skip navigation
Babes in Toyland

Babes in Toyland(1934)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Far from home

    • Dam8batta
    • 2/7/16

    Stan & Ollie seem out of place in this 19th century stage melodrama with a genuinely eerie aesthetic. Too weird for words.

  • A Lost Holiday Classic

    • Kate
    • 11/29/14

    It actually is on VHS and DVD for quite a while now. The title different " It is But one in the same movie. Its alias name and what is out on DVD is called "March Of The Wooden Soldiers"One of the most magical films you will ever see. Laurel and Hardy are amazing in it. Some of Hal Roaches Our Gang Kids are in it too; A Victor Herbert Operetta.. but so much more. Just fantastic. I can not say more about this film. Just watch and see. Great for the whole family. I don't know why it isn't shown anymore. In The east coast it was always on after the Macys Thanksgiving Day Parade. on PIX It really must be rediscovered. A most wonderful fantasy Fairytale film. Pleas show it some day soon on TCM Thanks

  • L&H Babes in Toyland- a Holiday Favorite!

    • c. montague
    • 6/29/12

    PLEASE Play this movie! I thought it would certainly be on during the holidays and would lovefor my daughter to see it, but it was not in your line-up. I clearly remember the scenes from childhood and love the film.

  • Babes in Toyland

    • Ron
    • 12/21/10

    I would recommend this movie for all ages

  • This is The

    • Kevin4Butler
    • 7/4/10

    This 1934 movie version of"Babes In Toyland"is the bestscreen interpretation of Vic Herbert's children's comic opera.The plot is funny,charming,thrilling and fanciful,the musical scoreretains the authentic flavor of the original.The sets are beautifuland scary and the casting is perfect..from L&H's funny charactersto the singing juveniles and the supporting players.There have beenother film versions of this story..but Hal Roach's Studios and L&Hdid it right.

  • Babes in Toyland

    • Amanda
    • 12/12/09

    My grandparents brought me this movie for Christmas one year and i absolutely loved it! Years later my family lost it and it just so happens it is on the tv today in color!!!!! I hope it gets put on DVD it's such a great movie not just for kids but for adults too. Stan and Ollie are hilarious and its a great plot for these classic Mother Goose rhymes.

  • Babes in Toyland

    • donnamarie
    • 12/10/09

    It absolutely is the one program I need to watch and hear on Thanksgiving. This program represents the very best of memories..... watching this with my uncle as I smell Thanksgiving unfolding in our home as my mom made our annual feast....Where was it this year on TV? I checked every station ?Please put this on home DVD for those of us the equate holidays with special movies.

  • Watched it every Thanksgiving!

    • Kathryn V.
    • 7/21/09

    When my brother and I were little kids, the family would gather around our black and white set to watch this great old classic! The kids loved it and the adults got a kick out of it. It was shown every Thanksgiving for a long time, until somebody must have decided that it was too old. What a shame - it's a great old movie and I think kids today would still enjoy it, I still do!

  • Best Holiday Movie!

    • Jill
    • 1/5/09

    My sister & I grew up watching this film in NY over Thanksgiving weekend since I was a little girl. Years and years of looking forward to seeing it & we never missed it. Sad as I never see it aired anywhere anymore. (Live in AZ now for 20 years) My sister thoughtfully bought it for me on video tape years ago. When my old VCR died, I never replaced it. My sister passed away in October and I so hoped to see it this holiday season to have a fond memory of the years we watched it together. I even Tivo'd the title and no luck. Hopefully some one at TCM will realize the importance of this great holiday film and start to play it for the holiday's. Kids today will still love it!

  • It is available.

    • Debbie
    • 12/3/08

    Babes in toyland the Laurel and Hardy movie is available in DVD and has been available for awhile...this site needs to be updated.

  • "What a Wonderful Time"

    • Mack Smith
    • 11/16/07

    I can remember the first time I saw this "Classic Movie" in 1954 , I was 8yrs old then and to this day, it still brings a bit of magic and wonder to me. This is a movie that I would recomend the parents of today to get for their children. This is a movie that never gets "to old". Sincerely.....Mack Smith.

  • Memories

    • Martin Schiechl`
    • 11/13/07

    This is one of the best children's movies. It brings back my childhood memories of Christmas and Thanksgiving.

  • I Love this movie

    • Phil Smith
    • 8/11/07

    I haven't seen it in years and I would love to see it again. It was my favorite as a child.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.