skip navigation
The Big Heat

The Big Heat(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Big Heat A police detective whose wife... MORE > $65.99 Regularly $65.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Big Not-So-Hot

    • el debbo
    • 11/26/13

    I know I run the risk of hot coffee being flung by wrathful reviewers, but I was disappointed in this. Good storyline,good players. Cheezy sets... Glenn Ford's home looked like something from early TV. But most of all, I ask you, were the men getting it? Tortured, burned by cigarettes, strangled on a back road, mutilated by hot coffee? No.It was too much for me, and I shut it down halfway through. Much prefer the 1946 version of "Behind Green Lights" for a fast-noir story, everything important happens in one night... and for William Gargan and Carole Landis. It's a smart movie, with better production values, and no women are getting scarred or tortured.

  • The Wrath of GOD

    • Fred C. Wilson III
    • 11/1/12

    The recent TCM movie staring Robert Michum 'The Wrath of God' was one of the best movies I've ever seen! I event that TCM make this movie into a CD I'll be among the first to purchase it.

  • The Big Heat

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/30/12

    A tense, quick-paced, but dated film noir. The characters found in the genre are greatly brought to life; Ford as the dedicated cop in a crooked town, Grahame is unforgettable as the sultry woman & Marvin is terrifying as Grahame's menacing, thug boyfriend. The characters are both great & common stereotypes, but director Lang perfectly combines a tight script with excellent acting. Overall, this is a standout film that noir lover's should see. I give it a 4/5.

  • Sizzling

    • Rachel
    • 6/30/11

    Fantastic film! I hadn't heard of it before but I was not disappointed with this movie. The acting was great and it was full of suspense. It's another film noir gem!

  • The Big Heat (1953)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/23/10

    86/100. With Fritz Lang at the helm, you know it is going to be a great movie. He excels at film-noir. Glenn Ford gives a wonderfully low key performance, but it is Gloria Grahame that gives the best performance in the film, she is unforgettable. Lee Marvin is memorable in a supporting role, as is a very young and blonde Carolyn Jones. The screenplay is compelling, sassy and fast paced, the cinematography is stylish and superbly done. The use of light is remarkable. The greatediting fuels the fast pace, and it has an excellent score thatenhances the film. It is just a marvelous film all around and it works on every level. One of the best film-noir movies.

  • I agree

    • dwillia3
    • 8/14/09

    I totally agree with you Suzanneexcellent movie. My first time seeing it.definately not a 2 star.this is 5 star material.I agree someone highlighted their ignorance of movie classics by rating it 2 stars.Fire the person

  • why two stars?

    • suzanne oneill
    • 8/13/09

    because whoever rated this film noir classic w/ two measly stars is an idiot who's never seen "the big heat" or a complete idiot who saw "the big heat" and STILL insulted it with two stars. i hope lee marvin's ghost visits him or her with a fresh pot of piping hot spectral coffee. they pulled this two-star nonsense on time warner cable as well, and it's been bothering me all day. i suppose i should get a life sometime soon.but before i do, let's fling that coffee pot!

  • The Big Heat-Hot Film Noir

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/9/09

    I have seen "The Big Heat" several times and think it's one of the best film noirs from the 50's and one of the best films from director Fritz Lang. It has a great cast and a powerful story about a cop (Glenn Ford) out to find his wife's killer, protecting the ex-gun moll who helps him, and at the same time fighting the mob and police corruption. My favorite scene has to be when Gloria Graehme catches the pot of hot coffee in the face from Lee Marvin. It could have been worse; it could have been acid instead of coffee!

  • Something's very, very wrong

    • Greg Samsa
    • 6/8/09

    I just finished watching "The Big Heat" for the umpteenth time - a wonderful, wonderful film. So can somone explain to me why on Dish Network the synopsis includes a -- believe it or not -- two-star rating? Unbelievably ridiculous.

  • Glen Ford

    • maria
    • 8/9/07

    The movie "The Big Heat" and "Convicted Women" Its a true treat for me . I love Glen Ford ---- Icon !

  • Top Notch Crime Film

    • Bruce Reber
    • 5/2/07

    "The Big Heat" has to be the best crime film from Fritz Lang. Gangsters, tough cops and both beautiful and devious women combine for a hard-hitting and suspenseful crime story.Anyone who doesn't particularly like this type of film should see "The Big Heat". I guarantee they will be hooked forever!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.