skip navigation
The Black Hole

The Black Hole(1979)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Black Hole Researchers discover a lost... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Guilty pleasure

    • Jeffrey
    • 12/20/12

    Yes, this movie has its flaws, but I thoroughly enjoy this movie. I love the visual effects, the cinematography, as well as the score by John Barry. I also admire how it is something that a lot people would not expect from Disney (Keep in mind, this was their first film with a PG rating). Is it a masterpiece? No. Is it worth a look? You may like it, you may not, but either way, Yes.

  • the black hole

    • Caledeo
    • 4/27/12

    Good movie, underrated

  • It's Classic

    • steve
    • 1/10/12

    As a child of the late 70's early 80's this movie with its dated special effects, Very strange ending still come's back to remind you of old better days, Also who could forget characters like Maximilian, Dr. Hans Reinhardt, and Vincent the robot. John Barry's Music in this movie is just epic for any scifi fan. Also this was the last movie for Disney studios to do it's own in house special effects from the old school. To sum it up, It's one of my favorites.

  • The Black Hole (1979)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/25/10

    What a pathetic rip-off of Star Wars and other sci-fi films. That robot, the one with Roddy McDowall's voice, is so stupid, and it degrades the film. It even looks cheaply made. The lame attempts at humor in the film fall flat, but I did laugh at parts I wasn't supposed to. A lot of money went into it, and the special effects are good. The score is good also, but after awhile it gets irritating. The cinematography is quite well done. As for the acting, no one seems to be into the film, like they are all reading their lines and that's it. Academy Award nominations did go to the special effects and the cinematography. The lack of originality - shame on Disney!

  • Not a Sci-Fi Classic, somewhat entertaining

    • Beamshipcaptain
    • 12/15/08

    I remember eagerly looking forward to THE BLACK HOLE in 1978-1979, and then I went to go see it the day it came out, in Florida. I saw STAR TREK the Motion Picture a month later in Florida, and I had to wait in line 90-minutes to see it. That there was no line and a nearly empty theater to see THE BLACK HOLE should have been a warning. I was underwhelmed by the score (they should have tapped John Williams, and the movie might have done better), embarrased by the horrible dialogue, and so-so script, despite great SPFX, the movie was a blatand remake of 20,000 leagues. The ending, going into the titular BLACK HOLE, was exciting, but ended up being marred by sterotypical hollywood Eurocentric Quasi-religious overtones, and simplemindedness. SPACE:1999 season I episode THE BLACK SUN did a far better job a few years earlier with ideas and intelligent dialogue, with far less money, of perilous black-hole (Warp) travel.

  • In, through... and beyond.

    • Ben larson
    • 2/3/08

    Sometimes you just have bad luck. This was a good movie with dazzling cinematography and special effects. Unfortunately it lost the Oscars in both categories going up against Apocalypse Now and Alien. Despite that, it was worth watching for the action and science.Maximilian Schell (Judgment at Nuremberg, The Man in the Glass Booth, Julia) is always worth watching, and he certainly makes a good mad scientist. Anthony Perkins certainly showed that he can do something besides Psycho.And, it had the cutest little robots I have ever seen. they were adorable! I just thought that it stretched credulity a bit as the spaceship was breaking up. I just can't believe anyone would have lived.

  • An expensive effort but short on content.

    • M Greene
    • 2/2/08

    This movie failed in almost every way. Only the visual effects were better than average and there wasn't enough of them to carry this movie.Some may think that a flying banged up robot with a wild west cowboy voice as an example of high sci fi -- well they are wrong! Nor is a mad scientist/captain anything to write home about. I liked it better in 20,000 leagues under the sea. And ray gun spinning black Bart robots are as silly an idea as any 12 year old could come up with.The money spent to make this movie would have been better spent if they had given it away as grants to High school film students. And I challenge anyone to compare this movie to Star Wars, Star Trek,War of the Worlds, or The Day the Earth stood Still.And keep a straight face while they are doing it.

  • I actually liked it.

    • Mary Melinda Kinnaird
    • 11/26/07

    Maybe I'm not as die-hard a sci-fi fan as some others, but I actually like this movie. I thought it was a cool time-capsule, as some sci-fi classic films are. I remember seeing it advertised when I was a little girl, and it took me back to going to the movies with my mom at the big (now classic) movie theater. I liked it!

  • Why is TCM showing this movie again??

    • gabe
    • 11/19/07

    This movie is BAD sci-fi. TCM just showed it yesterday (11-18-07). Enough already! Let Disney plug it on their network. There are lots of movies that can be shown, that also are not available on DVD. I wish TCM will stick to movies that need to be shown. Not movies I can buy on DVD and watch anytime (besides being BAD). Thank you.

  • Am I tuned in to TCM??

    • hyedenny
    • 11/18/07

    This movie is BAD. Disney sold out in many ways with this movie. It was the first Disney movie not to have a G rating, because they threw in a few cuss words that sound coerced and contrived. The plot was a rip-off of a Jules Verne classic. It was Disneys desperate, futile, and ridiculous answer to Star Wars, and they spent more money on it than any other Disney film to date!

  • ur nuts

    • chad redding
    • 10/28/07

    the black hole is a phenomenal film disney did a great job of making a sci fi film with out it being corny or stupid so if u feel it stinks UR NUTS PAL

  • This STINKS

    • Mr Bill
    • 10/27/07

    I wanted my money back when I saw this in the theater. No plot, no acting, stupid robots, a waste of time. Watching paint dry is a lot more entertaining.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.