skip navigation
The Black Swan

The Black Swan(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Black Swan When he's named governor of Jamaica, a former pirate... MORE > $24.99 Regularly $24.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Excellent Pirate Fare

    • Kris
    • 6/7/14

    Like today's "Caribbean" movie pirates, the dastardly fiends swarming aboard The Black Swan are there to amuse and delight. And they do. From ferocious George Sanders to bellicose Liard Cregar-what a crew! Sword in hand and a blinding smile on his face, Tyrone Power can't be beat at virile swashbuckling. Beautiful Maureen O 'Hara, never a shrinking damsel, is great as the spirited yet reluctant subject of his advances. It's all for fun. Great movie with all the old-time Hollywood touches like a terrific score and eye -popping costumes.

  • We Loved It

    • fran
    • 2/26/14

    My husband and I turned on the TV yesterday AM and caught most of the Black Swan. Great fun. We actually laughed out loud. What wonderful stars Tyrone Power and Maureen O 'Hara were, and how good looking! We loved seeing them playing their antagonistic parts to the hilt. Oh and I can't forget to mention the great George Sander and a pretty young looking Anthony Quinn. I'll take this kind of fun fantasy over today's ugly vampire, robotic and monster-laden fare anytime. TCM please keep this one on rotation.

  • The Ugly Duckling

    • Meredith
    • 12/28/13

    Tyrone Power is no swashbuckler. I like Power, but he doesn't look like a pirate in this film, instead he looks like a dink.

  • The Black Swan

    • warren sjoberg
    • 11/25/13

    If you like pirate pictures, big sailing ships, cannons and action this might be the one you want to see. I saw this film with my folks just after it came out, on the big screen and in full color. For fun, I bought the DVD and saw it again and remembered most of it as it was. Good films are hard to forget. Let's hope that TCM will show it more often, it's a great picture with great actors, sets, props and effects.Warren Sjoberg

  • thanks

    • Dee2
    • 9/5/13

    Thank you TCM for showing The Black Swan. Really enjoyable show. OHara and Power were two talented and beautiful movie stars! Loved Mitchell Sanders Quinn & Cregar too.

  • Sanders The Pirate

    • sanders
    • 9/5/13

    He's no Basil Rathbone,but Sanders was funny.Powers is no Basil,either,he's too pretty to be convincing,but fun movie anywho

  • the black swan sizzles

    • dg
    • 7/26/13

    Like a comic opera its all dash and bluster, played for fun and romance as the cast ham it up with grest abandon. This is in every way the spiritual precursor to the pirate movies that have become so popular in recent years. Tyrone Power and Maureen OHara are a great team and their snarling and sparing scenes are played for maximum effect--all flashing eyes and high spirit. Rest of the cast are wonderful and into the spirit of happy swash and buckle. Go along for the ride. The great Technicolor cinematography won the Academy Award and it is something to see. Enjoy this romp

  • The Black Swan

    • Goetan
    • 5/15/13

    A dazzling, swashbuckling adventure film. Power is great as a romancing, adventure-seeking Captain, Sanders hams-it up as a renegade pirate. Won an Oscar for it's sumptuous photography and Newman's score heighten action scenes, the story is straight-forward and predictable. A good pirate film that's always entertaining. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Uns dos meus filmes preferidos

    • Sonia
    • 11/21/10

    Este filme timo. Muita aventura, ao e romance movem a trama do filme. Uma bela Maureen o' Hara e uns dos maiores astros dos anos 40 Tryone Power. Um filme que j no se faz hoje em dia. Eu adoro filme de piratas. O TCM deveria apresentar o filme. Ele brilhante.

  • The Black Swan

    • HOKEY
    • 5/14/10

    I have seen the Black Swan several times over the years and one of its attributes was the excellent quality of the technicolor. From the very first scene, I could tell that something was terribly wrong with the color in the new DVD version. Heavy hues is an understatement. The costumes appeared overcolored and the backgrounds looked like they were painted, rather than filmed. There is nothing visually natural about the natural backgrounds. The current DVD version is a restoration or rather a failed attempt to restore the original vivid technicolor quality. Comparisons of unrestored and restored scenes are presented in the "Special Features." The comparisons are the only proof one needs to recognize that the original, albeit faded, technicolor print was superior to the restoration.

  • The Black Swan

    • Pat
    • 2/16/10

    This is a classic pirate film and my favorite. Tyrone Power as Jamie Waring is excellent casting along with Thomas Mitchell, Maureen O'Hara and Laird Cregar and so many others. I love this film! Thank you to whomever brought this film to your schedule. I am a BIG fan of Tyrone Power.

  • The Black Swan

    • loveablelou2
    • 2/16/10

    What a entertainment this movie was. Kept me interested every moment. Exciting, romantic, fun, witty and fast moving. A must see for any movie lovers. An adventure on the high seas. The fact that Tyrone Power named his own boat, Black Swan, proves he loved the adventures of the movie too.

  • Classic Pirate Movie!

    • Natasha N
    • 11/26/09

    One of my favorite Pirate movies, it has everything... Romance, Action, Swash Buckling Adventure!Tyron Power is so handsome in this movie, oh you can't forget the beautiful Maureen O'Hara.Worth watching!

  • Ty Powered Offense..

    • Steve S.
    • 8/18/09

    too much for even the defense's of the high-spirited, hot-blooded and fiery temper of Maureen O'Hara.And that, about sum's up the plot!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.