skip navigation
Beau Geste

Beau Geste(1966)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Beau Geste - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • BEAU GESTE 1966

    • Dan
    • 3/27/13

    Love this movie. I have been waiting forever to get this on DVD. Good cast and Telly is great as the sadistic Sgt. Major Dagineau. I watched this at a young age and could not figure out where it went all these years. I am in total agreement with the other reviewers, lets get this on T.C.M so we can watch it again, then on to DVD release.

  • I agree

    • Pat
    • 3/8/13

    I must agree with many of the previous posts - this movie is one of the best action - war movies of the mid-1960's. It is not very faithful to the orginial novel - which I have read - and it does not have quite the stellar cast of the 1939 version, but the battles scenes are incredible and the color and spectacle of the film are fantastic. I saw this several times as a mid-teenager on television in the early 1980's and was immediately hooked on all things Foreign Legion. This version is flawed, but it may be the most exciting version of the novel ever filmed.

  • Beau Geste 1966

    • Tom
    • 3/15/12

    I have watched the Gary Copper "Classic", the 1966 version as well as half a dozen other versions - the 1966 is the CLASSIC - hands down - bar none - this is an incredible movie that should not die in some vault due to neglect. It did the book full justice on the big screen.

  • Beau...Beau Geste

    • mark marcon
    • 3/7/12

    We need a DVD release of this film!!!!Agree with other reviewers that it is a tremendous remake. I met Telly Savalas at "Telly's" bar in Universal City in LA many years ago and he said it was one of his favorite roles.DVD please!

  • Beau Geste 1966

    • Frederick
    • 9/24/11

    I think if Universal could be prevailed upon to restore this film, the sound track, the missing pieces that ended up on the cutting room floor, there might be a pretty good interest from a wide range of possible purchasers.I recall an individual campaigned for a studio to release the 1980s miniseries "Once An Eagle" and after a long time of non-availability, it was finally released after 25 years !!! I guess it all depends on how many people clamor for action. I would certainly love to re-see this again. I see from other comments that it has made its way to some television stations. But, it makes me wonder where the original print came from, what station showed the film, where they got it from. I vote for a feasability study by Universal to pursue a restoration.

  • Beau Geste

    • james latti
    • 5/19/10

    I saw this movie when I was a kid in the 70's and loved it.I have not seen it since and have found out it is not available on video. Ihope turner classic movies will play it so i can see it again.If anyone discovers it on video i would love to hear about it.

  • A Great Film!

    • Richard
    • 9/14/09

    PLease get this film!!!! I saw it on a show called Adventure Theater in like 1979. I was a little boy and loved it! I have never seen it since. It was great!!!!So many films are shown over and over again! Can we see a new old classic? Thanks.

  • Beau Geste (1966)

    • Bruce Restau
    • 5/2/09

    I saw this movie as a 15 yr. old kid when it came out in 1966 and absolutely LOVED it. I have wanted very much to get it on VCR or DVD now for years, but it is my understanding that for some reason this movie was put on something called moritorium. I actually saw it on TV a number of years ago, probably the laye '90's, on a classic movie channel that is no longer in existance and was able to tape it, but then my tape got taped over accidently by my wife and I have not seen the movie on TV since then. Personally...I like this version better than the 1939 Gary Cooper version with respect to the overall action, and even the story, despite that it differs from the book and the 1939 movie.

  • want a dvd of Beau Geste

    • Harold Ruiz
    • 10/25/08

    I saw this movie as a child and always wanted to see it again. I am totally surprised that with such a brilliant cast that this movie is not out on DVD. It is a whole lot better than the one with Gary Cooper.

  • 1966 Beau Geste - A very good action film

    • George Ehlers
    • 7/18/08

    I have difficulty understanding why the 1966 version of Beau Geste has all but disappeared. It is a very good action film that held the viewer's interest throughout. Telly Savalas' performance as the villainous, manipulative, and possibly mad Sergeant Major Dagineau is one that the viewer would not soon forget. A listing of the players in this film would read as a who's who of fine character actors of the mid-1960's. The 1966 version of Beau Geste does not adhere too closely to the 1939 version and this is not a bad thing. Hopefully this film will soon be released on DVD.

  • 1966 Beau Geste better than earlier

    • Glen Millott
    • 4/16/08

    I loved this version of Beau Geste a lot more than the Gary Cooper version. Savalas was excellent as Dagineau and in the closing moments of the movie you have an indepth understanding of him. The action sequences were well done and was a very entertaining movie. I would definitely put it on a must watch if you were to show the movie. I have done extensive searches to try to find this on DVD or VHS and I am very sad it is unavailable.

  • I agree with Joe Sullens' review.

    • Mark A. Lee
    • 11/16/07

    I saw this film once on commercial broadcast television and thought it was pretty good. I know another film buff who agrees.

  • 1966 Beau Geste

    • Joe Sullens
    • 4/8/07

    I only recall seeing this movie two or three times. I was struck by the story line and still remember the ending as if I'd seen it only yesterday.I thought Telly Savalas' portrayal of the brutal and sadistic Sergeant Major Dagineau was excellent. I also feel Doug McClure (I remember him as Trampas from "The Virginian" TV series) was very memorable. I feel this movie has been underrated and rate it as "worth watching". Please let me know when you are going to air this piece of classic film.Sincerely,Joseph W. Sullens

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.