skip navigation
An American Dream

An American Dream(1966)

  • Thursday, October 30 @ 06:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

An American Dream A man suspected of murdering... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • An American Dream

    • jan
    • 6/25/13

    Waste of wonderful talent!

  • An American Dream

    • Al DSwami
    • 10/22/10

    Great film that has it all. Incredible edgy prformances by all the cast. Risky business considering the era. Whitman and Powells chemistry are unrivaled. The word Intense is not strong enough to describe the adrenaline running amuck. Camera angles and lighting create a claustrophobic atmosphere that unmasks the raw underbelly of life. Life unmasked in its rawest forms thanks to Norman Mailers crossing of the lines. Some of the most vivid scenes and images contained in any film. Cult is the word and I hope that some day this film gets its just due. Last but not least is Stuart Whitman whom I believe to be one of the most underrated and unaclaimed actors of his time. He definitely deserves his just place in the cinema hall of fame. Thanks TCM for reviving this tour de force!!!!!

  • Elongated TV Movie

    • Laura J
    • 7/15/10

    I agree with one of the reviews, one of the worst movies I have seen on TCM in a while. To me this was just an extended Movie of The Week. I was suprised to see it actually was a movie shown in theatres. I was hoping for better acting considering some of the actresses, but I was wrong. I tried to make it through but after half way through I couldnt take it anymore and shut it off.

  • An American Drea,

    • vanessab
    • 7/8/10

    I loved this movie. More risque than other films of that time period. Kept me interested and guessing! Final line - a classic!

  • An American Dream - Pathetic!

    • johncody
    • 2/27/10

    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The script was ludicrous, and the directing horrible. The acting . . . well, given the lines they were asked to deliver, I'll give them a pass . . . but barely.But perhaps it should be recommended viewing for film students -NOT!

  • Definitely, please run it again!

    • Eric M.
    • 2/26/10

    This film has been so elusive, and to have it buried in the early morning slot where it can be easily overlooked (this happened in my case) is a real shame. This film marked the much heralded debut in Playboy magazine of Playmate Susan Denberg (Frankenstein Created Woman), and is one of those quirky American films that could never be made in today's "safe" Hollywood confines.

  • An American Dream

    • Matt S.
    • 2/26/10

    Please run it again---maybe run it in August as part of a Summer Under The Starts day long Janet Leigh marathon---you can run it alongside the too seldom seen One is The Lonliest Number which she's also in (and i know you havn't run that one in like two years either.) you could even run it maybe one random night after whenever your next showing of Psycho is--as a companion piece. Just please try and show it again sometime soon. This is definitely a movie that needs if not more exposure then at least Some exposure. If it were out on Dvd or even part of the Warner Archives Thing i wouldn't mind so much--heck if it was available on vhs from amazon--even for an exorbitant amount i wouldn't mind cause at least then i'd have the option of being able to see it---it was never even released to vhs so there is no other way of seeing it unless you run it again. you guys have a great service of running these great lost obscure movies such as this---you should keep it up guys.

  • What Happened?

    • Barrie Milton
    • 2/19/10

    Been waiting for this film for years to be broadcast. Have waited three months since TCM announced it. Last night got an email it was cancelled! Why??

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.