skip navigation
Bell, Book and Candle

Bell, Book and Candle(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Bell, Book and... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Wonderful Stewart is woefully miscast

    • Jeff Boston
    • 12/3/13

    Stewart and Novak moved from the critically acclaimed "Vertigo" to this comedically lame "Well, Look, a Shambles." I have always been a big Jimmy Stewart fan, a patriot who served his country, a great actor, and as good a man as the characters he played on screen (rare in Hollywood history). However, I could see why this was the last movie in which he played a romantic lead - and what better way to end that part of his career than with Kim Novak (so bewitching). Best line: The Zodiac club "seemed more like Halloween than Christmas."

  • Jimmy playing Jimmy Again

    • Roger Lee
    • 3/6/13

    I always liked this movie, although i always thought That Jimmy Stewart was mis-cast.It's like he's Mr. Hobbs. Jimmy playing Jimmy again.

  • Wonderful movie

    • Chris Wilson
    • 2/27/13

    I love this movie! So much better a romance than we ever see today. Kim Novak is amazing with her wardrobe, her acting, and her humming. Perfect. Pyewacket gets best supporting actor!

  • Gorgeous Novak!

    • RedRain
    • 2/23/13

    When Kim Novak, in a beautiful black velvet dress, drapes herself across the top of a sofa while trying to seduce Jimmy Stewart, you simply cannot be more alluring than that! Kim Novak was made to perform this role. She is beautiful, wistful, sexy and magical throughout the film. Her voice is so soft that it beckons you to listen and fall in love with her, just as Jimmy Stewart does. The supporting cast, the incredible Elsa Lanchester and the great Jack Lemmon, as well as the very funny Ernie Kovacs, all are outstanding. This entire film is a must-see!

  • Lots of fun

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/23/13

    This has always been one of my favorite movies. Kim Novak is as beautiful today as she was then. She is a terrific actress and I enjoy all her movies. Jimmy Stewart seems to have a great deal of fun with this character and is so enjoyable to watch. Everything considered, this is a fun film with some wonderful actors.

  • Inspiration for Bewitched

    • Dan
    • 6/26/11

    Bell, Book, and Candle is a fun, entertaining movie, and with a great cast. I think it must have been the inspiration for TV's Bewitched, with the fetching blonde witch, her hapless male counterpart who everyone thinks is a bit touched, and the odd assortment of family witch counterparts. Maybe the elements are cliche to witch stories, but I do think this movie inspired the series.

  • Bell Book and Candle

    • Bruce
    • 6/26/11

    A delightful, entertaining flick with something not mastered in today's world of film - an all star cast. I think Jack Lemmon almost steals the show. Had he been given more linesand scenes, I feel it would. Kim Novack and Jimmy Stewart do a great job kindling theirromance - navigating the fringes of such. Elsa Lanchester gives a performance of whichshe is noted for doing. Ernie Kovacks lends a generous dose theatrical style. This is a very worthwhile film to sit back and watch with interest. Thanks TCM! Good stuff.

  • Entertaining!

    • Ruth
    • 6/26/11

    Very delightful movie. And yes, it reminds you of Bewitched!

  • Bell, Book and Candle

    • Lynn Russman
    • 5/20/11

    Entrancing classic enhancing the magic of romance with some of my best-loved actors/actresses who keep me charmed throughout and long after every time I have the pleasure of viewing this wonderful movie!

  • Bell, Book

    • Lynn Russman
    • 5/20/11

    Entrancing classic enhancing the magic of romance with some of my best-loved actors/actresses who keep me charmed throughout and long after every time I have the pleasure of viewing this wonderful movie!

  • Magical Musical Score

    • Jack T.
    • 5/3/11

    As others have said, there's something about this movie that is a little magical. For me, it has to do with the late 50s, New York, Christmas Eve, and snow. But listen to the background music. The score by George Duning is a real beauty. Very 50s type cool jazz but also very lush and romantic when needed. The music (esp. Pyewacket's theme) really lends a fairy tale aura to the film and in turn, is, I believe, a very large part of the mystique of the movie. Everyone is perfectly cast (these were the days when most stars and actors were cast according to type and while today's audiences don't necessarily hold with that notion, it certainly worked for most of these classic films) and the cinematography is wonderfully evocative of the "modern", hipster 50s. A Columbia Pictures treasure that my wife and I enjoy repeatedly.

