skip navigation
An American in Paris

An American in Paris(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

An American in Paris An American artist finds love... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not for me!

    • RedRain
    • 2/16/14

    With the exception of Oscar Levant, thee is nothing I like about this film! The dance sequences are far too long and the story is preposterous. I found Caron grossly miscast and Kelly's dancing jerky. Caron is so much better in "Gigi" than here! As for Kelly, well, I never like him in anything! If I want ballet, I turn to "The Red Shoes" and not this tripe! We all have our likes and dislikes and my male dancing ideal will always be Fred Astaire, whose fluidity of movement always completely and totally eclipsed Kelly!

  • An American in Paris

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/3/13

    A perfect vehicle for star/choreographer Kelly, director Minnelli & producer Freed. An American painter in Paris has romantic troubles with his sponsor and a young girl engaged to a French music hall singer. Kelly was nominated for a Golden Globe for his performance & received an Honorary Oscar for his choreography, debut film for Caron & Foch. Won six Oscars including Best Picture, original screenplay, art direction, cinematography, costume design & score, all culminating in the famous ballet at the films finale. Not much on plot, but nobody cares,the fantastic Lerner music is the attraction. I give it a 5/5.

  • American in Paris (Review 2)

    • Brian
    • 8/24/12

    5 stars. 4 is not enough. To get the full impact of the movie, one must see it from beginning to end. Director Minnelli and Gene gave the world complete perfection. The concept of an expat in Paris after WWII as a story is genius. The freedom of an artist enjoying life in a beautiful place just takes all of us to a wonderful time in our lives. The love story is fabulous. Gene caught between a woman who's money would keep him chained, or Leslie who would give him everything he desires. Oscar Levant, plays with such great humor as he is found seated between the two suitors of Leslie. Cigarettes and coffee were never such great props to the discussion of the two men talking adoringly about the same women, and they not knowing that they are. Oscar does however know of the mixed affair, and he is a hoot trying to keep calm in this hilarious scene. Make no mistake. This movie is a 5 star attraction. The best that Hollywood can offer.

  • American in Paris

    • Brian
    • 8/24/12

    I cannot understand how anyone could possibly vote this great movie anything less than 4 stars. What a portrayal of dancing, singing, instrumentals, screening, plot, and direction. What a marvelous storyline. What great dancing by Gene and Leslie. What great humor and piano playing by Oscar Levant. What graphics and animation as the final scene went from Gene's face of deep contemplation when his love Leslie, went away, to a rose on the ground placed before a vague, drawn, background. Once Gene pics up the flower he is taken to the wonderful, colorful, sexual, memorable, final dance scene. Wow! They don't make 'em like this anymore.

  • stairway to paradise

    • dr. terence
    • 12/11/10

    Guetery steals the film with his incredible rendition of GERSHWIN;SSTAIRWAY TO PARADISE...a shpwstopper if ever there was one!

  • An American in Paris (1951)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/28/09

    What an outstanding musical, and I am not a big fan of musicals of this nature. The choreography is breathtaking, the music is magnificent and the cast is absolutely wonderful. Exceptionally good art direction and cinematography.

  • You only find the right woman once.

    • Ben Larson
    • 2/3/08

    Before they struck gold with Gigi, Vincente Minelli and Alan Jay Lerner teamed up to write and direct this other story of Paris and love. It didn't win nine Oscars, but it did win six out of eight nominations including Best Art Direction-Set Decoration, Color; Best Cinematography; Best Costume Design, Color; Best Music, Scoring of a Musical Picture; another Best Picture for Arthur Freed; another screenplay award for Alan Jay Lerner; a Best Director nomination for Vincente Minnelli; and a Best Film Editing nomination.Leslie Caron was once again in the forefront of this film displaying her considerable dancing talents along with Gene Kelley who mesmerized us with his fancy footwork, and his singing alone and with Georges Gutary.Oscar-nominated Nina Foch (Executive Suite) thrilled us as the woman who kept artists.Great sets and a brilliant production number at the end, along with memorable tunes such as "Our Love Is Here To Stay", "I Got Rhythm", and "'S Wonderful".

  • WOW!! WHAT A DANCE--LUCKY LESLI CARON

    • Rachel
    • 2/20/07

    This is yet another of GENE KELLY'S movies that I love. I especially love the fact that he fluently spoke French--OOO-la-la. GENE is excellent in this movie. I like the song & dance routine he does while with the children on the street and I like the Tra-la-la-la routine that he does once he convinces "Lise" to go out with him. But most of all, I love the passionate, provocative number that he and Lesli dance in the ballet. A GENE KELLY fan's dream! But much credit to "Henri Baurel" for stepping aside and letting "Jerry Mulligan" have the girl--as is always the case with GENE!! This is an exciting and fun movie for anyone to watch!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.