skip navigation
The Best of Everything

The Best of Everything(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Best of Everything Three secretaries look for... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • the best of everything

    • nancy
    • 2/11/14

    I just love this movie. I first saw this movie when I was just a kid. my mother was watching it. she has since pass last year but she loved the movies. but I fell in love with Stephen boyd. I thought he was very good looking and I also like the time frame of the movie. the late 50's things seem very young and innocent.

  • Yes many cliches but they all exist

    • Tcbmom
    • 2/1/14

    This movie has been called full of cliches. Well, guess what. Try working in a large secretarial pool and you WILL have the "demanding queen bee" whose job is her life. You will have lecherous older bosses. You will have naive working girls. You will have girls who cannot exist without a man. You will have callous playboys. Plus much more. You will have drama for sure whether it is law, publishing, real estate, etc. And this is 2014 yet.

  • The Best of Everything

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 2/12/12

    This film is not that different then any of today's films that appeal to a mostly female audience. Crawford over-shadows an impressive cast including, Lange, Boyd, Aherene, Hyer & Jourdan. This film is too heavily flooded with cliche's found in women's pictures, which turned me off at some points. It has it's flaws, but it's still a nice film to pass the time. I give it a 3/5.

  • Meh!

    • RedRain
    • 2/11/12

    Watching Suzy Parker, Hope Lange or Martha Hyer isn't a bad way to spend an afternoon but this film is pure schlock! It's SO formulaic and you know what is going to happen to each gal before it does. It's trash!

  • Soapy, but fun

    • Alan Miller
    • 2/9/12

    Lush film, great cast and moving theme by Mathis at his peak. Met Hope Lange several years later in New York researching a piece on Montgomery Clift. A wonderful lady whose scene in "The Young Lions" when he's walking her home is just right. Boyd is indeed the perfect leading man as is Jordan as the cold-blooded lover. Don't miss Robert Evans as the snake who dumps April.

  • Anorexics Unite!

    • el debbo
    • 2/2/12

    Look at this room full of secretaries at the start of the movie and note the 16-inch waistlines. Check out skeletal Suzy Parker as she gives her resignation to Joan Crawford. Yikes! Other than that observation, this is a kinda splendid movie. I love love love the Johnny Mathis intro song...it's perfect. And I love the multi-dimensions that these characters actually have. When I saw their stick figures I didn't really expect it. I think Hope Lange was kind of a clone for Grace Kelly, but so much cooler without the depth. All in all an enjoyable slice of late '50s life.

  • A Great Studio Picture

    • David Atkins
    • 9/28/11

    I titled my review A Great Studio Picture because it was an in house 20th Century Fox Production filmed at 20th and cast with many at the time young players such as Stephen Boyd, Hope Lange, Diane Baker, Brett Halsey all of whom were 20th contract players. My complaint about films today is that many are "over produced" with sci fi effects, et al, and this film explores the lives of lovely career women on their way to find life and love in NY. Joan Crawford ever the star commands ever scene Crawford appears in, I don't think anyone ever stole a scene from Joan Crawford. Ever. Hope Lange, Diane Baker and beautiful Suzy Parker are wonderful in this movie and Stephen Boyd for one was the Perfect Leading Man. As was Brett Halsey.

  • Great Film!

    • MSusi
    • 9/6/10

    Fun, fun, fun. A good watch!

  • The Best of Everything!

    • Patti
    • 9/6/10

    I love this movie. It's a real stunner. Mad Men seems like a wannabe of this movie. This movie captures the era because they are in it. I love the music, I love the look, I love the story, I Love New York! The city of New York is also a character and it adds to the all around glamour of the story!

  • Slick and sleek, like the cars of this era.

    • DougieB
    • 4/6/09

    The retro ambience that TV's "Mad Men" is going for? This movie is the real deal. The office decor, the costuming, the cars...Everything here makes for a perfect time capsule of that moment in history when the 1950's were poised to turn into the 1960's. And the color scheme isn't the only thing vibrating; this (mostly) fresh, young cast is really humming too. They hit the ground running, which is good, because there's lots of territory to cover here. What with a lecherous boss, a demanding editor, a sulky playwright, a conniving boyfriend, an unhinged actress and on and on, there's lots to contend with. Diane Baker and Hope Lange were two of the best ingenue types of that day, so it's a pleasure to have them both on board. The one who should have been scuttled is Suzy Parker, one of the most puzzling screen presences in movie history. Today, a superstar model would be a natural for reality TV, but I suppose back then movies seemed like the only way to go. She didn't have any dialogue in "Funny Face", so maybe nobody realized what they were in for until the contracts were signed. The fact that she couldn't act, coupled with the necessity of a fairly intricate emotional workout for her character, leads to the one unintentional train wreck in the film. The rest of the train wrecks are well-choreographed and go off like clockwork. It's a super-slick soap opera, one of the best ever.

  • The Best Of Everything

    • Pat
    • 3/5/08

    Great character study and a stunning cast. Louis Jordan plays a real heel. Joan Crawford is an employee's nightmare with a sharp tongue. Hope Lang is just beautiful, this is a great role for her. Diane Baker is the typical innocent girl who comes to the big city. Suzy Parker shows you what not to do with a man. Stephen Boyd is great in his role of the man walking around with painful memories and tries to drown them with alcohol until he meets Caroline (Hope Lang). Robert Evans in a great playboy role, I hear he's really a nice guy. Great shots of the city of NY. I saw this movie before I visited the city. The movie has a great sound track and the title song, The Best Of Everything is sung by the very talented Johnny Mathis. Oh, I also wrote and corresponded with Hope Lang for a short period, she said she had fond memories of making this movie.

  • The Best of Everything

    • Debbi
    • 7/20/06

    Joan Crawford and Louis Jordan are listed as the stars, but have small supporting roles in this film. Hope Lange (Caroline) plays the main character, a woman who has been jilted by her boyfriend and becomes obsessed in advancing her career. Along the way she meets Mike (Steven Boyd), who tells her she would be better off getting married than attempting to get Dorothy's (Joan Crawford)job as editor. She makes friends with two girls, one who wants to be an actress and stalks David Savage (Louis Jordan) and another girl who becomes pregnant. I rate this movie 1 1/2 stars.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.