skip navigation
The Big Fisherman

The Big Fisherman(1959)

  • Tuesday, December 23 @ 03:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, February 18 @ 07:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Big Fisherma... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • time for a restoration

    • Bill
    • 4/20/14

    if UCLA's print of this is complete--not the cut-down version--its time for a restoration. You've spoiled us TCM with nice clean prints and sharp images and well-defined color. Surely, somewhere, there is a complete print of this relatively modern movie--and with TCM's influence on the movie nuts (myself included)--this could become a true holiday classic--much as TCM has brought some forgotten films back into the public eye as Christmas classics.......Someone find that complete print!

  • Last of the LA Area Costume Epics

    • Daren Kelly
    • 4/14/14

    I knew four people who played in this Epic---the last Big Budget costume epic to be filmed in and around the populace LA county. Tom Troupe, Marian Seldes, Alex Scourby and Ray Stricklyn were all acquaintances of mine at one time or another. They all had stories to tell about Rowland V Lee, a Hollywood producer who after 'accepting Jesus as his Savior' underwrote this production, and filmed most of it on his ranch in the San Fernando Valley. Other locations were the Salton Sea and the desert area around it. It was one of the few films shot in Technerama, a 70mm wide screen process. The cast was lead by the non-singing Howard Keel as St Peter.Unfortunately it was released the same year as Wyler's Ben Hur. It had a strong cast, including Herbert Lom and John Saxon, but it lacked the intimate family aspect that Ben Hur had, as well as the suspense that Wyler was able to whip up with his sea battles and the monumental chariot race. And the voice of Jesus was spoken by a voice actor who must have done game shows, or Hallmark card commercials--totally wrong tone for this saga..

  • The Big Fisherman -Howard Keel -1959

    • Helene Meikle
    • 1/30/14

    This movie is very well done and we like it very much ! Love, all bliblical pictures, and this one is one of our favorite movies! We saw the Big Fisherman w/ Howard Keel on Christmas morning ( 2013 ). Would like to purchase it on DVD or VHS....Please have it to buy on TCM and make available to the public. Thank you and Godbless everyone. " It is a 5 Star rating...all the way "! Let us know if it comes up for SALE !

  • Very interesting

    • Kristi
    • 1/18/14

    Peter's attitude cracked me up. I liked the telling of this story and Howard Keel is always tops. This particular telling of this story will keep the interest of nieces and nephews and will bring and interesting point of view to my bible study class. No one has quite captured the essence or quality of the performance given by Howard Keel and I am going to have fun translating his interpretation Peter's state of mind.

  • disappointed

    • Alice
    • 12/26/13

    I was so looking forward to watching this film on the life of the Apostle, Peter. I read beforehand the movie was based on a novel. However, I hoped the story would more closely depict the man and his life as a follower of Christ. Are there any films you can show that more closely depict the lives, not only of Peter, but, Paul, David, Ruth, or Esther? Those of us especially, who are followers of Christ, as well as others, might enjoy those types of bios. Thank you.

  • Not the full version

    • Gary
    • 6/5/13

    This is not a review but I did want to mention that the version shown on TCM was not three hours as stated. It ran only two hours and thirty seven minutes. This was the cut version which showed at theaters following the film's original roadshow release.

  • The Big Fisherman

    • Bruce Reber
    • 5/20/13

    When I got home from work Thursday night 5/16/13 I turned on my TV (always tuned to TCM) and saw a movie playing. I'd never seen it before, so I checked my listing and saw that the title was "The Big Fisherman" (1959), starring Howard Keel (known for all those musicals he did at MGM), the story of Simon Peter and his conversion from a common fisherman to the first apostle of Jesus Christ. I've seen most of the other grand Biblical epics (i.e. "Samson & Delilah" (1949), "The Robe" (1953), "The Ten Commandments" (1956), "Ben Hur" (1959) and "King of Kings" (1961), but I don't know why I've never seen "The Big Fisherman". I watched it all the way through, and it compares favorably with the films I mentioned. There were one or two things wrong though; it looked very fuzzy and scratchy and was shown in pan/scan instead of widescreen. When it airs on TCM again I hope I'll see a better looking print in widescreen. This should be shown at both Christmas and Easter. TBF is a compelling story of the man of whom Jesus said "The rock upon which I will build my church".

  • The Big Fisherman

    • David J Cunningham
    • 5/19/13

    I own the book but want a copy of this movie. Book is awesome!! Peter struggles with some of the same things we struggle with. I love God. I will pay 7 times what the movie is worth. Please sell me a copy. Thank you TCM for airing this movie. When will it be on again? I missed the first hour and a half!!

  • What Gives???

    • Jimmy
    • 5/18/13

    When I read this was going to be shown I was excited that another Biblical epic was scheduled. What a disappointment! TCM is the advocate of showing wide screen movies in the way they are intended to be shown. What we got to see was a fuzzy pan and scan version. Come on TCM, your loyal fans expect better.

  • Long-awaited movie

    • Bill Black
    • 5/16/13

    This movie with Howard Keel first came out in 1959. The book was written by Llloyd Douglas, who wrote The Robe. It may not be a classic, but it was well done. Is it available for purchase?

  • Crushed By Ben Hur

    • Jake Spivins
    • 2/8/08

    Based on a book written by Lloyd Douglas (The Robe)Producer Rowland V Lee is supposed to have been inspired to produce this film as a result of his accepting Christ into his life. At great personal expense, Lee produced most of this Tale of St Peter (non-singing Howard Keel)on his own ranch in the North East portion of San Fernando Valley, California (with some additional scenes shot around the Salton Sea. Unfortunately all Lee's efforts were simply obliterated when Willim Wyler released his Ben Hur to qualify for the 1959 Oscars.Fisherman might have the same broad scope of Ben, but it lacks the depth, intimacy and suspense of Ben-Hur

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.