skip navigation
Blow-Up

Blow-Up(1966)

  • Sunday, December 14 @ 03:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Blow-Up - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Blow-up

    • Goetan
    • 6/23/14

    Sorry, blue-collar guys, but their aren't any actual explosions in Antonioni's "Blow-up." Hemmings cynical photographer is approached by Redgrave to return photo's of her in the park with a man who later ends up dead. The film isn't about Redgrave's involvement with the deeased and missing man, but about alienation in swinging sixties London. The colours and photography are beautiful and Antonioni uses the canvas to satirize the time with a thriller-approach. Antonioni's first English-language film is a psychedelic, haunting, well-paced masterpiece that garnered him two Oscar nominations. I give it a 5/5.

  • Blowup is Brilliant!

    • Deckard
    • 6/14/14

    Superb direction, a wonderful cast, and a marvelous mystery. Add a look at the Mod scene of mid-1960's London, the icing on top of Antonioni's "cake," and you have one of a legendary director's best films.

  • THE 1960's Movie

    • David Zabriskie
    • 2/21/14

    What we have here is probably the most emblematic of all films made during or about the 1960s. It asks that favorite question of the "psychedelic 60s": "What is reality?" and gives no answer... except uncertainty. It is no accident that the main character, Thomas, is a photographer because the key question behind everything here is can you believe all that your eyes tell you? Or is there something else lurking beneath the surface? Or is that simply a matter of what you choose to believe?The narrative here is elliptical; the plot is secondary to the philosophical questions posed by the story. Don't get bored or put off if things don't seem to make any sense at first -- that's part of the point.One would expect a movie about a photographer to be beautifully photographed and this movie is. Antonioni and cinemaphotographer Carlo DiPalma deserve kudos for that. The colors, however, have not remained so vivid over time as they were in the original print. That's too bad because their vividness contributed to the hallucinatory atmosphere of the film overall.Nevertheless, if you want to see a movie about what the 1960s and "Swinging London" were all about as cultural phenomena, this is IT.

  • An Atmospheric Masterpiece

    • Beaudeau
    • 2/20/13

    I wasn't bored at all. This movie perfectly captures the look and feel of the mid-sixties, when sexual liberation and the Free Love movement hit. I was there, and there has never been a better time to be alive as a young adult. Thomas's romp with "The Blonde" and "The Brunette" is so perfectly and tastefully done! I never experienced the ennui and detachment though that is projected by the film. The inconclusive ending is perfect since everything in the movie leads to it.

  • A minor masterpiece, but butchered.

    • Roy E.
    • 2/7/12

    This movie would be so much more comprehensible today if the producers of the current version had not opted to leave out the first scene. There is nothing particularly objectionable here to censor: just Thomas in the flophouse pretending to be one of the poor people there and photographing them when they are not looking. It establishes some of his motivations for future actions. The truly incomprehensible thing here is the motivation of the current DVD (I assume) producers for butchering the beginning of a great film in this way. I certainly hope that TCM had nothing to do with it, since they are usually a class act!

  • AN ODD FILM,INDEED...........

    • Michael Steven
    • 2/5/12

    Blow-Up,is quite an odd film indeed.David Hemmings believes that he's caught someone in the act of trying to kill someone,by means of photography.HOWEVER...........I would be less than honest if I were to say that this was one of the reasons why I continue to view this film. The Who had been around for only a few years,when they were approached to appear in this film.They had at that time,a reputation for destroying their gear on stage.It was an act that would keep them in debt for years,until Pete Townshend put Tommy together,& cleared the wreckage away.The band declined to appear in this film.It was The Yardbirds who turned up instead.YES.......The Yardbirds had varing degrees of success,YET,they were on their last legs when they appeared in this film.YES...............that's Jeff Beck & Jimmy Page that you'll see in this film. Not long after this film was produced,Jeff Beck was kicked out of the band for not turning up at a gig.So Jimmy Page carried on.This would continue till Sept.1968,when the original members of the band decided to call it a day.Page soon got a new group of musicians together,calling themselves The New Yardbirds.After a concert tour commitment was completed,the band changed it's name to Led Zeppelin.The rest is history. Consider the times this film was produced,and you've got the makings of a very interesting,as well as odd film ,INDEED.As far as the ending goes............I DON'T GET IT.I've seen this many times,& I STILL DON'T GET IT.

