skip navigation
Black Orpheus

Black Orpheus(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Black Orpheus A streetcar conductor loses... MORE > $20.95 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • play on..dance on..live on.

    • a.morris
    • 2/14/18

    some people will like the pace of the story.. some will not. there is a great amount of material for the script.it is impressive how it fit the movie. the potential danger to play around with it.. the camera work ..the costumes.. the backgrounds..all very nice. the scene when the young lady is killed.. the set up ..the lights.. the backgrounds.. not just luck to get that on film. good.. hard work made that and everything else happen. the acting.. solid.. every part. people you could like.. maybe a few not to .. but characters you could understand because of the script. liked the ending message.. sun comes out.. things go on.

  • Black Orpheus: Music Is The Star

    • Doc Long
    • 6/20/16

    Carnival time in Rio is the backdrop for this influential and important film that ranks with any foreign language work introduced to the American audience. Released in 1959, audiences were accustomed to the high minded mid 50s to early 60s French & Italian films and familiar with the imposing German product of pre-Hitler but- music is the engine that powers Black Orpheus. Staggering the "pop culture" scene of its day when this movie made its way stateside, the tale centers around an emotionally charged story of young love and danger with the music and dancing of carnival time in Brazil. Winner of the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language film, this one is not to be missed.

  • Genius

    • Eugene Brice II
    • 2/24/15

    The movie depicts life as it was in the poor area of rio, in any slum it is very difficult because of lack of money, so usually there are certain times when the spirit is uplifted, and that is carnival time. I think the movie depicts life during carnival time in 1959. The movie is very touchy, mythical, exciting & adventurous too.

  • Black Orpheus

    • Goetan
    • 6/13/14

    A fantastical retelling of the Orpheus and Eurydice Greek myth. A streetcar conductor falls in love and loses a woman during Carnival, full of overly-passionate stereotypes. Outstanding eye candy and catchy ear candy are supplied by the photography and score, respectively; Won the Best Foreign Language film Oscar in '59. Dazzling, energetic and unforgettable. I give it a 4/5.

  • An Overrated Film

    • disinterested spectator
    • 6/9/14

    If you decide to watch this movie, I hope you like dancing, because that is what half the movie is, and it is monotonous, repetitive dancing to monotonous, repetitive music. The movie is based on the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, but it's not any better than the myth was. Orpheus asks his girlfriend Mira to marry him, and then on the same day, he meets Eurydice and has sex with her. Then, instead of at least breaking off his engagement, he just dances with Eurydice at the carnival in front of Mira. So, he's a louse, right? Wrong. The movie wants us to like Orpheus and despise Mira. You figure it out. Anyway, there is a guy running around with a death mask on who wants to kill Eurydice and eventually succeeds. We don't know why. I guess we are supposed to accept this as mythologically inevitable. Or, you can just assume the guy is wearing a hockey mask.

  • Good Movie!

    • Cecil Stinnett
    • 1/13/10

    I had never heard of this movie until was shown on TCM. No wonder TCM is one of my favorite networks along with ESPN and the History Channel. I was absolutely mesmerized by the characters. I didn't even mind reading the subtitles.

  • A truly unique film.

    • Kathleen McMahon
    • 11/28/09

    I saw this movie when I was much younger and I always remembered it. The music and location made you feel as if you are a part of the experience. A beautiful love story, great acting and directing...who could ask for more.

  • This film has it all:

    • Gay Griffin
    • 11/27/09

    The beauty and charisma of the two leads, the magical setting of Rio, and the spellbinding musical score by Jobim. Unforgettable!

  • A blend of Greek Myth & Rio's carnival!

    • talansteubenville
    • 3/15/09

    Wonderful movie with great music that takes us to another culture few of us truly experience. A "best picture" in any country.

  • Haunting & Poetic

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/12/06

    A haunting and poetic adaptation of the Orpheus legend, cleverly set in fantastically beautiful Rio de Janeiro. Fine cast and memorable visuals.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.