skip navigation
Around the World in 80 Days

Around the World in 80 Days(1956)

  • Wednesday, December 31 @ 02:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR Around the World in 80 Days (1956) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Around the World in 80 Days A Victorian gentleman bets... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $26.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great movie! But a princess in a coolie hat!

    • Elise
    • 3/8/14

    This movie is very entertaining.However, I must say Shirley MacLaine is neither beautiful nor Indian, or even Indian-looking.And why does she wear a coolie hat? A princess down on her luck?

  • Around the World in 80 Days.

    • j.Guerian
    • 2/12/14

    There should have been another black list in Hollywood for all those who voted for Mike Todd's travelogue, Around the World, etc. as best picture of the year.

  • around the world in 80 doze

    • w.r.hurst
    • 4/6/13

    after 40 years ive finally sat down to watch this film. it came out in theatres when i was a kid,to a lot of ballyhoo about how brilliant it was. personally i think they managed to offend just about every race on the planet in one swoop,by racial stereo typing. david niven who was a great actor, given the right part, hams it up with his victorian british holier than though attitude, quickly becomes a one gag bore. shirley mclaine as an indian (india)? ouch! canta flos for all his stunts and falls,sorry he aint no chaplin or keaton, thats for sure,and it becomes pretty predictable and dull especially when you know, its a stunt double in most of the scenes.how about the wild west train ride, shooting american indians from the train windows.theres no historical record of native indians attacking trains,they were way to inteligent to try that one, and it comes off like some kind macbe carnival joke,with the principal cast members having a fun time.all in all pretty bad stuff. i wouldnt watch again.

  • 80 days

    • I_Fortuna
    • 3/2/13

    Cantinflas made this movie. Without him, it would have been somewhat dull. He truly is a Mexican National Treasure. Shirley MacLaine was terrific although not given much in the way of lines. She loooked so beautiful in all the different costumes she wore and her presence was essential. This film has so much visual appeal and I think on a large theater screen it must have been captivating.

  • Outstanding!

    • RedRain
    • 3/2/13

    I was 11 years old when I first saw this film in the theater when it debuted and I have yet to forget that remarkable day. The term "cast of thousands" has to describe this film as, in reality, there were 68,000 people in the film itself. There were 10,000 extras used for the bullfight scene with the brilliant Cantinflas! The cinematography is gorgeous - winner of the Academy Award - and every country represented was actually visited and the scenes were filmed there. I believe I got my lust for travel overseas from this early exposure to other countries and I have been fortunate enough to actually live, work and travel in most of these countries. Every star in Hollywood clamored to be in this film and they were! You have a ball picking them out! The star of this film is supposed to be David Niven as Phineas Fogg but the real star is Mike Todd's vision of bringing Jules Verne's fabulous novel to the big screen. If you have never seen this film, please take the time to view it. It will transport you to the world outside and it is simply brilliant!

  • Around the Word in 80 Days

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 1/22/12

    Michael Todd's adaptation of the Jules Verne novel is a visual cavalcade. The cinematography & Victor Young's score add a great deal to the film. However, my only complaints are that it's too long & dull in some scenes. All in all, a good entertainment film. I give it a 3/5.

  • You should see it in Todd-AO

    • Paul Samuels
    • 9/19/11

    Most of you folks have only seen it on TV. No matter how big the screen, it is still on TV. I have a unique home theater which can simulate the original Todd-AO experience which puts an entirely other spin on the picture.

  • A DELIGHTFUL TECHNICOLOR FEAST FOR THE EYES!

    • alexander perez
    • 8/11/11

    one should realize this film is somewhat unique. sure, the loads of cameos in movies have been done before, but this is a different sort of Epic; not a historical Epic or a Biblical Epic, or even a War epic. it's a Literary Adventure Epic, based on Jules Verne's classic novel which i'm in the process of reading. most Epics set in historical time periods or a time of war tend to be filled with adventure, but this one is simply the odyssey of a Victorian Gentleman, Phileas Fogg, well played by David Niven, and his bet to travel the globe within 80 days, encountering many adventures in different exotic locales with his assistant Passepartout, delightfully played by the International Mexican comedian Mario Moreno, better known as "Cantinflas". the use of a splendid Technicolor photography is excellent, the star studded cameos are fun, the Big Action scenes such as the Indian attack on the train are marvelous, and Shirley Maclaine is Quite Beautiful as a Hindu Princess who's drawn to David Niven's refined ways. topping this off with Victor Young's souring score, it's a shame Mike Todd didn't make more movies, because he struck Gold with this one!

  • Fun Frolic

    • Mature Canadian
    • 8/10/11

    Enjoyable over-the-top story with wonderful cameos & finally a credit list you can actually read! Great to see everyone involved in an old story made new by Mike Todd. The sets are wonderful as are the costumes and the tongue in cheek plot is hilarious. Most enjoyable.

  • It's still a lot of fun

    • Spaghetti
    • 3/3/11

    Michele, you made me laugh! I agree, the movie is just way too long. But it's still a lot of fun to guess all the cameos. Perhaps it's an age thing, because I recognize most of them. And I'm old enough to remember seeing this movie in the theater. These days people zip off to Bali for a holiday, so the locations don't seem so exotic any more.

  • The Fun is in the Cameos

    • ThalbergFan
    • 3/3/11

    I watched the whole film before deciding to post a review. Beautiful scenery, good performances by the leads, and for a classic film fan, the most enjoyable part was looking for the famous faces. I thought I spotted most of them, but I was wrong! The plot was thin, as presented on film, but I do think it's worth seeing at least once. Mike Todd's love of movies is apparent, and appreciated.

  • Zzzzz...zz...zzzz

    • Michele
    • 3/2/11

    Is it over yet? Just because it took 80 days to go around the world doesn't mean it should take that long to tell the story. Did someone steal the editor's scissors?

  • Short on plot but big on star cameos.

    • Kevin4Butler
    • 6/26/10

    Mike Todd's big budget film version of The Jules Vernestory retains very little of the original plot.It depends moreon cameos by many well known performers of that timeand on beautiful settings. The performances by the leads..Dave Niven,Cantiflasand Ms.Maclaine are wonderful and some of the cameosby some of the stars are fun..other cameos are..forgetable.

  • Around the World in Eighty Days (1956)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/23/09

    Overlong by quite a bit, but the production is magnificent, and it's very splashy and colorful. The cast is an amazing and fantastic once in a lifetime ensemble. Quite watchable, very entertaining.

  • What an All-Star Cast

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 6/26/08

    I love this film, especially the different familiar cameos.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.