skip navigation
All the Way Home

All the Way Home(1963)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

All the Way Home - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • all the way home

    • nancy
    • 4/23/14

    i saw it when i was 11; it dented my heart; i am waiting to buy it.

  • written poetry

    • diane h b
    • 5/4/12

    One of the most beautifully written novels from the South. I think the reason this film has not been televised is because of the possible "racial" content. It is racial only because of the word the young boy hears from neighborhood children and his father " clearly tells him...that the word "nigger" is unacceptable and is an ugly word...that his name is a beautiful name...He is named after his grandfather.Many of my friends have never heard of the book, the author or of the story. What a shame!!!!!!!Authors from the south that should be recognized is James Agee.

  • All The Way Home

    • Ann Weissman
    • 6/22/11

    What a pity that this movie wasn't scheduled as part of the June tribute to Jean Simmons. It was a beautiful movie based on one of the greatest works of modern American literature. I wish TCM would also show the later (1971) television film made, I believe, for the "Hallmark Hall of Fame" series. It starred Joanne Woodward in one of the most breathtakingly brilliant performances of her magnificent career. I regret to say that neither of these marvelous films is available on DVD. Who makes these decisions?

  • True classic with great acting

    • Steve E
    • 1/21/09

    I live in Knoxville and was lucky to attend the world premere of this film in 1963. It had the unfortunate timing to be released at the same time of the Kennedy assination and was taken out of release due to the sensitive plot . The film has what has got to be the best performace Jean Simmons ever gave on the screen and deserves to be released on DVD. Beautiful black and white photography!

  • Lost Treasure

    • Lindell Agee
    • 7/30/08

    I am a distant relative of the Late James Agee and loved this old film of his story. I have been searching for a copy of either VHS or DVD(non existing) so far.

  • A Truly beautiful and Moving Film

    • WILLIAM TREMBLAY
    • 7/23/08

    I saw this in the theatre in 1963 and would love for it to be released on DVD. The film was removed from theatrical distibution shortly after the Assination of President Kennedy.

  • I miss seeing this movie.

    • Lee
    • 4/14/08

    Long before I moved to Knoxville, I was a fan of James Agee. I had read his Pulitzer Prize winning "A Death in the Family" but didn't know that a movie based on that novel existed. I saw "All the Way Home" on TV about 15 years ago and recognized it as being based on the novel. Since then I have tried numerous times to find a DVD or VHS of the film, but with no success. This is a great movie, one that I believe the Critic himself would have been very proud of. It deserves to be made available.

  • A film that should be on DVD

    • Charles Rileigh
    • 7/25/07

    All the way home is truly one of the most beautiful films ever made! The acting, especially Robert Preston and Jean Simmons, is first-rate, and the black/white photography only adds to the film's gentle warmth and extraordinary beauty. This is a film that deserves to be on DVD and shown on TCM. Why it is not yet on DVD only makes one question the intelligence of those who make decisions as to what should be available. If you ever get the opportunity, do see this film!

  • Superb acting

    • C.B. Hargett
    • 4/13/06

    Wonderful performances by all the cast.Well written script; excellent b&w cinematography. Unexpected plot twist.I'd buy the movie if it were available.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.