  • Major Snoozefest

    • Linda J.
    • 12/8/10

    Make sure you have a book or magazine handy if you choose to watch this movie. It moves at a ridiculously slooooooowwwww and boooooring pace. Plot line sounds good, but at the end, you'll feel cheated that you wasted your time. (Although I thought the pantomined tennis game in the final 5 minutes was the most entertaining part of the entire movie!)

  • Up all night still loving

    • JohnnyVertigo
    • 2/14/10

    I can't think of a film where women are so beautifully photograped as"Blow Up." Those 2 gorgeous lovelies visiting David Hemming's place.Oh the looks of longing on their 1965 - 1966 faces. There's a real innocence there with how badly they want to be models. What a weird tennis match. Antonioni is such a brilliant painter with his camera. The scene with the painter & his girlfriend (beautiful Sarah Miles) such amazing shots.Makes me really long to be older in the 60's & in London. I was in New London & only 1-2 years old. Great acting by David Hemmings & VanessaRedgrave. I truly can't say enough about how I love this grat work of art!!!

  • Blow Up

    • Walter Lewkowski
    • 2/14/10

    Every now and then a movie comes along that is so idiotic that it drives would-be intellectuals to try and make something of it. Such a film is Blow Up. They love to say, "Oh you didn't get it. Well that's because you're not as smart as me." It is a slow moving film that has no ending. Most likely the writers ran out of thoughts or the director ran out of film or money. After watching the movie any one with an ounce of sense will say, "What the heck is that and why did I waist my time watching it."

  • Amazing Antonioni milestone

    • Jake Fredel
    • 7/23/09

    Amazing is the only word that can describe this brilliantly understated '60s mystery film set in London and directed by Michelangelo Antonioni, who died a few years ago. Its rich with symbolism, and has a bunch of meanings - but its a lot of fun and great to watch. The only thing TCM could do is play it more often. So it has some nudity, who cares? If it was shown more regularly it might get more of an audience.

  • Truly A Brilliant Dream / Nightmare ?

    • JohnnyVertigo
    • 9/3/08

    The scene in the park is one of the most beautiful scenes ever captured on film.I love this movie. David Hemmings is magnificent.

  • Landmark 60s film

    • nlumiere
    • 3/15/08

    Very influential - one of the first postmodern films in English - Antonioni's - one of the masters of postmodern film - first film in English. Had a marked influence on the emergent counterculture.

  • Excellent

    • Roxanne
    • 11/12/07

    i saw this for the 1st time a month ago and was so impressed with this movie . such a classic mixed with comedy and suspense good rock . Never an r scene , just a good story line and an excellent actor extremely attractive David hemming s .

  • Beck-not Page

    • Strikeforce
    • 11/9/07

    It is J. Beck in the film playing lead guitar. J. Page wasn't yet w/ the band except for some studio work. Page joined on tour in '66. This flick was filmed in '65. And if you can name the club the band is playing in I'll give ya a gold Star.

  • Guitar player

    • Harry
    • 2/14/07

    I believe the guitar player who smashed his guitar was Jeff Beck.

  • It's The Yardbirds

    • Molly
    • 9/19/06

    The band in the club is The Yardbirds- so yep, that's Jimmy Page.

  • band - famous members?

    • WT
    • 9/18/06

    Clearly Jimmy Page was in the band! The guitarist who smashed his ax looked like Keith Richards, maybe? Blond singer did not look or sound like Robert Plant. I'm curious to know if anyone spots any moresoon or already famous musicians. Jane Birkin - I think she was the London model that the famous "Birkin Bag" was named after. Just putting together a few cultural tidbits.

  • I LOVE THIS MOVIE

    • Sheba
    • 9/4/06

    This is easily one of the top ten greatest movies of all time. It will leave you speechless. Maybe. Anyway it's very entertaining.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.