skip navigation
Cape Fear

Cape Fear(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cape Fear An ex-convict plots to destroy... MORE > $8.55 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • We All Believe---

    • J. D. Jitters
    • 3/5/16

    You know, we all believe that most of Hollywood is in need of a physiatrist but in this film Mitchum seems to confirm it.You almost get the feeling the Bob wasn't acting.

  • Mitchum is Perfect as Max Cady

    • DON RILEY
    • 1/11/16

    I've seen PSYCHO so many times that the Cape Fear Soundtrack sounds too much like it and seems like the Psycho Soundtrack revisited ( although it probably was before, I don't know). Also, the leading men in both are named "Sam" that also sounds too familiar. Robert Mitchum does not have to act "too much" to come across like an Arrogant Lowlife, it seems very natural. He's also much more physically imposing than De Niro who in hindsight was a bad choice it should have been Harvey Keitel, or Michael Madsen, who probably would have been better, in the Scorsese remake. De Niro is just not physical enough in my mind. In any event Gregory Peck is the equal of Mitchum here. His golden stature seems the perfect foil for ...Mitchum who one of his love interests dubs in .........one of the great lines in film history ....................."Max Cady .....what I love about you is that you are "Rock Bottom". "

  • cape fear

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/8/16

    The previous reviewer, TK, kinda stole my thunder, but I just want to restate that of all the great Hollywood leading men who have ever portrayed psychos, and that includes Bogie, Fonda, Michael Caine, Lee Marvin, Daniel Day Lewis, and, yes, Javier Bardem, none is more terrifying than Robert Mitchum. His performance is the chief reason to watch this most entertaining thriller. Others are a fine, terse screenplay by James Webb, particularly with Mitchum's character, tense and taut direction by J. Lee Thompson (who, for whatever reason, never even came close to scaling the heights of directorial greatness again) a solid job of acting by Gregory Peck as yet another Atticus (whose Bob Ewell this time is called Max Cady) and fine location shooting in and around Savannah. Give it a B plus. (Why not an A? Well, Polly Bergen, as the long suffering wife, is a bit on the bland side, the usually good Telly Savalas is kinda generic as a private eye, and Martin Balsam, with his Bronx accent, is not credible as a southern police chief.) P.S. As several previous reviewers have noted, this is much better than the remake. Mitchum is absolutely creepier than DeNiro, who comes across as mostly weird, rather than menacing, and any time you win an acting footrace with Bobby D you know you're in thespian valhalla, which is where Mitchum belongs.

  • A Mitchum forte

    • TK
    • 1/8/16

    Cape Fear and The Night of the Hunter showed Mitchum to be one of the creepiest film stalkers of all time. I'd rank him right up there with Javier Bardem in No Country For Old Men. Did that kind of role just suit him? Perhaps, but I think it was a whole lot of talent as well. He's always been one of my favorite actors.

  • AWESOME

    • RICHARD
    • 3/23/13

    THEY DO NOT MAKE THEM LIKE THIS ANYMORE I WAS ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT FROM START TO FINISH 4 STARS

  • Do not miss this movie!

    • rmstch
    • 4/21/12

    Robert Mitchum at his finest.....Even though the remake was a huge success, the original is still my personal favorite. A nail-biting, keep you on the edge of your seat film. They just don't make them like this anymore and haven't for years in my opinion.

  • Mitchum....scary!

    • Richard
    • 4/15/12

    This 1962 version is vastly superior to the 1991 remake...Why? because of Robert Mitchum. Mitchum was a very underrated actor, but in this movie he's not acting scary, he IS scary! I find it hard to believe that he was not nominated for an Academy Award for this role. In fact, he only received one nomination in his entire career! That, in my opinion was criminal. Well, the only critics who mattered were and are the public. Thanks, for a great body of work Mr. Mitchum.

  • Cape Fear (1962)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/25/09

    The cast is amazing in this outstanding thriller. Robert Mitchum is at his best and gives one of his finest performances. It is better than the 1991 remake. Great suspense, well edited, great score. It is never slow moving, Excellent.

  • Mitchum as Max Cady

    • Dan
    • 4/4/07

    Robert Mitchum really keeps this film rolling as he starts a war of nerves with Gregory Peck and his family. There is no telling what he will do with the suspense building day by day. This is one thriller you can't leave halfway into the film as Mitchum gets you into his grips with every move he makes, paralizes and torments your sences. They did a remake with Robert DeNiro in the '90's, so it proves the 1962 version was a huge hit.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.