skip navigation
The Americanization of Emily

The Americanization of Emily(1964)

Contribute

FOR The Americanization of Emily (1964) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Americanization of Emily A British war widow falls for... MORE > $13.46 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Very Serious Comedy

    • Kirsten I.
    • 2/12/16

    This 1964 film never gets old. It has a brilliant Paddy Chayevsky script and wonderful actors performing the roles. Julie Andrews and James Garner, too, are brilliant together, and Melvyn Douglas, James Coburn, and Joyce Grenfell are riveting in their roles. And the story, to this day, is controversial, because the underlying theme in this comedy is that war is insanity, and what matters in this world is people who love each other.

  • FIVE Stars!

    • RedRain
    • 2/5/16

    I'm completely and utterly aghast at anyone who could watch this film and then say it is "disrespectful" to the men who serve. It is the most ANTI-war film ever made! The gentleman who wrote the book it is based on and from which most of the dialogue comes, was actually on the beaches on D-Day as a SeaBee. (He was also on Iwo Jima and wrote an award winning piece on that hellhole of a fight.) Jim Garner's speech to Julie Andrews and her mother in this film is quoted in best film speeches of all time and in many, many speech databases. There really is nothing whatsoever noble about war. The shlubs like my father-in-law who landed on Omaha Beach and then lost his leg at the Battle of the Bulge fight the wars politicians and Generals send them to. I am in awe of this film for telling it like it is, for showing the reality of ADCs who cater to officers' every whim while Joe Private can't get proper nourishment or body armor! We need MORE films like this one and many fewer that make war out to be some noble endeavor fought by heroes instead of the reality of war being fought by scared young soldiers. Garner and Coburn are excellent in this film but so is Julie Andrews who finally acted in a serious role and was superb in it!

  • The Americanization of Emily

    • Michael Whitty
    • 1/24/16

    This was the first film for Julie Andrews and she was wonderful. A lighthearted comedy with a serious tone mixed in around the time of D-day and she is a British driver for the officers and James Garner personally serves an Admiral in all kinds of ways and they get together for some romance. Amazingly the Admiral wants his man Garner to be the first man on Omaha Beach. Well-written by Paddy Cheyefsky as this takes in some personal sidelights that add to the storytelling.

  • A satire of a very serious event

    • denscul
    • 4/6/14

    As a satire, comedy about the British and American differences that occurred during WWII, its a great film. However, as a former military person, who saw this in a theater when it first came out, I was disgusted by the political tone. When will Hollywood learn that MASH was written by someone who actually saw combat. Well, he was a dentist, but he was in Korea during the War. If I could, I would write about the combat I saw in Viet Nam, without showing the people we hated, the stupid politicians who got us into the War, or the jerks who managed to make money and avoid combat. The main figures in this film really are despicable. James Garner, whose Maverick character he developed on TV was perfect foil for Westerns that could not be avoided in the 50's and early 60's. However, if every one was Maverick for real, the invasion of Europe would never succeeded.

  • The Americanization of Emily

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/14/13

    An intriguing, funny and controversial drama. Andrews & Garner both state that this is one of there favourite films, great supporting work from Coburn and Douglas. Screenwriter Chayefsky adds humour and the theme of cowardice into the story, a story that consist of the love struggles of a U.S. man and his British lover. The serious, dialogue scenes drag for a while, but it's still witty with great leading performances. I give it a 4/5.

  • fortunately then unfortunately

    • don
    • 1/6/11

    Fortunately this move has a nude scene, unfortunately it is not Julie Andrews in the nude (don't laugh, she has one teriffic body) Fortunately, the nude young lady is the adorable little Judy Carne, unfortunately the scene was cut so that only her naked back is showing. The story goes that, not surprisingly, Judy was more than willing to let the scene go uncut with her naked down to her feet, showing off her nifty little buns, but her husband at the time, Burt Reynolds, hit the roof when he saw the uncut version.

  • Pretty Disrespectful

    • Barbara Furrer
    • 1/3/10

    This movie disrespects the men who gave their life on Omaha Beach while defending the country of France.How hypocritical it is that the makers of this film were Jews who were liberated by Americans? Making money off their own war propaganda while making light of the supreme sacrifices made by AMERICAN soldiers is despicable. The best part of this movie is when Charlie calls Emily a bitch. The European snobbery towards the very people who saved them is laughable.This movie would fit in today, with the other Hollywood elite socialist who revel in anything that makes America look bad.I hate this movie and everything that it stands for.

  • Great film

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 11/19/09

    I watched this film twice in the same afternoon. I liked it that much! The film has it all: satire, sensitivity, great performances, an excellent Paddy Chayefsky script (which obviously inspired the TV series 'MASH'), and a sweet love story. Dog-robber James Garner and his girl Friday Julie Andrews are so good together...and it's fun to think they would be paired again, eighteen years later, in the very different 'Victor/Victoria.' But the performance that I really like in this picture is that of Melvyn Douglas. He's superb as the rather unstable admiral. You never know what is going to happen with him next and of course, it affects the men around him as well as Andrews' character. Plus, to top it off, we have James Coburn who turns in a solid performance as a buddy of Garner's.

  • Hershey Bars

    • Mary
    • 9/28/08

    This has to be one of the best movies that I have ever had the privlege to see. I helps of course that I happen to love both Julie Andrews and James Gardner, but this movies shows them at their finest. Its has comedy, and also can bring a person to tears with sadness. In this time with the war going on it has the same kindof sentiment that the movies has even now. I happen to love this movie and watch it when ever I start to feel down. Its one of the best ever made and it is one of my personal favorites.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.