skip navigation
The Barretts of Wimpole Street

The Barretts of Wimpole Street(1957)

Contribute

FOR The Barretts of Wimpole Street (1957) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Barretts of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Best

    • S,Wenz
    • 9/24/14

    I love this movie, I have the 1934 copy with Norma Shear and would so love the have the 1957 copy. Please release it. Everyone should see what a real movie is .

  • A Bill Travers fan.

    • Mary
    • 6/2/13

    This movie was shown here sometime ago unfortunately I missed the start of it and it was really good. I am a fan of Bill Travers who was very popular in the 50's and have managed to collect some of his movies. But alas this one please someone release this on DVD soon.

  • Wished For

    • Barb
    • 6/16/12

    I heard of this movie from someone who was watching it in the a recovery room and didn't get to finish it. Please show this movie again soon so we may both enjoy the whole thing!

  • THE BARRETTS OF WIMPLE STREET

    • Dorthy
    • 6/7/12

    A LOVELY AND MOVING MOVIE. I MISSED A PORTION OF IT AND WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT IN ITS ENTIRETY. PLEASE RESCHEDULE TO BE RUN ASAP. ALSO WOULD LIKE TO ADD TO MY TAPE LIBRARY. I RATE IT AS A TEN (10).PLEASE MAKE INTO A DVD.

  • show on tv

    • Sandra
    • 7/12/09

    This is a classic movie and why it has not been shown on tcm, I do not know. I would love to have this on DVD.

  • Very Intriguing Cinemascope Remake

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 1/30/09

    I'm sure this version is ok. I do like Sir John Gielgud. But I think I'd prefer the 1934 version with Norma Shearer, Fredric March, and Charles Laughton. Athough, I've never seen this color version before and I wouldn't mind giving it a chance.

  • Desperate to see on DVD

    • Carol Eller
    • 10/5/08

    How many votes is it going to take to get this gem of a movie on DVD?

  • love to see it again

    • paula
    • 1/5/08

    this morning my daughter,jamine,and I watched it.I've seen it before but, jamine hadn't. It was love at first sight. I hope it comes on again.

  • Barretts of Wimpole Street

    • Teddy
    • 1/4/08

    Could you please show this again soon, along with Devotion and let me know ahead of time so that I might watch them.When you play these during work days I don't get to see them and not having the time in front of me I did not record them.I am very sorry I missed them.

  • Movie With Impact...Read On

    • BJ Martin
    • 8/7/07

    I saw this movie back in the 70's while vacationing at my sisters. It had such an impact on me that I read the book, read everything I could find written by Elizabeth Barrett Browning and Robert Browning, and did my English Literature term papers on the book (The Barretts Of Wimpole Street)and their (The Brownings) works. Thirty some odd years later, I'm still reading their works and would love it if someone would release this movie on video/dvd. PLEASE!!!!

  • I love this movie!!

    • DANNY
    • 7/19/06

    I have seen this movie only once, and that was in the 90's and I try to look for it everytime I go online. I have never read the story,and I have seen the 1930's version. But I like the 1950's version better, I actually paid attention to the movie and it made me want to read the book. This is a family movie that I'm sure almost everyone would enjoy.

  • Checking Weekly For This One

    • Susie Torres
    • 7/16/06

    First thing every Sunday morning, I check the TV movie listings for the week to see if this version will be playing, after catching part of it one late, late night and have been wanting ever since to see the entire film. No luck yet and it is not available in any form.

  • Jennifer Jones in The Barretts of Wimpole St

    • Marjory Grieser
    • 1/30/06

    Jones is absolutely believable as Elizabeth, Bill Travers, a dynamic Robert Browning, exactly as I would have pictured him from his poetry. Gielgud excellent and almost frightening as the possessive Victorian father. Susan Hampshire, as a younger, beautiful. A wonderfully done period piece of a real-life love story.Please bring it out for home DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.