skip navigation
Baby Doll

Baby Doll(1956)

  • Wednesday, September 24 @ 07:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Baby Doll A child bride holds her... MORE > $68.98 Regularly $68.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • American Classic

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/12/14

    I know some people find parts of the film offensive, however, it accurately portrays the attitudes of some people in America at the time and even today. I like this movie for the fact that it acts like a mirror. We may get glimpses of ourselves we don't like. I believe it reaches anybody who watches it on a personal level. It is not meant to be pretty or sugar coated, it is meant to portray human nature in a real and sometimes ugly way. I understand why people don't like this film. I like this fillm for its rawness and that it is character driven. I like how the tension builds and holds you to the end of the film. I believe this is a true American classic.

  • CLASSIC WILLIAMS, CLASSIC MOVIE

    • Michael O'Farrell
    • 6/16/13

    "Baby Doll" , a notorious movie of the mid 1950s that was attacked by the hierarchy of the Roman Catholic Church and "condemned" by the then All powerful Legion of Decency, the RC's attempt to intimidate their flock from seeing immoral, aka "dirty" movies, is a landmark american film whose tortuous history belies the fact that it is not only one of the truly great films of the twentieth century but also one of the greatest comedies ever put on the screen. Groundbreaking in its time for its depiction of male lust, candid carnality, jealousy and greed, "Baby Doll" is a compelling Southern Gothic melodrama/comedy that ultimately ends on a poignant note.Today this movie stands tall, a genuine masterwork brilliantly directed by Elia Kazan with playwright Tennesse Williams adapting two of his short plays into a brilliant comedy of manners that may look like Tobacco Road but has its own unmistakable Williams stamp written all over it. It may well be the finest screen adaptation from stage to screen of all the playwright's works.Carroll Baker's performance as the "child bride" Baby Doll is perfection, one of the all time great comic, and dramatic performances ever enacted on the screen. I don't think it's overstating the case that it's a performance that rivals the very best, including Vivien Leigh's Scarlett O'Hara: it's that iconic a performance. Karl Malden as the much beleaguered Archie Lee matches Baker all the way with a hugely impressive performance as a seemingly country bumpkin type : frustrated, possessive, a much older husband with "only one thing on his mind" but Malden gives the character a great human touch that prevents Archie from being just a broad, cartoon-type character. And Eli Wallach, one of the all time great character actors making a triumphant screen debut as Malden's nemesis and rivals for Baker's affections scorches the screen with his volatility and in the seduction scenes that are unlike anything depicted in American Cinema in '56.

  • non-professionals

    • denscul
    • 5/5/13

    Kazan used real townspeople as extras. They had some speaking roles, and you could spot them easily, but Kazan the Director, picked the right ones to get the effect he wanted. As some have noted, not one kiss passes between Baby Doll and anyone, either husband, or the unwanted "guy from out of town" or not even the Real American. This role played by Eli Wallach, an ethnic Jew, playing a Sicilian is probably the heart of this film. Wiliams novel could not have shown a more graphic example of the native southerner, whose family must have seen better times. The house, the broken down car in the yard, and Malden's character just full of desperation. His mill needed a part. Baker, promised to him by her father when she came of age, obviously was sexually interested in the "Dago". (OK for me to use that perjorative. I am a FBI.). New films should take note. Sex does not mean a handbook of positions to display passion. Obviously, it was driving Malden out of his mind. Its amazing that the Catholic Church put this on its list of films Catholics were not allowed to see. (OK to say that, I'm a Catholic). Needlessly to say, me and my buddies were disappointed teens when we went and didn't see any skin.I didn't give the film 5 stars because it was a little too over the top. As someone living in the south, Malden would not have missed Wallach. If a southerner had a shotgun, he knew how to use it. Ok to say that, I'm I Southerner.

  • Not my fav project by Tennessee Williams

    • Dana M.
    • 3/17/13

    But I think he really liked to push buttons. It was okay.What I do find interesting is that other reviewers challenged one reviewer's opinion on the sensitive subject matter. I believe everyone has the right to their opinion. I have seen this happen in forums, but I find it a little odd in this instance - it was someone's review, not a discussion.

