skip navigation
Blue Lagoon, The

Blue Lagoon, The(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Blue Lagoon, The - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Blue Lagoon (1949)

    • Alex
    • 10/16/13

    Has TCM ever aired or played this rare movie because I love Jean Simmonot and I would really love to watch this rare movie, I pry its lost or nowhere to be found because I'm on the hunt to collect every Jean Simmons movie so please TCM find and air this rare movie that so many people would love to watch.

  • The Blue Lagoon

    • Beverly A Damron
    • 5/6/12

    I saw this movie in the early 50's and after all these years, I still remember it. I have checked with all the classic old movies and DVDs but could not find it. I loved this movie and would like to see it one more time. If you could let me know where else to look or if you could get it put on a DVD, I sure would appreciate it. Thank you

  • Wonderful movie that I long to see again

    • Kurt S
    • 7/30/11

    I saw this only once in about 1968 and have never seen it since. But it still haunts my memory as being a beautiful film. Much better than the remake. I want this on DVD! Please!

  • Tender and lovely

    • Deborah B.
    • 6/14/11

    Blue Lagoon was shown on ABC -TV in NY on the Sunday Night Movie over and over again in the 50's (as was The Red Shoes). I could never see enough of this lovely movie. The ending left me in tears, did they really live to be rescued?How lovely Jean Simmons was and I wish more of her movies would be shown. TMC get out there and get this gem, please..

  • Blue Lagoon

    • Norma
    • 6/4/11

    SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE REMAKE! I have been looking for this movie for ages. I saw it on television in the 60's, probably on AMC Channel BEFORE they started having commercials. Perhaps TCM can ask AMC if they have a copy? It was by Arthur Rank Studios, England. I hope TCM trys hard to obtain a copy -- well worth the effort.

  • The Blue Lagoon (1949)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 11/5/10

    A beautiful film. Better than the remake, with much better actors. I remember one scene where Jean Simmons is bemoaning the fact that she doesn't have any savoir-faire, even though she doesn't know what it means. I found the scene both funny and sadly poignant. I shows that these children missed so much, even though they are living a better life isolated on the island, rather than in civilization. Please release to DVD very soon.

  • The Blue Lagoon

    • Vicke
    • 7/31/10

    This is such an exquisite movie. Over the years I've tried in vain to find it on dvd. Once viewed it's unforgettable. Miss Simmons' youthful beauty takes your breath away. I am hopeful that TCM will put it on air.

  • Lost forever

    • rauld
    • 4/20/10

    This wonderful movie I saw in the early 1950s I have never forgotten. I have searched and searched but have been told that the film was lost to decay and there are no copies available. Such a shame, it will live on only in our memories.

  • Beautiful Movie that should be on DVD

    • Tom2Seay
    • 1/25/10

    The late Jean Simmons is breathtaking. The story is intriguing and unusual. I have never forgot this movie, and I must have seen it 50 years ago, only one time. Please run it for her memorial day, and please have it considered for release on DVD.

  • Rate this a 10

    • Joan Hines
    • 10/11/08

    Best movie you will ever see. Great Jean Simmons movie...gotta be on dvd soon.

  • BRILLIANT MOVIE I'VE NEVER FORGOTTEN

    • Tad
    • 10/11/08

    I saw this movie at age 11 and it was wonderful. I've seen it on TV only once in all those years. It is so much beeter than the 1980 version. Super acting and technicolor film. Jean Simmons is breath taking. Needs to be on dvd.

  • The Blue Lagoon (1947)

    • Akhtar
    • 9/12/08

    This is a my favorite Jean Simmons movie, which I watched in 1954. Story and acting are superb, but this movie was never scheduled on TCM or any other TV channel so far.I love to watch this movie again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.