skip navigation
The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer(1938)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Buccaneer French pirate Jean Lafitte... MORE > $24.95 Regularly $24.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

    • 6/25/11

  • The Buccaneer

    • Bob Baker
    • 10/13/10

    This would be a great addition to October's Frederick March month focus. March is superb, and this version is superior to the later schlock version with Yul Brenner and Charlton Heston.

  • The Buccaneer (1938)

    • Jeff
    • 7/26/10

    I have loved this film since childhood. Absolutely fabulous. Please put it on home video!!

  • The Buccaneer (1938)

    • Jay
    • 1/3/09

    Good production and a strong supporting cast makes this one worth watching. Fredric March however seems miscast. Rousing score, good costumes and very good cinematography.

  • My Grandfather was an extra

    • Michael North
    • 7/30/08

    He was an extra in this film and he is still alive today. I have been wanting to see this film since I was a kid. That's over 25 years I've had this movie poster and the Big Little Book from 1938 and never have been able to see it. Thank you soooo much TCM for showing it! I will do just about anything to get this movie on DVD. I was going to actually try to get the rights to do it myself. I recorded it so I can send it to my grand dad. He wasn't in the credits since he was just an extra and Cecil really puts a lot of extras in his films, lol. That's his trademark. note this was Cecils first film and the remake was his last. This is the most under rated film of all-time. A true piece of cinematic history. I am amazed it has not been put to VHS or DVD. What is the matter with Paramount Pictures?!

  • Excellent! Fred March rules!

    • XweAponX
    • 7/30/08

    I did not know that this had been made earlier than the later Anthony-Quinn directed/De Mille assisted "The Buccanner" With a wigged Yul Brynner (Yul Brynner with hair is ludicrous but I just imagined he was bald and it was alright).I must say Fred March is the QUINTESSENTIAL Character actor, on the level with Lionel Barrymore in stature:His earlier depiction of Mark Twain was the best of all Mark Twains- Along with the long list of characters from history and comtemporary he played. His role in Sign of the Cross paved the way for the later Robert Taylor "Quo Vadis"- His part in John Ford's "Mary of Scotland" led later roles by Richard Burton, Paul Scofield, Robert Shaw, and Peter O'Toole.In this film, he tackles Jean L'fitte and is just as great as he is in any of his films. March's ability to play any kind of role from any nationality is amazing.Of course the supporting cast is great and includes Walter Brennan, the always young looking Spring Byington and the penultimate mother, Beulah Bondi.I've never seen this, and now that I see it, I see De Mille's hand all over the later Quinn version- Which was a great collaboration, but impossible if not for this first "Talky" version.

  • Show it again and Let me know!

    • Brad LeBlanc
    • 4/21/08

    I tried recording this movie on the dvr and was able to watch only half as the cable schedule evidently got off-time with the actual presentation. I'd love to see it all the way through; it would be great if TCM would allow you to tag a movie and then notify you by email when it will be scheduled again. This movie appears to be unavailable for viewing via dvd.

  • Much Better Than the Remake

    • Timothy Sexton
    • 2/25/08

    There is one huge reason this original version of Cecil B. DeMille's The Buccaneer is superior in every way to the much more well known version starring Charlton Heston and Anthony Quinn. And that reason is named Fredric March. March's portrayal of pirate Jean LaFitte is simply amazing in the way he totally casts off Jekyll/Hyde, Norman Maine and all the other roles he played. March's LaFitte is quite simply the finest portayal of a pirate ever; his swaggering bravado seems exactly like what we would expect a pirate to have acted like, especially one as complex as the real LaFitte.This version of the The Buccaneer is a rousing, grandly exciting and romantic period piece that does not suffer from teh bloated pretentiousness of the remake. Although epic in tone and execution, what you take away most are the intimate moments. And when March is on the screen you simply can't take your eyes away.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.