skip navigation
The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Buccaneer - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Bucuccaneer

    • Pamela Richardson
    • 9/16/12

    This is a wonderful move it has everything it is as good as Robin Hood. I wish this was shown as a feature film. This movie has not been aired since Oct 11 1997. I have the tape.

  • The Buccaneer

    • Pam Richardson
    • 5/20/12

    Wonderful movie well done splended color Anthony Quinn does a great job as director

  • The Buccaneer

    • Pam Richardson
    • 5/11/12

    Wonderful movie wish it was shown all star cast and director

  • The Buccaneer

    • Pam Richardson
    • 10/30/11

    This is a wonderful action adventure movie Anthony Quinn was a marvelous director. It was just wonderful.

  • Yul Brynner is great

    • quaxo
    • 10/31/10

    I love this film and have been looking for it on DVD for years. Great costumes, fabulous cast and Yul Brynner with hair! He's so sexy in this role. Why hasn't it come out on DVD? I know it is not historically correct but I am drawn to it's lush production values.

  • the bucconeer

    • lyndon porth
    • 6/18/10

    In my opinion, Hestons greatest performance. Yul wasn't too shabby either! I wish this film was on dvd. I had it on vhs in the early nineties but lost it.

  • BUCCANEER (1959)

    • Don
    • 4/15/10

    SUPERB is the word for Buccaneer, the king of Pirate movies,containing a great Director in Quinn and a cast that was as Great in the lead as it was in the supporting roles. Entertaining and even gives me a sense of history, this picture should be in a line up for play and be released on DVD.

  • The Buccaneer (1958)

    • Jay
    • 1/3/09

    The lavish production is a plus, and in spite of the big budget, the art direction and costumes are not very convincing and it lacks period flavor. Too many slow patches, a but of trimming would have helped. But it is entertaining in a Hollywood sort of way.

  • Vote for DVD release

    • Darla Floyd
    • 11/10/08

    The Buccaneers movie has been a favorite in our family for a long time, but we rarely get to see it. My daughter in college has asked for a DVD of it for Christmas. I have just discovered that is not possible. If this movie was released on a DVD, I would also buy one for myself and each of my other children. Hey, it's a great classic movie!

  • A Sin

    • Pull
    • 9/18/08

    It is a sin for this film to be unavailable on DVD. With a cast including Yul Brynner, Ingrid Stevens, Charles Boyer, E.G. Marshall,and Charlton Heston, it is a mystery why the powers that be deprive the public of the opportunity to view the outstanding performances in the film. In addition, it has the distinction of being Cecil B. DeMille's final project. Please consider this film for transference to DVD format so the youth of today can enjoy seeing such a gifted ensemble in action.

  • Great Movie!

    • Linda Nunn
    • 9/16/08

    I would buy this movie if it was on DVD. Why don't they make it on DVD? It is a classic, but it is also great for this day and age, too. It makes history come alive! Charlton Heston, Yul Brynner and the whole cast were wonderful. If you loved them in other movies, then you'll also love them in this one, too. It's one move that I could watch over and over again and never get tired of watching.

  • A Classic!!!

    • Hope
    • 4/2/08

    I absolutely love this movie. I saw it as a child with my mom; who is a big Yul Brenner fan. Wish it was on DVD. I would get one for my mother and myself. It is a family favorite.

  • Not on DVD?!

    • Vicki
    • 3/31/08

    I'm disappointed this movie isn't on DVD. I was about 11 when I first saw it & have loved it ever since. I haven't seen it for years until TCM recently played it...should be on the schedule more often. Yul Brenner is a great actor,and he's definitely a dashing, handsome leading man, always enjoyable to watch. I highly recommend this film.

  • Why not on DVD and Why Not on TCM schedule.

    • Tony
    • 2/24/08

    Why has this movie not been released on DVD. This is one of the best of classic movies made. It was on TCM schedule for the first time I can ever remember once this month at a really rotten time. This movie and "The President's Lady" have Charlton Heston playing Andrew Jackson are great movies but never/rarely seen on TCM. WHY?????? Other movies that I certainly would not call "CLASSIC" are on almost monthly.

  • The Buccaneer

    • Tim
    • 12/17/07

    One of the all-time greats.I wish I could give it an 11.It's a crime this one isn't on DVD.

  • The Buccaneer

    • Gary
    • 8/27/07

    One of the best movies of all time. Why isn't this on DVD? It should have been long ago. Great actors Yul Bryner, Charlton Heston,Charles Boyer, E.G. Marshall directed by Anthony Quinn. How much better can it get?

  • The Buccaneer

    • Debi
    • 2/1/07

    This is my alltime favorite... a solid 10! Please email and let me know when it will be available. Would love to add it to my collection. Yul Brynner is the best!

  • the buccaneer.

    • joe garcia
    • 5/13/06

    please email me info for the dvd. i could not find it.?yul brynner.anthony quinn.search came up empty.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.