skip navigation
Brief Encounter

Brief Encounter(1945)

  • Monday, December 15 @ 12:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Brief Encounter Two married strangers meet in... MORE > $66.99 Regularly $99.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Celia Johnson and Trevor Howard

    • else lang
    • 11/12/13

    Before I saw 'Brief Encounter', I had only seen Celia Johnson in 'The Pride of Miss Jean Brodie' as the narrow minded headmistress, and Trevor Howard in the 1962 'Mutiny on the Bounty" as Captain Bligh. Both were unattractive and unlikeable characters.Here, Celia Johnson is a beautiful woman and Trevor Howard a handsome leading man. I never would have guessed! It shows the actors' talent and range! Bravo to both!

  • Celia Johnson is enthralling in this movie

    • Beth
    • 12/29/12

    I can watch this movie over and over solely to enjoy Celia Johnson's captivating performance as a woman living a stable, middle-class existence who unexpectedly finds her inner world awakened when she meets a doctor in a train station. They start to meet regularly and enjoy simple, innocent pleasures together. It's amazing to watch Celia Johnson's face, especially her eyes, as she portrays a "happily married" woman in deep conflict over emotions stirred up by a new romance. A beautiful, touching film worth savoring.

  • @ "Connie"...

    • Jhaemes
    • 10/14/12

    ...most likely because July/'12 was LESLIE Howard month, not Trevor Howard, on TCM. Wonderful line-up of movies from a first-rate legacy, but I suppose disappointing, if you're expecting someone else's films...This film:Stunning; I just adore David Leans' earlier work (pre-epic, I mean). Simply beautiful, understated (yet exceptionally profound) performances. Kept me rapt from the get-go. We will watch it again in December; can't wait!

  • A luminous film

    • Judy Walker
    • 10/14/12

    A luminous film which grabs hold of you from the moment of the first scene to the last. Rachmaninoff score beautifully accentuates the acting, direction and b&w cinematography. British actress Celia Johnson and actor Trevor Howard give truly wonderful performances; It is hard to believe that epic director, David Lean directed the film - quite spectacular; and the final scene is quite cathartic - a must see film.

  • Where?

    • Connie
    • 7/4/12

    "Brief Encounter" is one of my favorite films EVER! I just could not find it on the schedule for Trevor Howard month, July, on TCM. Why? This is one of his best performances. I'm shocked.

  • Loved it so much

    • LoverBoy
    • 5/18/12

    This movie is excellent you should really consider watching it if you haven't already (and even if you have!). I look forward to finding it in a movie store sometime and buying it. - <3

  • Very touching!

    • Bob Froats
    • 4/29/12

    I saw this true classic- Robert Osborne's opening wwords as he introduced it last night. WOW! Shows that some of the best acting is done quietly and powerfully with a face and a few words! One of my new favorites! Thanks tremendously for TCM!!

  • Brief Encounter

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/29/12

    A touching, romantic masterpiece. Howard & Johnson both give sensetive performances, with Johnson recieving an Oscar- nomination for her work. Lean's direction & screenplay adapted for the Noel Coward classic are carefully handled by the directing icon. A painfully true tearjerker. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Close Encounter of the Three Minds

    • Jeff Boston
    • 4/29/12

    The brief encounter between the two old friends in the flat was the best part of this intelligent adult yarn that would make many in today's child culture yawn due to its lack of gratuitousness and hip leads. Thoughtful tale of the id, the ego, and the super-ego at work and one of filmdom's first forays into what, years later, would become a fixation on adulterers.

  • Riveting!

    • frank filippi
    • 4/28/12

    Magnificent performances, to say the least. A classic romance, and I don't particularly like romance movies. You won't be able to switch stations, I kid you not. I would say without a doubt, the best movie about an "almost romance" which really is the definition of a Romance, in my opinion.

