skip navigation
All Quiet on the Western Front

All Quiet on the Western Front(1930)

Contribute

FOR All Quiet on the Western Front (1930) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

All Quiet on the Western Front Young German soldiers try to... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A disquieting movie

    • David H.
    • 2/16/14

    Even after 80 plus years this is a movie that still resonates. This film shows us the horror and harshness of war more than most of the films that have come since. One of the best parts of the movie is when Lew Ayres comes home on leave to the absurdities of the Nationalist zealots on the home front. Certainly there are times when we have to defend ourselves "from the tyranny and terror that threaten to strike us down," to quote from another war movie (Mrs. Miniver). But, no matter how noble we may think our cause is there no glory in war, only loss.

  • This movie was awesome^_^

    • Erin Erickson
    • 5/1/13

    I'm usually not into war movies, they are always sad and depressing, and the plot usually bores me. But I really enjoyed this film, and I even found my self with tears a few times. The acting was excellent, very convincing, and i cannot stress enough of how much I love this movie.

  • All Quiet on the Western Front

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/29/12

    The greatest of all anti-war films whose message shall never date. A group of schoolboys naive enthusiasm for enlisting in the army are diminished by the war's brutality. Ayres became a star as the leader of a group of sympathetic German boys whose branded a traitor by his former teacher & classmates. Milestone won his last Academy Award for directing this outstanding adaptation of Remarque's novel, capturing the brutality of war & its affects on the soldier's, the battle scenes themselves are nothing less than amazingly accurate. The Best Picture winner of 1929/30 is still a powerful film experience. I give it a 5/5.

  • One Of My Favorite Films

    • Alex Krajci
    • 10/13/12

    This Is One Of My Favorite Films.

  • Classic

    • Jay in Texas
    • 7/30/11

    I have watched this movie so many times. Taking it into context it is the the 30's version of our 80-90's era Vietnam movies. Many of the scenes today would have to be computer animated, instead of visually stimulating. But the message and the art of this film is what makes it great. We see the many characters in a infantry group, and in many conditions. The dialogue may be a bit campy but the message is wonderful. What really works are the full scenes. Foreground views are tight, and the background views are well lit and create a true visual depth. Being a black and white this movie is like watching a series of still photos. The story board must have been full. You feel for the men, and feel the grime of a war in the emotions. Open the eyes and enjoy.

  • All Quiet on the Western Front

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/8/11

    ****

  • Time for some honestY

    • SJ Bobkins
    • 2/3/11

    Holy moly folks, do we talk this movie up because we wish to appear to be informed, intelligent and so well versed on the history of the cinema, while really feeling otherwise inside? Lew Ayres corny delivery of awful dialogue: "tell me you'll forgive me, oh please tell me you'll forgive me, you're dead" along with the horribly phony speeded up action makes this mess unwatachable by one used to current production standards. The message is wonderful, war is rotten, we all realiza that fact but who chooses to go to war? Should the US have just stood quietly by as the war mongering Japs, (yes, Virginia we called them Japs) invaded San Fransisco after we failed to address Pearl Harbor? Was it really important to stop Hitler from killing ALL the Jews and taking over the world? The problem with anti-war movements is that they fail to effect those who start the "glorious battles" and those who's idea of immortality improves dramatically if they kill for the Emperor or Allah.

  • AN ERROR IN THE AWARDS PAGE

    • william gauslow
    • 2/3/11

    No credit on the credits page is given to the fact that this movie was nominated and WON the Oscar for Best Picture. Come on Robert Osbourne, do your homework.

  • classic infantry film

    • vindog
    • 2/15/09

    If you have ever served as an infantryman there are several scenes in this film that will bring back memories (some good some bad). there is one scene during the bayonet charges across no man's land that shows the french troops approaching a german trench line just as the german artillery fires their final protective line (FPL), and director milestone got it exactly right. The film also quite accurately depicts men reduced to basic simplicity of character. It is an all out effort to eat, sleep and survive. If you have ever been there, you will recognize the characters in this film as yourself during that time in your life.

  • One of the Best

    • Dan
    • 7/18/07

    This is one of the American Film Institutes 100 Greatest movies of all time and it is one of my favorites. This film is a look into WWI told by the German's side for a change, but you can easily relate to their horrors as everyone went through it in the great war... Great Cinematography and a powerful, gripping story that gave this great epic an Academy award for best Picture in 1930. Despite some dated moments, this film still stands as a powerful statement against war and man's humanity to man. Directed by the great Lewis Milestone and stars Lew Ayres.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.