skip navigation
The Bishop's Wife

The Bishop's Wife(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Bishop's Wife An angel helps set an... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A True Christmas Classic! "Sez Who?" Sez Me.

    • Rich Bysina
    • 1/10/14

    Though I'm 73, I didn't see The Bishop's Wife until just a few years ago on TCM. Maybe it was the title that didn't seem to interest me. And I don't even recall what made me watch it the very first time; could be that I just saw the ending one evening while switching channels. But when I later saw it from beginning to end -- as Dudley the angel is walking out of scene, realizing he was falling in love with a human! (the bishop's wife, played by Loretta Young), while we hear the bishop's Christmas Eve sermon voice-over end with the words, "...all the shining gifts that make peace on earth." -- I knew I had a new movie on my all-time favorites list. I have one granddaughter named, coincidentally, Julia, who just turned eleven on New Year's Day. I've told her that she's most likely reaching the age where she would truly understand what this movie's about, and recommended that she watch it when Christmas 2014 is near. So, my dearest Julia, after you read this review of mine, and then after you see this movie, I'm asking you right here and now to write your own review and send it in, just as I have. It will be one more way you and I, long after I'm gone, will always be connected.

  • Heart warming

    • Tracy
    • 12/22/13

    This is probably my favorite Christmas movie. It shows the frailties of the human heart and yet it also shows the genuine caring and generosity people can show towards each other.

  • The best Christmas Movie

    • Janet
    • 12/15/13

    What can I say about this movie? That it moves me to tears every time I see it. Such a beautiful story, which reminds us what Christmas is all about. Of all the Christmas movies, this is my absolute favorite. Cary Grant is superb as the angel, who provides guidance and miracles and reminds David Niven what life is all about. A reminder that we all need these days. It is not about materialistic things; it's about love. And this movie showes this in a simple, yet so very heartwarming way.

  • A magical film

    • Ron Stark
    • 2/18/13

    So much is happening in this film that there isn't enough room to document it. From Cary Grants' leading dialogue with his knowing gaze to framing Julia in the arch of the church,To Dudley's them to Julia's theme this film is rife with holiday magic. Loretta Young insisted she be shot from the left only and here is a fine example of that in Toland and Koster's work. Nat Tiffen made those filters for Toland and the images they deliver are clear and clean right to the edges.Own it, love it and watch it often. There is more here to see than you imagine.Brilliant!

  • "So many people making so many mistakes"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 12/24/12

    Beautiful film. What a pity Grant never won an Oscar like Niven and Young. I enjoyed the non-religious professor's journey. He professes at the start the struggling church "can't stand up to the march of progress" and he is the one who progresses (mouthing "God bless you" etc.) until, at the end, he joins fellow believers in church at Christmas. Good timing with the release, for the Iron Curtain was descending upon Europe and China would soon be lost to communism; America needed and Hollywood helped provide (at that time anyway) a little light to combat the darkness of a despicable man-over-God philosophy.

  • The Bishop's Wife

    • mary Elias
    • 12/23/12

    2nd Best Christmas Movie of al time. Of course the story of Jimmy Stewart and Its a Wonderful Life is my all time favorite and has been for many years. My Husband introduced me to this move The Bishop's Wife and I immedately fell in Love with it. The only two movies that I really look forward to see and HAVE to see for The Christmas Season is The Bishops's Wife and Its a Wonderful Life. Cary Grant is one of my all time favorite Actors and he has so many movies that I just adore and could not live without. TMC thank you for your MOVIES they are the best of all time. I Love the old Black and White Movies. I find myself watching TMC about 95% of the time that I watch TV. It is really a toss up between the two. The Bishop's Wife and Its a Wonderful Life. But if I have to choose I quess Its a Wonderful Life wins for number 1. If I can have Both as my number one pick it Definately would be a tie. They are both Wonderful Movies that fill my heart with Love and Kindness. Thanks to TMC I can watch my favorites and an introduced to so many movies that I have never have seen and they all capture my imagination in so many ways. I cant wait to see the Bishop's Wife TONIGHT. I have been looking forward to this for the last 3 days so it better be on. Dudley is just so uplifting and adorable it make my heart sing just like the Harp that he plays for the old lonely lady.

  • All time favorite

    • LS
    • 12/22/12

    This is my all time favorite Christmas movie. I watch it at least once during the holidays. It is not the holidays without watching this.

  • my favorite Christmas movie!

