skip navigation
Auntie Mame

Auntie Mame(1958)

  • Saturday, September 27 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Auntie Mame An eccentric heiress raises... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Poor timing

    • Don Letta
    • 6/3/14

    Unfortunately, Russell's best performance was overshadowed by Susan Hayward's (I Want To Live). Hayward won best actress which she deserved...but so did Russell...A year earlier, or a year later Russell would have been a shoe-in for the award.

  • awesome interiors

    • jeff
    • 2/8/14

    what a great movie for set and costume design. seen this movie a million times many quick gestures and phrases that are easy missed. a must see!

  • "It Stinks"

    • Jack The Hat
    • 12/21/13

    Looks like I am the only one who sees this film as bomb. Miss Russell seems so phony, it's embarrassing. Well I got my two cents in and disagree with everyone else as far as this is a waste of good film.

  • Auntie Mame

    • Bruce Reber
    • 7/1/13

    "Auntie Mame" is one of my all-time favorite comedies. Rosalind Russell gives a tour-de-force performance as the eccentric Mame Dennis, teaching her nephew all about the joys of life. She was nominated for a Best Actress Oscar, and it's a shame she didn't win. The rest of the cast is fantastic; i.e. Forrest Tucker, Coral Browne, Peggy Cass, Joanna Barnes, Lee Patrick, Fred Clark and Roger Smith. Mame liked to keep her interior decorators busy-every time you see her apartment it has a new motif! Her famous line says it all-"Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving!"

  • Auntie Mame

    • Goetan
    • 6/30/13

    A hilarious, touching and dazzling film. Russell won the Golden Globe for Best Actress as an eccentric aunt who teaches her nephew to live; Cass was nominated for an Oscar and Barnes was nominated for a special Golden Globe. The colourful scenery and costumes are visual cavalcades that fit well into the story with the always-present life message. A film where viewers sit back, relax and prepare themselves for an entertaining comedy. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Awesome movie!

    • Craig
    • 12/25/11

    This movie is so good! Full of laughs! A must see for anyone!

  • Awesome!

    • Craig
    • 12/25/11

    This movie is so good. Full of laughs!

  • I became Auntie Mame!

    • Kay
    • 5/25/11

    Since the first time I saw this movie I tried to become Auntie Mame. It worked wonderfully well with my four children and with my classroom students. Now I am old, retired, and still believe that "Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death!"

  • auntie mame staring Rosalind Russell

    • John Sherwood
    • 3/26/10

    This is a great movie and will last through the ages, Her part as aunte Mame ,I will always enjoyed and reminded me of one of my favorite aunts who use to dress in black was very sheek and traveled all over the world with great stories and allways brought something back from her travels , the movie brings happy tears to my eyes every time I see it and will till the day I die , the ending is as good as the begining and will make you laugh through the whole movie the antics and gags are great, anyone who wants to see a good movie this one is for you .

  • the aunt we all wish we had

    • topshotta1
    • 12/8/09

    one of the most captivating films in techicolor truly breath taking set design, productionand warobe where truly ahead of there time

  • Oh Agnes, Where is Your Spine?

    • Herbert
    • 9/1/09

    What's not to love in this gloriously campy film? The film is a rich banquet of sublime costumes, decadent attitudes, eccentric characters, and iconic performances. I first saw the film one New Year's Eve many years ago in Champaign, Il, so it has become a tradition among my friends and me to watch it every Dec. 31st. An absolute must for anyone with a quirky camp sensibility --you'll be repeating the lines in no time!

  • Life is a banquet...

    • Patricia
    • 1/2/09

    This is one of the great and archetypal sophisticated comedies of the late 1950's. Rosalind Russell is a delight as the ebullient and eccentric Mame Dennis. No matter what the circumstance (from the loss of her own fortune to losing her beloved and wealthy husband later on), Mame keeps going, full speed ahead and she will never say die. "Life is a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death," she said famously. The script is clever and witty, the music sparkles, the supporting roles are well cast, but it's Rosalind Russell's film all the way - and she is superb!

  • Wondrful film

    • David
    • 8/3/08

    I love this movie, I saw it first when I was 14 and it only gets better with age. (I am now 36) This is a movie for the entire family, it is a clasic story of hope and everything that goes with it. I will never forget that "Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death. Live Live Live".

  • GOOD O'l AUNTIE MAME

    • vv
    • 8/1/08

    this movie is a must see movie i saw it as a kid and i still love it!!!!!

  • A MUST SEE MOVIE!!!!

    • Dean
    • 6/3/08

    This is my wifes and I favorite movie. Rosalind Russell does a superb performance!!!!!!!!!!!

  • A Comical Movie

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/15/06

    Rosalind Russell as the free-spirited Auntie Mame steals the show in this fun comedy. A must-see for any Russell fan.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.