skip navigation
America America

America America(1963)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

America America A young Greek stops at nothing... MORE > $6.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Excellent Movie

    • Mia
    • 2/23/14

    Since I had seen this movie before I almost didn't watch it and am glad I did. Amazing movie I would suggest for others to watch. It is a reminder of the struggle and determination many of our ancestors made to come to this beautiful place we call home - AMERICA. Stathis Giallelis played his character very well. I felt captivated watching his eyes, so serious yet as one would expect a person to be in his situation, and his movements wondering what he would do next. Remember he has become a person trusting no one - understandably, and focused on his dream, so this has made his personality intense. I can't imagine anyone else playing this character. I think Elia Kazan made a great choice in casting an unknown. I really enjoyed all the actors. The length of the movie didn't faze me a bit. Actually I was so caught up in the story I didn't realize it was 3 hours until the last half hour. This is definitely a movie I wish to have in my collection.

  • Running time is far too long!

    • RedRain
    • 2/23/14

    I have a problem with Kazan's later films such as this one. They are, to the one, over-acted. By the time this film was made, Kazan was deep into "the method" and the use of unknown actors. It shows here, as the lead in this film never appears as interesting as those around him - and there are scores of extraordinarily good actors around him! It appears this is Kazan's homage to his roots but it is so long and so tedious in places that he forgot about tautness of story and just let this ramble. I honestly believe this film was ego-driven, as Kazan was just off his triumph in the Academy Award winning "On the Waterfront" and he probably believed he could do nothing wrong. He erred.

  • Exceptional Tale of Personal Stuggle & Triumph..

    • Michael
    • 2/5/13

    Was drawn in immediately to this story of a fathers attempt to save his family from tyranny, and the eldest son on who's shoulders he's placed all their fortunes.. But his son has his own ideas of salvation, and so we're brought down a long and arduous path filled with missteps, misfortunes, and the internal struggles of a young man so determined not to fail himself or his father, that he almost loses his soul along the way...

  • Excellent movie!!

    • Linda
    • 2/5/13

    My husband and I just watched this movie, and thoroughly enjoyed it! Very well done movie! i could picure my ancesters coming over from the old country and landing at Ellis Island. Also, someone in a previous review said that Elia Kazan was Armenian, and not Greek - but according to Wikipedia he was born in Istanbul to Greek immigrant parents.

  • Kazan wasn't as bad as the Stalinist Dalton Trumbo

    • Uncle Teardrop
    • 6/6/12

    who made sure "Darkness at Noon" was never produced

  • Ironic

    • Walter
    • 6/6/12

    Too bad that a movie about people seeking freedom and justice was made but such a sniveling lackey of Joe McCarthy. Kazan made great movies, but he was a rat, and that should never be forgotten.

  • correction

    • Donald Nolan
    • 5/11/12

    Please get it correct. He was an Armenian, not Greek

  • Brilliant, passionate movie

    • Spaghetti
    • 3/8/12

    This is an epic story. Sometimes it feels as if the movie is as long as the journey. But the performances are so honest, and the characters and the story so compelling. It is the story of my grandparents too, who were forced to flee an oppressive land in order to survive. It is the same story of countless people on this earth today too, who by sheer strength of will, and a few miracles along the way, become Americans. We must remember it is the story of everyone whose family struggled to get here, so we can see people as individuals, with individual stories, and not some faceless horde of immigrants who come here seeking a handout.Another amazing movie about the immigrant experience is "El Norte," which I would love to see on TCM.

  • No Matter What Others May Spin

    • Danton
    • 2/29/12

    About this film, it was a true story, and was portrayed as such. No "gimmics",or "political meanderings" herein. To wonder how "conservatives" would view this is silly....it was a cinematic voyage that emotes an emotional response from the viewer,and a newfound gratitude for this "Last Best Hope"for mankind, namely America. After all, isn't that the focal point of the movie? How peoples from around the globe dreamed of the journey to America, and would endure extreme hardship, and yes, even death itself to come here. The main character's trials and tribulations,his experiences detailing great personal loss, shame, discouragement, and the all- too- familiar" evil of man" upon fellow man were compelling. But it must also be noted that there were brief moments of kindness, in an unkind world, that shone through and it was portrayed in a realistic sense, not any "sappy" Hollywood genre. The realization of the world, and "life as it is" is reminiscent of the works of Miguel deCervantes, and "Quixotic" to say the least....and because of that one never tires of the tale. Today's film industry would balk at a making a movie of almost three hours....that's what was truly great about this epic tale...you become so enraptured with it that the time just flew by, and the finale was wonderful. An epic tale not meant for the short attention span sheeple who need to wake up today.

  • could have been really good

    • jj
    • 2/29/12

    This film could have been really good if the Lead Actor knew how to act. Everyone in the Movie is better than the lead. So call it an Artistic film....but you can watch it if your bored and there is nothing else on.

  • Joe Arness

    • Adrian Snare
    • 11/27/11

    An excellent movie, can our conservatives learn anything by watching it ?I'll give this one an 89%.But, I fell asleep before it ended.I think these sort of movies depict how bad things are on this planet rather than how great America is..

  • America America

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/26/11

    Elia Kazan directs this personal joureny about his uncle's struggle to immigrate to America in the hopes of making a better life. What I liked, Manos Hadjidakis score & the documentary style of filmming in graphic black & white. Elia's story is compelling & suspenceful, but had dull & uneventful episodes, which is one of the thing's I didn't like. The lead, played by Stathis Giallelis is an uninteresting character which could have been easily played by somebody with talent. To sum up, the film is more artistic than entertaining that left me unsatisfied. I give it a 2/5.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.