skip navigation
The Bigamist

The Bigamist(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Bigamist A woman discovers her husband... MORE > $7.95 Regularly $11.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • ms. cavendish's contradiction

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/16/16

    Her review is entitled "It's Not Dullsville," yet she later writes that a film about lonely people cannot, by definition, be exciting. (This is a ridiculous assertion, by the way. Think "Rachel, Rachel" and "Marty.") So which is it, Suzy? Exciting or dull? Or both? If my bed is my least functional piece of furniture then the samde can be said for Ms. Cavendish's bookshelf.

  • response to Susanne Cavendish

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/16/16

    For a person who finds my reviews dull you certainly seem to be fixated upon them. Perhaps, in your case, dullness is contagious, since your reviews are certainly far from scintillating. When they're not aggressively incoherent, that is. I must admit that some of your ravings and accusations, like the charge of sexual impotence, are fairly diverting. Anyway, keep the vitriol coming, Suze. I love to respond.

  • Good movie, strange print

    • MKDO
    • 4/14/16

    A really good depiction of how an ordinary, good person can arrive at a major life crisis while meaning no harm to anyone. Strong performances and moving story, real-seeming at every turn. A very rare chance to see and hear Matt Dennis, a fine West Coast club singer/composer/pianist, in the O'Brien birthday scene. Odd that the print TCM is showing now (4/16) inserts at about 27:34 a later scene coming at about 1:09:26. At the earlier time the O'Brien/Lupino couple are shown leaving a park in light suit/cap-sleeve flared dress respectively and that scene dissolves into about four seconds of a later scene where they leave a park, this time he in a dark suit and she in a longer-sleeved dress. The later scene is intact and complete, only part of it is incorrectly spliced into the earlier park scene. In memory of Ida Lupino, who'd never have allowed such a gaffe in a finished film she directed, hope this can be corrected for future presentations.

  • It's not Dullsville

    • Susanne Cavendish
    • 4/9/16

    Allow me this, one shot at a very silly reviewer. It's not Dullsville, though reading his reviews are and put him, somewhere in Nowheresville. I liked the movie and Sellers, get a grip and try to remember when the movies you review were made, you know, try to understand culture, breadth, depth and meaning that doesn't always come from a book, TV or even movies. In other words, prepare to see one before you see it, then review it? Something else, leave your politics at home, under your bed where all gremlins hide, a bed being your least functional piece of furniture. The movie touches on how adoptions were initiated, the time spent in background checks, which was true during those times. How exciting can loneliness be, being away from a wife who seems to be focused on things the film allows the character to point out. It was the drabness of the three characters love lives that made the gambit of the husband so realistic, the story a revelation about how one man offered an alternative to loving, two women, at once. It was not just about bedroom love, but love that remains for the breakfast table. See this movie, it's well worth it.

  • Relationships Revealed In A Woman's Point Of View

    • DON RILEY
    • 4/7/16

    I personally like this movie a lot. It reveals a woman's point of view. The man is not seen as a sexual animal. A creature who is seeking sex first and love second (he is never in a hurry, or preoccupied with food, alcohol or success). He's seen as a loving gentleman who happens to fall in love with two women. It shows no understanding of how men (macho males of all sizes and shapes) truly think. I see it, as how women understand men, to be, a relationship. It also gently shows death in a family, birth, adoption, gentle attraction and relations. It also involves reactions and the pain of one woman losing her relationship to another, unbelief, total misunderstanding of situations (this happens every single day, women losing their men to another unexpectedly). This is a very subtle film which opens up the point of view of a woman. I could watch this more than once.

  • the bigamist

    • kevin sellers
    • 10/7/15

    If you're gonna make a movie about a man who is married to two gals at the same time, then you should try to make at least one of the marriages somewhat interesting. In other words, this film is pure dullsville, easily the worst one Lupino has directed. The only character I found even mildly diverting was Edmund Gwynn's meek, gentle adoption agency investigator. Wish he'd been in more of the movie. Even Ida Lupino the actress was a bit of a bore and that's even rarer than snow in L.A. (Speaking of L.A. there's some nice shots of the mid Wilshire district in the early 50s.) Let's give it a C minus. P.S. Wonder if this movie had its premiere in Salt Lake City.

