some want to tell.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.