skip navigation
The Barretts of Wimpole Street

The Barretts of Wimpole Street(1934)

Contribute

FOR The Barretts of Wimpole Street (1934) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Barretts of Wimpole Street An invalid poetess defies her... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

    • 2/21/14

  • SEE NAPLES AND LIVE!

    • Keith Brown
    • 6/25/13

    GREAT FILM WITH A GREAT CAST! Shearer and March had the romantic idealism needed to be believable poets and Laughton added to his 1930'S gallery of villains-his expression that Elizabeth had escaped (he felt deserted) was priceless My favorite scenes involve Flush's reaction to Mr Barrett's presence by hiding in his basket. The other scene is when Elizabeth tries to climb the stairs and her father keeps saying, "You are not going to make it!" But she tries anyway, even though the stairs seem like a mountain and Robert is trying to give her the mental support then physical support-Mr Barrett's wickedness in forcing Elizabeth to be dependent on him as he elbows Robert out of the way-and carry Elizabeth the rest of the way up the stairs Great scene that showed Elizabeth was gaining the strength to free herself from her entrapment of too much parental devotionAs the others stated why is this not on dvd-also the other Shearer-March-Leslie Howard classic SMILIN' THROUGH is not on dvd either...WHY NOT?

  • Wonderful and underrated movie

    • Lea
    • 9/2/12

    This is such a wonderful movie. I always enjoy watching it. Not just because of the great story but also because of the absolutely magnificent performances of all the actors, but first and foremost Norma Shearer. I don't think there were/are many actresses who could deliver such a wonderful, subtle and deep performance. I just wished it was available on DVD. I would buy the movie in an instant.

  • Wonderful

    • THarold
    • 5/30/12

    Have always wanted to see this version (the original), but always missed it. It was so worth it getting up at 5 am to view! So much better than the remake with Jennifer Jones. Norma Shearer is exquisite as Elizabeth, and Maureen O'Sullivan does very well as Henrietta. Actually, the whole cast is excellent. Thanks for showing. Please repeat and also run more of Norma Shearer's films. She was so great and is somewhat overlooked today- too bad.

  • Nota 10

    • Sonia
    • 11/13/10

    Este filme um dos melhores. Excelente ver Maureen o'sullivan neste papel. Eu adorei.

  • Love is something even a father can mess up

    • fawnlet
    • 8/12/10

    This movie is a love story, with a lot of false love added to it. It is a feel good movie that should be seen more than once. This father seemed to have an obsession with all of his children, but especially Elizabeth. Perhaps her illness added to his fear of losing her. His children loved him, but feared him more. Mr Browning her hero, was the type of man, that was needed to stand up to the father. He did, and he did this in a non violence manner, which makes him more of a man, than anyone that would chose to physically hurt the father.

  • The Barretts of Wimpole Street

    • Virginia Foster
    • 6/24/10

    Excellent movie. Very interesting. Very well acted. It truly kept me entertained from beginning to end.

  • OUTSTANDING!

    • URMANITA
    • 2/20/10

    MOVIE CONTAINS A GREAT STORY, ACTING AND DIRECTING. NORMA SHEARER, CHARLES AND FREDRICK MARCH'S PERFORMANCES WERE FANTASTIC. I COULD GO ON AND ON,BUTWHATS IMPORTANT IS HOW DO WE GET THIS FILM ONTO DVD?PLEASE IF ANYONE HAS THE POWER PLEASE TRY TO DO SO.

  • Defy Tradition- Marry the Poet

    • Mary Summerday
    • 1/11/10

    I fell in love with this movie at age fifteen with a VHS copy from the local library. It's a gem -a cast of great actors that includes studio giants Norma Shearer and Charles Laughton- who create a world where love conquers all without fairytale circumstances. When poets fall in love- well, melodrama in some degree is bound to follow. Yet the plot of this movie has all the classical elements with some good emphasis: a young invalid poetess, her tyrannical obsessed parent, and a handsome young poet. The atypical notion in this movie is that the young poetess is capable of defying her circumstances to follow her happiness, not entirely relying on love interest Frederic March. This movie is not the ultimate classic of the Victorian era, but it is a treasure and one that I would like to share with other people; why can it not come out on DVD!

  • A True Love Story

    • Jeff Kenison
    • 2/3/09

    In this film, it just goes to show you, that in spite of a control-freakish, tyrannical parent, love conquers all.

  • Outstanding Victorian Era Film

    • Jeff Kenison
    • 1/26/09

    I think I might like this movie on DVD since like I said, I love Charles Laughton. I also like Fredric March and Norma Shearer. I just love these Victorian era movies

  • Fredric March vs Charles Laughton

    • Jeff Kenison
    • 1/16/09

    Another classic film where Fredric March and Charles Laughton cross swords. I've seen them clash in films like "The Sign of the Cross" (1932) and "Les Miserables" (1935).

  • Charles Laughton's role

    • Jeff Kenison
    • 11/6/08

    Charles Laughton looks kinda cool with those muttonchops. However, his character as Elizabeth Barrett Browning's tyrannical father doesn't seem like the person you'd like. When you see him looking and acting very stern, it kinda makes you wanna loathe him.

  • Great rendition of a timeless love story!

    • Debra
    • 11/4/08

    What a great film. The cast was fabulous, the production values near perfect, the story well told. When Elizabeth leaves her father's house taking only her maid Wilson and her faithful cocker spaniel Flush (who also appears to be the ringbearer/best man at the wedding and last scene in the movie) leaving everything else behind her, it is a truly a great movie moment. In that scene, the viewer experiences a myriad of emotions - love, determination, fear, triumph. And the ex-invalid, Ms. Barrett, carries that big old cocker spaniel down all those step, out the front door and, we assume, all the way to Italy where, as we all know, they live happily ever after.

  • This Movie Should be on DVD

    • Jeff Kenison
    • 5/31/08

    In my humble opinion, this movie should be on DVD sooner rather than later. I like Charles Laughton.

  • I Loved This Film

    • Rick Schmidlin
    • 5/4/08

    I loved this film and it now one of my personal favorites

  • love story at its fineist

    • rosemary c
    • 4/30/08

    such a joy to watch

  • Love Conquers All

    • Janice R.
    • 12/16/07

    This is my favorite version of this film. It emphasizes the unnatural feelings that the father has for his daughter, Elizabeth. Showing that it bordersed on incest,although that may not have been the case. Furthermore, shows the difference in loving a child and smothering a child. Not allowing a child to grow up and make a life for themselves. And, how a child is affected when they are treated this way. Thought is was funny when the father wanted to destroy Elizabeth's dog, Fllush, and found out she had taken the dog with her!

  • The best of Barretts of Walpole Street.

    • Jacqueliine Horn
    • 6/6/07

    I feel this is the very best showing of Barretts of Walpole Street. I have been searching for this copy for quite a while. I would like to vote to have it released on DVD home movies.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.