skip navigation
Anne of the Thousand Days

Anne of the Thousand Days(1969)

Contribute

FOR Anne of the Thousand Days (1969) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Anne of the Thousand Days Anne Boleyn fights to keep... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Tragic Love Story Gone Wrong

    • Donna
    • 4/28/13

    I enjoyed this love story with the tragic ending but is it really factual?

  • Anne of the Thousand Days Movie

    • Doris Werbil
    • 2/8/13

    Dear TCM, We only watched the end of this great movie Anne of the Thousand Days! When will you be showing it again? Thank you, Doris Werbil

  • Great Movie!

    • TCM Fan
    • 2/8/13

    Haven't seen this entertaining movie since it came out in 1969 and have to say of all the movies in the English history category, this is probably my favorite. Richard Burton and Genevieve Bujold are just so captivating in their portrayals of the very irrational, desperate King Henry and beautiful, intelligent Anne Boleyn... it's just such a well done version of a truly tragic story with such an interesting twist of history!

  • Awesome!!

    • Meshodeka
    • 2/8/13

    I absolutely love this movie. I couldn't take my eyes of the TV; I was entranced by by Mr.Burton. I love TCM.

  • Amazing Film

    • Rae
    • 10/24/12

    I have watched this film several times and it never ceases to enthrall me. Richard Burton's Henry the VIII is utterly fascinating. What truly knocks me over every time, though, is Genvieve Bujold as Anne Boleyn. What a truly remarkable range she has in this film: from love to rage to fear to passion to hatred and back again, sometimes in the same scenes. She has a face and eyes that are as mercurial as any I've ever seen in a movie. I can't take my eyes off the scene where she and Henry have their last verbal battle as Anne awaits execution. Bujold plays Boleyn as the woman who -- finally -- has a power that Henry cannot take away from her. Did she betray him with others or not? She's going to die, but, as she tells him, he will have to live on and, "Look at every man in your kingdom and wonder if I did not find him a better man than you!" She gives an incredible performance of this complex character, and I love watching her.

  • Richard Burton Deserved the Oscar

    • Sydney
    • 2/14/11

    Richard Burton was outstanding in Anne of the Thousand Days. He truly deserved an oscar for his performance. I can watch that movie over and over again.

  • Burton Is The Best

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2/3/11

    In "Anne Of The Thousand Days" Richard Burton gives the best portrayal of any actor ever of Henry VIII, 16th century king of England who married, divorced (and sometimes executed) six wives in a futile attempt to produce a male heir to his throne. Burton was nominated for a Best Actor Oscar in 1969, but lost out to John Wayne for "True Grit". While Wayne gave a great performance, I think Burton deserved to win.

  • AN AWESOME MOVIE!!

    • Rebecca Thompson
    • 4/1/09

    This movie is so good. It is very accurate and the costumes are amazing.

  • Anne on DVD

    • PAT
    • 10/4/07

    I see there is a DVD that has both Anne and Mary, Queen of Scots. Why don't they put out Anne by itself? It's good enough!

  • Anne on DVD for USA

    • wulstan
    • 5/26/07

    Isn't there a service which converts the playing format to the one available in the USA?I guess for those truly interested fans that may be an option. Admittedly, I do not know what such a conversion may cost.

  • Why no DVD in USA?

    • cindylayne
    • 4/22/07

    Anne of the Thousand Days is available in the UK on DVD. Why not here in the US? I hesitate to order it from Britain on Ebay as it looks like their version will not work on our DVD players.Does anyone have any info on this?Thanks

  • Not on DVD?

    • LC
    • 1/30/07

    One of my favorite movies as a kid, and still a favorite today. Wonderful acting by the whole cast! I have an old copy on VHS, but would love to have one on DVD.

  • Awesome History

    • Jann
    • 12/29/06

    I missed it. Having just finished Philippa Gregory's "The Other Boleyn Girl" and "The Boleyn Inheritance" I saw that Anne of The Thousand Days was played earlier this month. Oh ratz. Please do it again.

  • Great Movie

    • Elizabeth
    • 7/29/06

    Today was the first time I"ve seen this movie on tv. I did see it in the theater when it played in 1969, and think it is as good now as then. Nominated for numerous Academy Awards that year.I searched several sites but can find no dvd or vhs of this title.I hope TMC plays it again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.