skip navigation
Atlantis, the Lost Continent

Atlantis, the Lost Continent(1961)

Contribute

FOR Atlantis, the Lost Continent (1961) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Atlantis, the Lost Continent A Greek fisherman gets caught... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Atlantis, the Lost Continent (1961)

    • Vaughn Cropper
    • 5/20/15

    One of the best movies of all time!!! This movie has every element you could ever want in a film: a sense of wonder, epic scope, amazing settings, campy and tongue-in-cheek aspects, strong and caring relations between the characters, fantastic details, wonderful musical score, flawless effects, a very attractive leading man, a very sexy leading lady, and a quite flamboyant villain, played by John Dall, who has a striking chemistry with the leading man, Anthony Hall. Ten out of ten is much, much too low to give this thrilling masterpiece.

  • Atlantis The Lost Continent

    • Christy Roessle Bethke
    • 7/7/11

    Like others I saw this in the theater and it sparked an interest in the Atlantis theory ever since. The opening sequence showing the similarities among cultures on opposite sides of the Atlantic Ocean really makes you consider the possibilities. There have been so many civilizations that have come and gone, so this movie portrays a plausible explanation...and the use of a laser in 1961? Hmmmmm...

  • Atlantis, the Lost Continent

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 11/2/10

    Wonderful sci-fi sword-and-sandal fantasy from the early 1960's. Would like to see it released in a pristine, remastered version.

  • Atlantis, The Lost Continent

    • Rudy Pavlic
    • 7/4/10

    I saw this in the movies..enjoyed it..for a kid in the 60's it was the best of cinematic imagination. I think it would sell if offered.

  • Atlantis, the Lost DVD

    • Randy Rector
    • 4/28/10

    Like other reviewers here, I saw this movie as a child, only on TV on NBC's "Saturday Night At The Movies." It was a primal experience, one I won't ever forget. Some critics have claimed this is one of George Pal's worst movies, but I think it has to be my favorite. Man, it has everything... epic adventure, mystery, a princess that's actually really hot, cataclysms, death rays, you name it. Of course, compared to today's special effects, it may not hold up in the minds of some, but for me those old special effects, like those of Ray Harryhausen, had a dreamlike quality that put them in a kind of hyper reality. They engaged your imagination. Ok, so where's the DVD of this film? It was put out on laserdisk in the nineties along with another George Pal film. That other film they presented in widescreen, but the epic Atlantis was just in pan and scan. Let there be a widescreen DVD!

  • Would Love To See This Film Again!

    • Gary
    • 1/26/09

    I saw this in the theatres when I was a boy and thoroughly enjoyed it, although some of the scenes scared me half to death. As I recall the effects were quite good because if they weren't my friends and I would yell "fakey" outloud during any movie that had cheesy effects. We didn't do this with this film. I haven't seen this movie in years and I hope TCM runs it soon.

  • Need to show this movie more often.

    • donnamai52
    • 8/14/08

    I have only seen "Atlantis, The lost Continent" shown once in all the time that I have been watching TCM. Maybe I missed it if it showed more. But I missed it this last time due to an appointment I could not miss. I do not have a working VCR to record anything so I could not watch it at a later time of the day. It would be great to be able to watch this movie again since I have not seen it in about 25 years. I really enjoyed this movie, It stayed with me all these many years. There was something about it. Even though it was Sci-fi, there has been so much talk about there being a real Atlantis. Since we do know from history, as Pompay, that a volcano really can destroy every and I am sure an Island can be lost to the sea. Please show the move more often. At least so I can see it again. Thank you

  • ATLANTIS THE LOST CONTINENT

    • Dee
    • 8/1/08

    The scene where the "Mengele"-type surgeon is forcing a slave to look at the crystal and drink the potion that will change him into a bull has haunted me since I saw it as a child. I ran from the room in terror. As I saw it again, I was similarly repulsed that a human could treat other humans in such a way. Just pure EVIL. It made me think of the "scientists" who are doing cloning, DNA experiments, and mixing different animals AND humans in similar disgusting experiments. Such evil exists today.

  • ATLANTIS THE LOST CONTINENT

    • CHUCK HENSON
    • 7/31/08

    LOVE THIS MOVIE PLEASE SHOW IT MORE.THESE OLD SCI-FI MOVIES ARE GREAT THAT'S WHY I WATCH TCM SO MUCH. OTHER CHANNELS DON'T CARRY THEM LIKE YOU GUYS

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.