skip navigation
The Breaking Point

The Breaking Point(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • What an ending!

    • Linda
    • 4/26/18

    Wow...what an ending!! I love discovering "new" movies on TCM. I was still thinking about this movie the next day. At first I thought "How could it end like that??" But then it turns out that Curtiz wanted it to end that way. Amazing performances by everyone--John Garfield, Patricia Neal, Phyllis Thaxter, Juano Hernandez, even the 2 girls that played Garfield's daughters were cute. A must watch!!

  • breaking point addendum

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/21/17

    It occurs to me, reading over my review, that I neglected to mention what it is that makes this film good. It is of course the acute analysis of a man under economic pressure who makes bad decisions to save a way of life he cherishes and the viewer experiences it through the fine acting of John Garfield, the perceptive writing of Ranald MacDougall, and the Southern California coastline meets Mexico atmospherics from director Michael Curtiz and cinematographer Ted Mc Cord. Hell, ewven Phyllis Thaxter's good, and that's saying something!

  • breaking point

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/21/17

    Someone should tell previous reviewer Richard that "noir" means "black," as in... NOT A HAPPY ENDING!!! As far as "Breaking Point" goes, it's properly bleak and cheerless, as befits this genre, although, unlike the classic noirs, most of the action takes place in the sunny daytime. I also would have been more struck by the vaunted last scene if I had gotten to know the little kid and his relationship with his dad a little better and on a deeper level instead of just one brief scene. Screenwriter Ranald MacDougall should have taken the time from Patricia Neal, whose character I agree with Richard adds very little to the film, and apportioned it to Juano Hernandez and his son. I guess what I'm saying is that I'm just not ready to go along with Eddie Muller and anoint this film with "classic" status. It is damn good, though. Indeed, in the Curtiz canon I'd put it just below "Casablanca" and "Mildred" and quite a ways above "Yankee Doodle Dandy" and "Captain Of The Clouds." Give it an A minus.

  • Noir Depression!

    • Richard
    • 12/13/17

    A very monotone movie. The main character is unhappy. and, as we will soon see, is a case of depressive "the world is against me" character. Even in the face of a lovely home on the beach, a beautiful family and a wife whom he loves. The character played well by Patricia Neal is superfluous and adds nothing. Thus, I could not relate to the this film or Garfield's character. The film ultimately becomes "cliche' noir" with the bad guys looking like comic characters which leaves the action scenes vacant & boring. I could not agree with Eddie Mueller's praise, the film is simply a predictable and moody tribulation that has to end badly. It does, and leaves nothing

  • Curtiz, Hawks and Hemingway

    • Anthony
    • 12/11/17

    Odd that Hawks filmed what he called Hemingway's worst novel -- To Have and Have Not -- as a reaction to Michael Curtiz's Casablanca (in both movies Bogart is a loner and non-interventionist who wins the girl and is no longer alone, and, thereby, miraculously, becomes an internationalist. Difference is Bogart gives up the girl for Claude Raines in Casablanca, whereas he keeps Lauren Bacall and goes off to fight Nazis in To Have and Have Not. You also have the business of lots of hanging around in atmospheric bars, Vichy, and the general exoticism of the locale.). Here Curtiz makes his version of the novel Hawks chose to respond to his Casablanca. The Breaking Point is good and apparently truer to Hemingway's book. That I can't judge as I haven't read it, but when Hawks told Hemingway he would make a great movie out of his worst novel, he did. Not sure the same can be said of Curtiz, although this is a perfectly fine picture.

  • The Breaking Point

    • Gloria Gantt
    • 12/10/17

    I have always admired and enjoyed Ernest Hemingway's body of work. Breaking Point has a great cast and everyone did a a fantastic job in their role. John Garfield takes the audience with him on his journey thru out the picture.Hemingway gave great writing, plot, sub-plot and intentions to the very end. All that being said, I was very unhappy with the end. It ruined the film for me. The lack of humanity it showed with a little African American boy left alone waiting for his father who will never return to him is just outrageous. I'm surprised with Hemingway ending the story in this way. Surely someone could have rescued the child and taken him home or to a safe place and let him know what happened to his dad.........Shame on Hemingwas!!!!!!!.