  • Bell, Book and Candle

    • Roger Guier
    • 4/17/11

    I have always thought of this movie as being one of the last fils shot almost exclusively on a sound stage. Those were the days! The overall feel of the film is so comfortable to me. Kim Novak--can it get any cooler than her? And Elsa Lanchester is, as usual, just so strange, but wonderful. And even Janis Rule, as the ex you love to hate, is so good in this film. Without question, this is one of my top three favorite films.I can watch it over and over and over.

  • Bell, Book and Candle (1958)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 10/25/10

    Lovely movie. Shows New york of the late 1950's at its best. I especially like the scenes in the Zodiak Club and the scene where James Stewart and KIm Novak share their first kiss; very sensual.

  • Wonderful Acting

    • Rick
    • 8/25/10

    This film is typical Jimmy Stewart. His facial expressions are priceless. When he goes to the elder witch to break the spell and he has to drink some sort of remedy liquid-that is just wonderfully acted out.I loved the movie.

  • Definitely one of my favorites

    • Paul
    • 5/23/10

    Always mesmerized by actress Kim NovaK, I loved her allure and simmering sexiness in this romantic story. The evening I watched this as a teen was the first Christmas Eve that I was allowed to stay up while my mother cooked and finished with the presents....a right of passage into adulthood.Anyway, the movie took me on a trip and I thoroughly enjoyed all the performances from the most excellent cast and the storyline being about the mystery of witchcraft. Always a Stewart fan I love his bumbling parts in performance, the kooky Lemmon performance and Elsa Lancaster is perfect. The feel of this movie released at Christmas with winter in the background leaves remarkable impressions in my mind.Somehow, this one came together for me. It holds a special place in my movie going heart and always will.

  • Witchy chemistry between Kim Novak & Jimmy Stewart

    • Mimi Stratton
    • 1/23/10

    When I had this movie on tape, I wore it out. Love the scene where Jack Lemmon turns all the street lights green. And when Jimmy Stewart has to drink some nasty anti-love potion brewed up by Hermione Gingold, and his lips struggle to meet the rim of the cup. Kim Novak here at her most glamorous and sexy.

  • what a classic

    • dawn sharpe
    • 9/8/09

    One of my all time favorites actors is James Stewart. I love to see him in a role like this, because it just shows the GREAT actor that he is and always was, and always will be for fans of all ages. Ms. Novac is equally wonderful, as was Jack lemon,Elsa Lanchester, and Ernie Kovacs.When you put this kind of tallent together...Well, you know it just has to be GREAT.

  • Fabulous Elsa Lanchester

    • Russellroz
    • 1/28/09

    My 2 favorite actors in the movie who stole the show are Elsa Lanchester and Ernie Kovacs. Jimmy Stewart was good but he did look TOO old for Novak. More accurate a match with 'Queenie.'Elsa's voice is so unique and interesting to see her as a main character with lots of dialogue. If you've only seen her in the bit pieces in 'bishop's wife' son of fury' and 'Witness for the Prosecution' you'll love seeing her here in color.Look for the colors in the scenes, like the yellow in the flower shop scene finale.

  • Another Late-50's Classic!

    • Patricia
    • 1/3/09

    "Bell, Book & Candle" has a lot to recommend it: an outstanding lead and supporting cast, a clever script, and a plot with amusing occult twists and turns. I particularly like that it's set in New York in the late 1950's and has an element of the "beatnik" scene that was going on there then. Though I think Jimmy Stewart and Kim Novak are excellent as the leads, the supporting cast is outright phenomenal: Jack Lemmon, Ernie Kovacs, Elsa Lanchester and Janice Rule.

  • Great Romantic Film

    • Evan
    • 5/27/08

    If someone would have told me that Bell, Book, and Candle would become one of my favorite films, I would have called them crazy, yet it has. Jimmy Stewart and Kim Novak turn it great performances, while Jack Lemmon is as usual a scene stealer. The solid performance work well with the imaginative storyline creating a classic film.

  • A virtual tour to witchcraft and romance

    • Kathleen
    • 3/4/06

    A humorously directed movie. Kim Novak is beautiful and vunerable in this witchy tale of romance. Jimmy Stewart is charming and Jack Lemmon is a riot along with Ernie Kovaks. I also love Elsa Lanchester. They all give wonderful performances. The clothes the women woreback then are great. The scenes in the nightclub are are intoxicating, I would recommend this movie to all who are fans of Jimmy Stewart. Also to anyone who has any type of fascination with the occult. It is a movie for old and young alike.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.