    • cheryl
    • 12/15/12

    For many years my fav Christmas movie was Its a Wonderful Life. Once I saw The Bishops Wife about 10 yrs ago it became my all time fav. I can't find one thing about the movie that I don't care for. It's the perfect holiday movie for me and a must watch at least once every Christmas season. ** I wish TCM would offer on their schedule more than they do.**

  • Another Great Christmas Classic

    • Randall
    • 11/25/12

    I love watching this classic during the Holidays; TCM will show Dec. 23 @ 8:00PM and Dec. 24 @ 1:00PM.

  • My Christmas is better with it!

    • MC
    • 11/20/12

    This movie makes my Christmas better! It reminds us all of how we can lose ourselves and become selfish.We forget that Jesus Christ is our reason for living and building churches.

  • Good yes, angelic no

    • ojc
    • 11/20/12

    I like this movie. How could any movie with David Niven, Elsa Lanchester, and Cary Grant not be good. It has a lot of seasonal charm.The restaurant scene with Loretta Young and Cary Grant as he deflects the local gossips is excellent. And so is the scene near the end with Gladys Cooper. I wish the rest of the movie was as clever and insightful. But overall the film just seems long and draggy and too aware of its attempts to be charming, witty, and heartwarming. Worth seeing during the holidays. But not one of the best.

  • Holiday classic

    • Adam
    • 5/25/12

    I of the best Christmas films... Carey Grant at his best.

  • The Bishop's Wife

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 12/17/11

    This is a film that I believe should be equally viewed as often as "It's a Wonderful Life." It has moments of cheesy sentimentality, but that is to be expected from christmas films. Grant & Young have magnificent chemistry together as an angel & the title character, who both feel that Niven's egotistical bishop is losing his faith in God. A fun, fantasy film with cheesy moments. I give it a 3/5.

  • my all-time favorite christmas movie

    • pep khera
    • 12/16/11

    What a wonderful movie. Simply magic. The entire cast is marvelous. This is one of those movies I could watch over and over again and never get tired of. I usually end up watching it at least once every Christmas. As good as "It's A Wonderful Life" is, this one is even better. This film is full of charming and magical moments and scenes, such as the scene where Dudley introduces himself to the ladies in the bishop's household, the choir scene, the skating scene, the scene in the restaurant with the gossipy women, all the scenes with Dudley and the Professor, and my favorite, the scene where Dudley plays the harp in Mrs. Hamilton's house and her subsequent redemption. This movie never fails to lift me up and make me smile. Glorious from start to finish. Those who have never seen it don't know what they're missing.

  • Beautiful film, beautiful message!

    • RedRaom
    • 12/16/11

    If you've seen this film already, try watching it again reversing the roles that Niven and Grant play - as they were originally cast. You cannot even envision their switching places in this film! They are both so perfectly cast here that you know in your heart no remake can ever match it. Perhaps it is my dotage now but my favorite scene is between Dudley and Mrs. Hamilton after Dudley discovers the harp music written by her lover of old. After he plays it for her, she tells him nobody in the entire world knows that music, as it was written especially for her. This scene brings to mind the fact that secrets are kept by all of us and, sometimes, by the old who keep them, like Christmas, in their hearts. I believe this is my favorite Christmas film. It is completely based on love and on giving and, in the end, that is what Christmas truly is about!

  • Wonderful sentimental favorite for Christmas

    • Jay
    • 12/15/11

    This post is really to let Felisha on review dated 8/22/11, know that the Bishops Wife soundtarck is available from Amazon as a MP3 download and also as a out of print CD, though very expensive.

  • Must See Christmas Classic

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/15/11

    I watch "The Bishop's Wife" when it airs on TCM every Christmas. It's a wonderful story about an angel named Dudley (Cary Grant) who comes down to earth at Christmastime to help a bishop (David Niven) and his wife (Loretta Young) with their various problems, and also help them to see what's really important in life. My favorite scene is when Dudley rewrites the bishop's Christmas sermon (with the typewriter going by itself while he's dictating) so that it conveys the true meaning of the holiday, and what it's really (and should be) about. Excellent supporting cast includes Monty Woolley, James Gleason, Elsa Lanchester and Regis Toomey. "The Bishop's Wife" can be enjoyed any time of the year, not just at Christmas.

  • All time Favorite

    • Beth
    • 12/15/11

    This movie is one of my all time favorites ! The remake is an enjoyable movie - but you just can't recaputrethe class and style of the original.

  • The Bishops Wife

    • Jason Thomas
    • 12/3/11

    The best Christmas movie ever!

  • Another perennial xmas-time movie

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/4/11

    So-so film about an angel (Grant) helping a bishop (Niven) to find out what he's missing in life (Young). The latter two are suitably cast the as prim and board-stiff church couple, and only Grant's occasional touches of wink-wink-nudge-nudge irreverence manages to keep the movie from becoming too bogged down in its cloying preachiness. The high point of the film has to be the skating scene with Sylvester the cabbie.

