skip navigation
The Bashful Elephant

The Bashful Elephant(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Bashful Elephant

    • vicki kopinski
    • 9/6/17

    Although I have never seen this movie, I would definitely buy it in a second. I love Irish Wolfhounds and would be very happy if this movie was made available to the public. At the very least show it on your channel!

  • please make this available on dvd

    • brian
    • 8/13/17

    certainly something to watch and something that really needs to be available on dvd

  • Please make this movie available

    • Donna Kachinskas
    • 4/27/14

    Please make this movie available

  • Please, Please, Please make available for purchase

    • Marie Pellerin
    • 4/23/13

    Read many reviews and would love to purchase this movie. Cannot find it anywhere. The Irish Wolfhound is becoming an increasingly popular breed and many of us would love to see them staring in movies. Again, please make available for purchase.

  • My Childhood

    • Melissa
    • 3/29/13

    I am only young, but Nanna recorded this film off the televison and we watched it all the time the recording has since been lost. I would buy this movie!!

  • The Bashful Elephant

    • Angela Murrell
    • 3/25/12

    This movie is a paet of history and should be made available to the public. It has a wonderful cast and the story is wonderful also. It would be a shame to lose it along with other films that are wasting away and not being preserved either on film or DVD.

  • Please make available to purchase!

    • Turi
    • 2/21/12

    Would love to purchase this movie on DVD or Blu-ray!

  • A Magical Movie

    • Jim
    • 1/17/12

    Thinking we were going to see another elephant cartoon, I saw this movie with my family at the Fox Theatre in Hackensack, New Jersey in 1962 or '63. Mom and Dad had some explaining to do with my brother and me about political imprisonment and concentration camps. I have never forgotten the magical effect the movie had on me at the time and have thought of it often. I have occasionally googled the title over the years and...Voila! I am pleased to know that others have the same fond memories. It was with deep regret and sadness that I learned recently that the young actress, Mollie Dorrell Mcgowan (Molly Mack) died in 1965 at 18 years old. (See bio on IMdb). Precious little information is available about this young woman or her incredibly talented and family-values oriented relatives. Any help out there? Drop me a note at lefty541@juno.com. Somebody has an excellent short clip on u-tube from another Mcgowan masterpiece titled Snowfire of a really special conversation between Mollie and her screen Dad. Captivating! I vote to get this one out soon!

  • Bashful Elephant

    • Jan DeFelicis
    • 5/30/11

    My husband and I saw this movie when I was expecting our third child in 1963. My husband fell in love with Tristy in the movie and said if we had a little girl he would like to named her Tristy. We had a girl named her Tristy. I have told her the story of the movie. She told me today 2011 she would like to see the movie. Can I buy a tape or DVD? If so would you let me know by e-mail how to do so. Thank you,Jan DeFelicis

  • Request to buy this movie

    • Jerry Thomas Scott
    • 2/25/07

    I was in Salzburg, Aust. when this film was being shot. I met Dorrel Mcgowan, his daughters Molly and Meloney. It was a cute family film and I would like to have a copy of it. Please tell how I can get a copy of it. Thanks Jerry

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.