  • Ending like Gone With The Wind

    • Maureen vv
    • 3/13/13

    The ending of the movie was exactly like Gone with the Wind. They even had a close up of Carroll Baker's face. There was some sexual tension between Baker and Wallach during the movie but that's all. The "niggar" word was used a few times but that's the language they used. The fire scene put some "action" in the movie but otherwise it was slow moving.

  • Baby Doll

    • Susan Mitchell
    • 3/13/13

    I love this film and how it captures the south in the forties and fifties. Outsiders are frowned upon; the southern tradition and values must be preserved at all cost. The home is so symbolic of what was happening to southern traditions. I also found "Babydoll's" character so interesting. She was vulnerable, strong, smart, dumb, the total oxymoron depiction of the southern woman. This film should be viewed in a Women's Literature class. LOVED IT.

  • Tennesse William's finest!

    • Victoria Pence
    • 2/5/13

    I saw this movie when it was show recently on TCM; I had never seen it, and I thought it was Tennesse William's finest adaptation to film! Previous commenters who were offended by the language and/or situation have to understand the time period of the story. I came to the South when I was about the age of 'Baby Doll', having been raised in the 1960's and 70's on the West Coast. I had little understanding (atleast first hand) of the Civil Rights and post Civil Rights era...using the 'n' word in my house growing up would have gotten me a bar of soap in my mouth! But, after reading and listening to those who lived through that period in the South, I began to gain some understanding. It was not a 'pretty' time; but making the movie without the realities that existed then would be like making a movie about Hitler's Germany without showing the Holocaust!!

  • Excellent portrayal of a different era.

    • Robert Hutchins
    • 5/20/12

    An excellent portrayal of the South in an earlier era. I noted that a previous viewer objected to the use of the "n" word, and also that Malden's character was almost a pedophile.Remember, this film was made in 1956. So try to keep an open mind and remember that it was not uncommon for middle aged men to wed much younger women then, and also for black people to be referred to in that fashion.

  • I tried to like/watch it

    • Yolanda
    • 4/26/12

    It's touchy - The husband is a borderline pedophile. However, I gave up on this film when a character used the "n" word. I don't find it entertaining to watch films/shows that are racially offensive. I will only tolerate it if the subject is of a documentary nature or the subject is pro-change; civil rights, anti-nazism, etc.So I would never watch nor recommend this title.

  • cool film

    • susan
    • 12/10/11

    I knew immediately this was a Tennessee Williams play. Great Film was funny in a weird sort of way and i really liked the interesting musical score which had a pre sixities goovy feel to it. Would like to see this paired with Lolita very interesting film had lots of issues which were thought provoking. The portrayal of African Americans was interesting to me too

  • Grande filme

    • Sonia
    • 11/8/10

    Um filme polmico e ousado para os padres conservadores da poca. Uma maravilha de Elia Kazan.

  • Good Stuff

    • Brittney
    • 7/30/10

    I enjoyed this movie very much..a little bit odd at first, but at the end..I loved it!

  • Sexual Politics

    • Henry Hoffman
    • 1/19/10

    BABY DOLL is a superbly acted film, (directed by one of the best director-of-actors Elia Kazan), who are working within a rough & holy (but funny) interplay of sexual politics, complete w/ a dollop of the southern mystique. Karl Malden's last struggle w/ its convolutions of a maddening but incomplete sexual drive, the alcoholism & revenge is particularly compelling. When Mr. Malden came down to Illinois State in 1971 to conduct a workshop for the actors in my production of Ionesco's THE KILLER (he was a rivetingly precise communicator), he brought a print of BABY DOLL w/ him to show us, because (he said) he thought it to be his best screen work.

  • Wild, Wild Tennessee Williams

    • Bruce Reber
    • 1/19/10

    "Baby Doll" absolutely has to be the wildest and most bizarre film ever adapted from a Tennessee Williams play. There must have been many problems concerning the PCA in making the film version of Williams'play about a child-like woman's relationship with her husband and a cotton farmer. I have seen almost all of the film adaptations of Williams' plays, and I would rate "Baby Doll" as my least favorite, despite Elia Kazan's direction and a superb cast featurng Eli Wallach, Karl Malden and Carroll Baker. Definitely not in the same class as "Streetcar Named Desire", "Cat On A Hot Tin Roof", etc.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.