  • My favorite movie ever!!

    • Felisha
    • 8/22/11

    I had the privilege of living with my grandparents when I was young. My grandmother was a first grade teacher and a wonderful supportive wife to my grandfather's job as an Episcopal priest in the Bay Area. This movie makes me recall my wonderful memories of being confirmed in Grace Cathedral and being an acolyte for my grandfather. However, the best memories are brought to life for me when Cary tells the daugher the story of David and the lion. That is how my grandfather preached - in a way that all ages could relate and learn the lesson.As my grandparents have passed over 10 years now, I find a peaceful and walk down memory lane. I cry every time. It is also a Christmas tradition to watch it. I just wish I could find the music - then I would be so happy.Such a film of faith, hope, and the true meaning of Christmas!!

  • The Bishops Wife

    • Jojo
    • 1/6/11

    It's Cary Grant, enough said, watch it, and love it!

  • One of the BEST holiday films!

    • Bill Knotts
    • 12/20/10

    A true Christmas classic! Should be shown alongside Loretta Young's other two Christmas movies, 1949's "Come to the Stable" and her 1986 return to television movie, "Christmas Eve." "The Bishop's Wife" contains endearing performances from an exceptional cast, superb direction and expertise in cinematography. PLEASE add this fine film to your holiday viewing as it is now available on DVD. And check out those other two Loretta Young films I mentioned above, if you can. They were released on VHS some time ago but you can still find a copy or two of each. MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

  • "The Bishops Wife"

    • Queen Patty
    • 12/13/10

    Excellent movie with Mr. Cary Grant at his most charming best!

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 12/7/10

    Este filme excelente, puro e nos faz lembrar dos bons sentimentos. Um excelente filme para o Natal com Cary Grant e Loretta Young. Fantstico.

  • The Bishop's Wife (1948)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 11/30/10

    Probably the best Christmas movie ever made. Up there with Miracle on 34th Street and even better, I think, than It's a Wonderful Life. Should be shown regularly throughout the holiday season.

  • The Bishop's Wife (1947)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/4/10

    77/100. You really can't go wrong with a cast that includes Cary Grant, Loretta Young, David Niven, Monty Wooley, James Gleason, Gladys Cooper and Elsa Lanchester. Cary Grant is good, but an odd choice to play the angel role. Sweet, maybe a little too much so, but it is very endearing. The Bishop's Wife is light and entertaining, with a great score. It won an Academy Award for sound recording and was nominated for best director, score, editing and best picture.

  • Grant is an Angel

    • bob mckinlay
    • 12/21/09

    One of Cary Grant's most humorous and delighful movies. The support cast is superb. If you weren't in the holiday spirit before the movie you will be now. A timeless classic.

  • The best Christmas Movie

    • Linda
    • 12/3/09

    I've been watching this movie all of my life. The scenery is beautiful, actors are wonderful and it just reminds you of what Christmas was like a long time ago. Men and women wore hats every day, everyone wore clunky boots that were durable not fashionable, the story is beautiful and just brings you back to the old days. It's just not Christmas without it. I hope you consider this on your holiday schedule, I would watch every day if it was shown. My favorite all time best Christmas movie.

  • Wonderful, especially at Christmas

    • Steve
    • 9/8/09

    Please consider running this during December 2009. I see it's not on your early schedule. This is THE film to run on Christmas Eve. I also love the quote from David Niven's sermon at film's end. Makes me cry when I see it, very moving. Great movie! Great script and particularly a great message. Thanks.

  • This is the best Christmas movie!

    • RUSSELL CINQUE JR
    • 5/13/09

    My most favorite movie to see during the holiday season. This is by far the best Christmas movie. I am so glad it has finally been released on DVD. Don't miss it!

  • The Bishop's Sermon

    • Bill
    • 12/25/08

    I am surprised that I have been unable to find the text of the sermon read by the bishop at the end of the movie. I believe the sermon captures the essence of the movie and of Christmas. I will reproduce it here for anyone who cherishes it as much as I do."Tonight I want to tell you the story of an empty stocking. Once upon a midnight clear there was a child's cry. A blazing star hung over a stable and wise men came with birthday gifts. We haven't forgotten that night down the centuries. We celebrate it with stars on Christmas trees, with the sound of bells, and with gifts. But especially with gifts. You give me a book, I give you a tie. Aunt Martha has always wanted an orange squeezer. And Uncle Henry could do with a new pipe. We forget nobody, adult or child. All the stockings are full--all, that is, except one. And we have even forgotten to hang it up. A stocking for the child born in a manger. It's his birthday we're celebrating--don't let us ever forget that. Let us ask ourselves what he would wish for most. And then let each put in his share: loving kindness, warm hearts, and the stretched out hand of tolerance. All the shining gifts that make peace on earth."