  • Brief Encounter (1945)

    • sjbgellatly
    • 9/24/10

    There is an inherent Britishness about this movie that is charming at the very least, breathtakingly romantic, desperately dated and yet remarkably ahead of its time. The storyline is one of basic human emotion which has to have one of the most heart-wrenchingly touching final scenes of any film ever made. Ignore the irritating English snootyness and just wallow in the thwarted passion... The cinematography is beautiful, the acting sublime.... Enjoy.

  • Fantastic Movie!

    • Leah
    • 12/10/09

    The storyline is quite ahead of it's time.

  • One of my favorite movies!

    • annbay
    • 11/29/09

    I love this movie. It's the story of two ordinary people who meet, fall in love and part before their encounter destroys the lives around them. Both leads are wonderful and believable. I've seen it many times and always crave tea for weeks after!

  • A Wonderful Movie!

    • Martha Lawson
    • 7/13/08

    This move bears watching and re-watching. The acting is understated and powerful. The music adds to its intensity. It has become my favorite movie of all time.

  • Referenced in "Eyes Wide Shut?"

    • Ann Hedonia
    • 5/1/08

    There's a scene at the Christmas party in "Eyes Wide Shut" where Dr. Harford meets a woman who says he helped her get something out of her eye once, and then she offers to take him to the place where the rainbow ends (along with her female friend). Do you think Kubrick was influenced by "Brief Encounter" since that's how the two adulterers meet in this film?

  • Touching

    • CAC
    • 3/12/08

    The suble performances by the actors interwoven with the Rachmaninov music makes this 'little' movie truly memorable.

  • Brief Encounter

    • Sonya
    • 1/10/08

    Tonight you have on three remarkable films. I think that it is a pity that these films are so far beyond the reach of the youth today who can only connect with violence and sex and drugs and all the rest of their narrow mindedness. They cannot connect with talent, genius of the golden era than they can with opera, ballet or Tschosky or Beethovan or Remoir. We need more shows like TCM .We need all the genius we can get because it's gone.

  • It Doesn't Get More Romantic Than This

    • Winnie
    • 4/24/07

    Without a doubt, Brief Encounter is at the top of my list for romantic movies. Everything in this movie whispers of romance, from the performances and story to Rachmanioff's composition used in just the right places. This movie shows how romance in movies should and could really be done - with subtlety and without smut. This movie should be required watching in film school for up and coming writers, directors, etc.

  • A PERSONAL TRIBUTE TO BRIEF ENCOUNTER

    • STEVE CLARKE
    • 3/20/07

    I FELL IN LOVE WITH BRIEF ENCOUNTER FROM THE FIRST DAY I SAW IT. AND I HAVE LOST COUNT OF HOW MANY TIMES I HAVE SEEN IT SINCE. ALSO AS A LONG TIME FAN OF CELIA JOHNSON I FELT THAT I MUST BE PART OF THIS FILM AND I WOULD NEED TO TRAVEL BACK IN TIME AND FILM IN THE SAME LOCATIONS AS DAVID LEAN USED IN 1945 IN THE MAKEING OF BRIEF ENCOUNTER WITH CELIA JOHNSON AND TREVOR HOWARD. HERE ARE OUR LINKS BELOW.http://sclarke3.photosite.com/http://briefencounter1945.mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/index.jhtmlhttp://www.youtube.com/profile_videos?user=steveb17diy

  • A classic

    • o.a.c.
    • 11/17/06

    I finally saw this in it's entirety and was hypnotized by the performances of Celia Johnson and Trevor Howard. A superb storyline and great direction have made this film a true classic.

  • Love and Duty

    • Frank Domanic
    • 9/9/06

    Here is a masterpiece that proves that an intelligent script, skilled director, and superb actors need no special effects. This film is so richly woven that with each viewing it seems to get better and better. If you want to experience the joy and pain of love once again, with no easy answers, then watch Brief Encounter.