  • Good film

    • lynnej
    • 1/18/13

    I was surprised by this film. It is one of those films that grows on you as watched. Harry was like any other person trying to eek out a living. But when he is faced with a tough dilemma of being stuck in Mexico and not being paid, he does what he has to do to survive. Patricia Neal is at her best. I rate this as one of her best. The sad thing was that Joseph was waiting on his father at the end. He was left alone with no one offering to take him or tell him what had happened. They should have expounded on that a little more giving Joseph some closure, too. But given the time that this picture came out I can understand that haunting image of Joseph all alone. One can't help but cry for Joseph. Mr. Garfield's character does what anybody would have done to survive. That desperation that he shows is well at home today in the 21st century. Great movie.

  • Breaking Point

    • Terence
    • 1/11/12

    The black kid at the end was looking for his dad who was murdered and thrown overboard by the gangsters. That was so sad. I think about this movie so very often. That touched me.

  • Breaking Point

    • Dave Ratcliffe
    • 8/10/11

    I liked this film very much. I didn't understand the end, leaving the little black kid just standing there was heartbreaking. Surely the wife or a cop knew who he was. Did the book end the same way? Was this social commentary of the times? It just about ruined the movie for me.

  • Garfield and Neal are terrific

    • Alan
    • 8/8/11

    Outstanding film in every way......this seemed totally "real", Hemingway's taut tale played expertly by all... including Wallace Ford in an important supporting role. John Garfield brought all of us along with him and it was quite a trip.....thanks for showing this fine film

  • The Breaking Point

    • Jim Waddle
    • 8/6/11

    This is one of those noirish gems that should have been shown on TCM's cancelled Saturday morning "Darkness at Dawn" feature. For what it's worth, make sure you catch the mollish kiss off mouthed by Patricia Neal's character at the end as well as the haunting final image afterwards of the young son standing alone on the dock.

  • Breaking Point

    • Jeffrey Zanker
    • 8/6/11

    One of the great underrated movies of the Old Hollywood period. Tough and tense about a man's struggle to do right (That's Hemingway for you). Better than "To Have and Have Not" and should be shown more to those who think Old Hollywood is just fluff. Strong performances by all and probably Curtiz's best movie.

  • The Breaking Point (1950)

    • Bill Noce
    • 4/14/10

    Another rarely seen John Garfield film. Juano Hernandez is good in this film (and is outstanding in Young Man With A Horn). Garfield and Patricia Neal put in convincing performances. Hopefully, it will be released on dvd someday.Bill NoceBend, oregon

  • Little Seen John Garfield Film

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/4/09

    "The Breaking Point"(1950) is a remake of "To Have And Have Not"(1944), the first pairing of Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall. It's the Ernest Hemingway story about a fishing boat charter captain aiding the French Resistance in Martinique during WW2. In "The Breaking Point" the story is redone to fit John Garfield and Patricia Neal, set in California with Garfield as a fishing boat captain working with a smuggling ring out of financial need who falls for the wife (played by Patricia Neal) of the man who cuts out on him in Mexico. Garfield and Neal both give great performances under the direction of Michael Curtiz. I think the last time I saw "The Breaking Point" was in February 2003, when TCM had a SOTM tribute to John Garfield. I'd like to see it again soon TCM, and also have it on DVD. Please have another John Garfield SOTM tribute soon TCM, and would like to see more of his films in your lineup.

  • The Breaking Point 1950)

    • Jay
    • 12/28/08

    As always, John Garfield is fantastic. Fast paced film noir, excellent story and cinematography, solid direction and a very tense atmosphere. Very well edited, good score. Top notch in every way.

  • The Breaking Point. WITH John Garfield

    • will jordan
    • 7/12/08

    Starring John Garfield, Patricia Neal. Adapted from an Ernest Hemingway story. Garfield owns a fishing boat, he is broke and gets involved with gangsters who want to rob a race track and escape on his boat. In the end his realizes he has to stop them at the risk of his own life.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.