  • Best Holiday Movie

    • Steve
    • 12/8/08

    There is no better movie for the Christmas holiday season. Hope, joy, encouragement! I have teenagers I introduced to this movie and they look forward to seeing it now every year.

  • What a love story...

    • LindaLee2756
    • 12/1/08

    If you enjoy holiday movies, this is a must to see. This is a love triangle that is literally out of this world. Cary Grant is superb, as always. Loretta Young, beautiful, sensitive, lonely. Then there is the lovely David Niven. He is so beautiful. The whole movie is about love. Love between a husband and wife. Love lost, one of the sub-plots has the wealthy woman telling of her true love that she was unwilling and unable to make a commitment to. Love of ideas--a weathered, beaten professor tells of his book that he can't quite finish...too many ideas, and he also tells of losing his job. There is the love of life---best shown in the ice skating scene with the angel, the Bishop's wife, and a cab driver. I've always loved this story. I watch it over and over again each year. In fact this year I plan to buy it from this site.

  • A classic

    • Sherry
    • 12/1/08

    "The Bishop's Wife" is a beautiful movie- a story of hope, love, and miracles. Cary Grant is so smooth,it is hard to keep your eyes of him. Niven play the the perfect adversary. You can feel the disdain hischaracter has for Grant's character. This movie is a must-see during the holiday season.

  • Christmas time is here!

    • Sarah
    • 11/30/08

    This classic holiday movie is right up there with It's a Wonder Life as one of my favorites! Carey Grant is charming as Dudley. Loretta Young is stunning. The Mitchell Boys Choir makes me cry...in a good way! Great to watch with the whole family.

  • The Bishop's Wife

    • Sue
    • 11/30/08

    I simply adore this movie. It is one of the best Christmas movies. The comedy is sweet.

  • THE BISHOP'S WIFE

    • Rita
    • 11/13/08

    This is one of my favorite movies. My sister, who is now deceased, and I would watch this movie every Christmas season, and I haven't watched it since she passed away in 2005 because it was rather a sad time for me. I must watch it this year.

  • LOVED IT!

    • Julie
    • 10/7/08

    What a great movie! I don't normally like Cary Grant movies so I wasn't expecting to like it. But in this movie he did a wonderful job with none of that annoying manner of speech that he so often used. Loretta Young was outstanding as well. A thoroughly engaging movie. I highly recommend it.

  • Seeing this film made me smile all day!

    • ilovecarygrant
    • 10/2/08

    I woke up this morning and was delighted to find this splendid movie playing on TCM. It put a smile on my face for the whole day. What a treat - I'd love to see it again as part of TCM's holiday programming!

  • This is a true gem.

    • marilyn
    • 9/6/08

    It is such a sweet and nostalgic movie. Cary Grant is divine and David Niven is just perfect. I love to watch it any chance I get. I agree it should be part of the Christmas line up on TCM.

  • Great Christmas film!

    • Laura
    • 12/13/07

    This is one of my favorite Christmas films to watch right after Thanksgiving. It's charming, funny, and delightful to watch.This is one classic film to have in one's library for a lifetime. Enjoy!

  • The perfect "human story" film

    • Susan Nelson
    • 12/1/07

    A wonderful Cary Grant performance, with a great cast. Who can forget the moment of transformation when "Mrs. Hamilton" experiences a change of heart? Gladys Cooper makes this little scene a gem!

  • Great movie

    • jb
    • 2/5/07

    This should be an annual presentation around Christmas, while it is not a Christmas movie persee it is very heart warming and takes place at Cristmas time.. p.s. A great cast as well... jb

  • Not bad for Easter too..

    • FrankieCee
    • 4/16/06

    I think this may have been one of Cary Grant's best roles. It's true that this is a heart-warming movie. It has the power to elicit feelings in you that you thought were long gone as well. You'll laugh and you'll cry but not from sadness, they will be tears of hope and joy. It gave me such a warm nostalgic feeling of days gone bye. Everyone was absolutely magnificent in this movie. This is one film you must own for your private collection. A true Holiday/Anyday classic.

  • Heart-Warming, Fun Movie

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/11/06

    This is one of the best Christmas movies. Cary Grant is outstanding in his angelic role. Note some cast members from "It's a Wonderful Life" in this film.

  • Cary Grant

    • Justine Lee
    • 12/20/05

    Is such a good actor in this movie

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.