  • Improves With Age

    • Charles
    • 9/9/06

    Each time you watch Brief Encounter there is the satisfaction of knowing you are seeing a classic film that cannot be remade. The voice over narration and low-key performances contribute mightily to this beautiful film. This movie is also done tastefully and it manages to uphold the dignity of the characters. This is one of the few great love stories ever put on film.

  • A Classic

    • Alexandra
    • 7/20/06

    This movie is the most beautiful thing ive seen....although i thought i could predict it like most movies of today...but I was proven wrong. I LOVE IT...I LOVE IT...I LOVE IT!!! I hope that whoever happens to stumble across this movie enjoys it as much as I did.

  • Timeless!

    • Regina
    • 4/11/06

    I saw it, and I loved it immediately. It's timeless. The classic boy meets girl, girl is unhappy, boy falls for girl, boy and/or girl is unavailable, boy and girl decide "for the good of everyone concerned" to deny their love. I bought the video. I'll watch it 100 times.

  • Enjoyable

    • ankh
    • 4/2/06

    I liked this movie. At least, unlike the movies of today, they fell in love, and did not just jump into bed ! I will watch it again, and again!

  • Simply Beautiful

    • Jess
    • 3/27/06

    Everything about this film is beautiful the characters, the story, and the cinematography especially. I was very pleasantly surprised.

  • I kept waiting for the movie to start.

    • Stephen
    • 3/25/06

    I found no compelling reason to care about these characters. A story like this needs a backdrop. It needs characters of some importance in order to carry any weight. "Oh, were in love" who cares! Was the doctor a good doctor ? Was she a good wife? A good Mother? The characters were too thin.Boring boring boring.

  • Wonderful Movie

    • Wendy
    • 3/25/06

    This has to be one of the most moving and touching movies ever made. The acting, the script, the direction are almost flawless.

  • 'Blue Skies'?

    • LouisianaLad
    • 3/18/06

    There was a British film from the '30s or '40s in which two married people innocently and rather naively fall into an affair. The director skillfully used the Irving Berlin tune 'Blue Skies' as their theme, drawing the viewer into the passionate, yet fleeting joy the couple felt together. The clear message was that the 'Blue Skies' were an illusion, and that anyone, including the viewer, was susceptible to this temptation.If Brief Encounter is not the movie I am referring to, does anyone know which one it is?

  • Can't Let Go

    • Kae
    • 3/5/06

    I've seen this film countless times, but find it impossible to forget. The subtleness of Lean to weave a great love story within the ordinary was masterful. The acting was beautifully "underplayed" as was the minimal dialogue. It was sad, simple and sensational!

  • just realized where I'd seen this movie before

    • effie
    • 2/7/06

    Was watching this last ****ht and I realized that this movie is in another movie. It's in 84 Charing Cross Road when Helene is sitting in a movie theater watching English films and dreaming of England!!

  • poetry in movie form

    • cinnaman07
    • 1/19/06

    This is one of the most touching romances ever filmed. The film also makes use of many elements, such as stark noir-like cinematography, flashbacks, monologues and a well known piece of classical music to arrive at a personal, classic statement that a remake could not touch. And not to fear, Hollywood tried with Sophia Loren and Richard Burton. What a waste. Hopefully the big boys will not try a second time.Celia Johnson and Trevor Howard manage an impossible feat under David Lean's direction. They have made two very ordinary people lushly beautiful and real with restrained, effective performances. They benefit by a wonderful supporting cast that includes Joyce Carey and Stanley Holloway. After seeing this film ,you may want to run out and stand on a train platform in hopes of meeting the love of your life. Boy, I sure wish there were commuter trains here in Rochester NY!A final testament to this film: I was at a concert last summer where the orchestra was performing Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto. In seconds, I was seeing images from this film as the orchestra went at the first and second movement. In short, if you like a good romance, you will love this film and always cherish it.

  • ... of the third kind

    • JLo
    • 1/18/06

    Romance is in the air. Lov'd it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.