skip navigation
It's a Dog's Life

It's a Dog's Life(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

It's a Dog's Life MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Vic Morrow as the dog

    • Kate
    • 11/24/12

    I have been waiting for TCM to replay this movie. To the reviewer who thought it was Frank's Sinatra's voice as the dog, it's actually Vic Morrow (Blackboard Jungle, Combat!)

  • Hoo Dat Man?

    • charles freedman
    • 9/8/12

    My wife and I just watched It's a Dog's Life, and both enjoyed it tremendously. I was reminded of such classics as Black Beauty, and noticed the story was from the Period and written by Richard Harding Davis, whose work I admire. The story is narrated by Wildfire, the Dog, and the human voice he speaks with has just the right accent and delivery to put it across. We both quickly recognized the voice as that of Frank Sinatra, but nowhere is he mentioned in the credits, or on the TCM page for the film. Love to know why this great star with a VERY recognizeable voice, gets no nod for doing as good a job as Don Ameche did in Homeward Bound. We were both amused by the bluenose who thought it was just too terrible. Hope he never watches any pre-code stuff....

  • It's a Dog's Life

    • sam
    • 10/4/11

    i love this movie. Please show it again soon!

  • It's a Dogs Life

    • Nancy Tucker
    • 9/26/11

    LOVE THIS MOVIE! Would love to see it out on DVD. How about a remake with modern DNA testing for the show ring and the ever seedy side of dog fighting. Please keep showing these great movies.

  • Charming

    • Kim
    • 9/26/11

    To an earlier poster, yes, the beginning showed the reality of the popularity of the sport of dog fighting (well done, no blood, no glorification of the sport) and life on the seedy bowery (also well done, a child is not going to understand the woman was a 'tart'). It's a cute rags to riches story seen through the dogs eyes. It's not overly disneyfied and leaves plenty of room for open discussion about stray dogs and responsible dog/pet ownership. Your children will enjoy watching it with you. I can't believe I missed this feel good gem.

  • Made my day...

    • Peter A. Snyder
    • 9/26/11

    Thank You so much for showing this film that has as much relevance and charm. Your first post proves the ignorance even in this day and age of so many toward the amazing Bull Terrier and the social ills that perpetuate it's stereo types. Let them be loved and admired and not exploited. Kudos to TCM !

  • Dog Fighting? Really?? A "family movie"

    • cp
    • 9/26/11

    I have just turned on this "heart warming" film. I can't believe that a movie like this is being shown on your channel. So far only minutes into this film a narrating dog has gone into a saloon & decided it would be profitable for him to begin working as a fighting dog. Some guy purchases the dog, needs money and proceeds to his "woman's" apartment and when she refuses to give him money, he beats her. This is the worst "family" film I have begun to watch. Needless to say I find that showing & condoning this an atrocity. I am extremely disappointed in a channel that I had considered one of my staples showing a film like this.

  • It's a Dogs Life

    • Cynthia Cook
    • 12/22/10

    I just love this movie. It's told from the point of view of the dog. It's a rags to riches story, that is very heartwarming.

  • It's A Dogs' Life

    • Wayne
    • 7/26/10

    I remember the 1st time I saw this movie. I was with my father. I couldn't have been more than 10. Great family film about 'Family', seen through the eyes of a streetwise Bull Terrier with a chip on his shoulder. It's a fun roller-coaster ride he takes us on , through adventure & misadventure. Love wins out & all's well in the end. I do not buy movies....BUT...I WOULD LOVE TO OWN THIS ONE. Also a 'good therapy' movie for anyone afraid of dogs.

  • Awesome Movie

    • Sharri
    • 3/11/10

    This is a wonderful movie all generations of a family could watch together. I have a granddaughter who loves dogs who would really enjoy "It's a Dog's Life. TCM does a great service to show movies like this, especially now when there is so little of value on television. I hope it's on again so I can plan to invite people to enjoy it with us. Please continue showing these great classics. If it ever came available to purchase I would be grateful.

  • great family movie

    • Susannah McCurdy
    • 3/11/10

    My family and I loved it. My children want me to purchase it for our library.

  • NEED DVD PLEASE

    • Angie
    • 12/2/09

    My husband and I caught this on a Sunday afternoon and fell in love with it I want so badly to add to my movie collection but I don't see that it's available PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE release this wonderful movie to DVD Happy Holidays

  • WE NEED MORE MOVIES LIKE THIS

    • fubar
    • 10/30/09

    A WHOLESOME CLASSIC MY CHILDREN (AND EVERY OTHER CHILD IN THE WORLD) WOULD RELISH AND REMEMBER THE REST OF THEIR LIVES . I FELL IN LOVE WITH THIS MOVIE ABOUT 40 YRS AGO . I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR YEARS TO OBTAIN IT . PLEASE HELP THE DREAMS COME TRUE :}

  • Wish you had this on DVD

    • Robin Endicott
    • 10/5/09

    My daughter and I only saw the secound half of the movie, but loved it. I hope it will play again. It had a great story about overcoming your past and forgiving and moving on. Wish they made more movies like this. The Military appreciates the quailty movies.Thank You!Robin

  • RELEASE MOVIE ASAP

    • JULIA KRAL
    • 8/24/09

    HAVE LOOKED FOR THIS MOVIE FOR 30 YEARS-WOULD LOVE TO HAVE A HOME COPY FOR MY HUSBANDS B-DAY GIFT.OR AT LEAST SEE IT ON TCM ONCE AGAIN. SINCERLY, MRS ERVIN KRAL

  • release soon

    • S Myers
    • 6/6/09

    i hope this movie is released soon or you show it on your network. my husband talks about this movie all the time!

  • Please release this movie on DVD!

    • Maria
    • 11/24/08

    I have fond memories of watching this film on tv as a child in the 1960's. It is my all time favorite dog movie. I want my dog loving child to see it, but can't find it on DVD. It's a really great film! What more can I say???

  • The Horrors of Dog Fighting

    • Maureen Kilgallen
    • 9/12/07

    Now that the horrible crime of dog fighting is in the news, "It's a Dog's Life" should ne released.It's a very touching movie and depicts the type of low grade people responsible for this horrendous abuse of our pets as opposed to the kindness of others! It's one of the best movies ever!! Love it.

  • As good as Lassie ever was for me!

    • Tanya Biliski
    • 6/30/07

    I had never seen this movie before and just happened upon it surfing channels. It captured me and kept me with the soft heart and fighting spirit of this pit dog and his trip to the seat of champ. It's a movie with heart, laughs and just the right amount of tears. I only wish I had seen it years ago. A certain new favorite of mine. A movie I could watch time and again.WHAT A DOG!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.