skip navigation
Brighton Rock

Brighton Rock(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Brighton Rock A small-time hood tries to... MORE > $4.95 Regularly $8.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Film

    • outstanding
    • 6/8/16

    Attenborough is totally chilling as Pinky.Great film based in Graham Greene novel.Always a pleasure when it is played on TCM!

  • Pinkie punked Rose

    • Jeff Boston
    • 6/8/16

    Greene's work precedes "The Third Man" and resembles it in several ways (a greedy and heartless villain; a beauty hopelessly lost in love with a beast; a cat and mouse chase; a foreign city that has seen better days; a well done and memorable ending; etc.). If there weren't so many characters with thick accents, this film would be better known in our country.

  • Had planned...

    • Alice
    • 6/8/16

    I so, wanted to see this film. Love films with some "edge of your seat" touches to them. This one had been described as "gripping". But, I missed seeing the film. Please show it again very soon. Thank you.

  • Divine Debate

    • Hauntess A. Cliche
    • 6/8/16

    The thoughts & intentions of Pinky's heart were known to all except the pious but love-lorn waitress whose delusion was kept alive by an ironic coincidence. What an example of moral relativism!

  • Restore BRIGHTON ROCK

    • BrendaL
    • 6/7/16

    I love this film, but it needs to be restored, and I cannot find such a copy. It is rather difficult to follow the dialogue--the U.S. and England are "two countries separated by a common language." The film is remarkable, filmed mostly on location in Brighton. The basic plot is a dysfunctional love story wrapped around gangland murders. Richard Attenborough plays a vicious and creepy gang leader, a seventeen-year old who orders older men to do his evil bidding. Hermione Baddeley steals every scene, as the brash, good-time broad with a heart of gold and a deep sense of right and wrong. If there is a restored version, I would love to own it. This is Graham Greene, through and through.

  • BRIGHTON ROCK --In need of restoration

    • Brenda
    • 6/7/16

    I love this film, as I love other Graham Greene creations. The plot is a dysfunctional love story wrapped around gang murders. Hermione Baddeley, as Ida, steals every scene. What a delight to watch her. Richard Attenborough is creepy, and viscious, as Pinkie, the seventeen-year old leader of the gang. One must suspend disbelief in a big way here. I agree with another poster--no subtitles, which are needed for thick dialects. We are indeed one people separated by a common language. I must turn up the volume on my television to understand most of the dialogue, but I know I'm still missing something. I would love to have a DVD with subtitles and commentary. This is a great film and worthy of a proper re-issue.

  • Wanted to like, but....

    • Joan Habbegger
    • 12/31/14

    The movie needs subtitles. I couldn't get through the accent.

  • Gripping film

    • Karen Burditt
    • 3/12/10

    This is a terrific film and worth seeking out. The opening scenes caught my attention - a foot chase through the actual streets of Brighton, England in the late 40's. I don't know how they did it but it looked like they filmed with the actual crowds, not extras. Richard Attenborough plays Pinky, a young hood trying to take over the turf of another hood. The difference - Pinky is a sociopath, and Attenborough makes him as chilling as any portrayed in Film Noir. Hermoine Badderly does a great job as brassy Ida, who keeps trying to solve a murder when the police have given up. Carol Marsh is a young naive waitress, Rose, who knows more than she realizes about that murder. Pinky romances her to keep her from talking. It becomes a race against time as the worldly Ida tries to protect Rose from Pinky. There is an interesting balance between Ida's intuition and Rose's obliviousness, between Ida's drive and Rose's passivity. All the while there is Pinky, spinning his sinister web around Rose. The world of tired and tatty Brighton is showcased. Overwhelmed with the postwar crowds, and showing its Edwardian age, its as sad as Atlantic City in the 70's.Find this film and watch it - a well crafted British film noir.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.