  • Not impressed

    • el debbo
    • 12/8/13

    I like Ida, Joan, and Edmond and have enjoyed their performances in other vehicles. This movie seemed weak to me and it had the look of a late-fifties, early-sixties TV show. Ida Lupino was one of the owners of Four Star television productions, I think. Trite portrayal by both ladies of the very businesslike wife, who is of course, insensitive much of the time...and of the waitress, who forgives all and is ultra-dependent. Nauseatingly so. I understand the era, but found the storyline boring, that's all.

  • The Bigamist

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/22/12

    Lupino both stars & directs this haunting drama. O'Brien, Fontaine & Lupino each give compelling performances that's based on their individual misery, making them ready for the viewer's pity. The theme has some dated elements, but is still a first-rate, quick-paced story. A great film overall from Lupino's too-brief directing career. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • No Win For Edmund Obrien(1953)

    • nshepard
    • 6/21/12

    Caught in a dual relationship, spineless Harry Graham(Edmund O'Brien) balances two relationships from LA to San Francisco. The talented lovely, delicate and tempered Ida Lupino directs herself in this sensitive look at a man caught in a duplicitous relationship. Somewhat interesting Eve(Joan Fontaine) and Phyllis(Ida Lupino) are the bookends of O'Briens deceitful plans. Told in flashback to Mr. Jordan(Edmund Gwenn) whose role is to identify with the viewer and the moral conscience , it sort of works, along with the soft music score and violins. A chick flick if there ever was one. Give it a look see. 4 stars out of 5.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 11/13/10

    Um filme que rene duas atrizes maravilhosas como Joan Fontaine e Ida Lupino tinha que ser excelente. Grandes atuaes. Um clssico.

  • Re-working of A Scarlet Letter

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 10/22/09

    This great film is a reverse scenario of the classic story 'A Scarlet Letter.' Only this time, the man is the adulterer. Throughout most of the narrative, the women are naive sufferers but by the end, they seem to be able to overcome the husband's deception...perhaps it's helped them emerge stronger? Lupino and Fontaine give excellent performances and so does O'Brien, as the male in this triangle. And Edmund Gwenn provides fine support as the social worker who catches on to the husband's secret double life. Highly recommended!

  • A "Message" Movie

    • Sue McDonald
    • 5/29/09

    I am a fan of Ida Lupino and her work. Although this is definitely a "message movie," Lupino has left the message open to individual interpretation. I believe the message is that the U.S. social mores of the 1950s were unrealistic, repressive, and outmoded. These values encouraged deception by men and the dependence of women. Both women and men were victimized by the double standard of lifestyle freedom and sexual morality. I do have to say that I have seen better acting work by Ida Lupino than she did in this, but the role was not as good as most of her other roles. Because she did not succumb to society's attempt to suppress female creativity as much as many women did, she usually took meatier roles. It's kind of ironic that she cast herself in this one!

  • outstanding performance by a director

    • john turner
    • 9/27/07

    The most notable quality of The Bigamist is it's overall high quality. A low budget picture with first line production values, each of the cast members can justifiably be said to look as good here as they ever did. Lighting and photography are masterful; as is the beautifully nuanced makeup. Lupino's hand is evident in every frame and the quality of her vision fully realized. Edmund O'Briens sensitive performance is quite different from most of the hard bitten characters he was most famous for, while Lupino's Phyllis Martin is a wounded loner who emerges only tentatively, Till the very end the viewer is left guessing as to how it will all turn out; with director Lupino throwing some foreshadowing curves into the mix. Surprisingly truthful treatment , for the times, of an intriguing human dilemna.

  • good movie

    • stewart
    • 6/26/07

    I enjoyed this movie.Edmund O'Brien's acting of a man torn between his emotions was incredible.Watch this movie it moves along fast paced and is easy to follow.Matt Dennis, one of my favorite singers has a singing cameo that is worth the price of admission itself.

  • The Bigamist

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 6/26/07

    I like the movie the Bigamist because I am a fan of Edmond O' Brien, who is perfectly casted. I also like the unique storyline by not making the title character a villian. Ida Lupino did a great job directing. TCM has done a good job of showing appreciation for this woman.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.