skip navigation
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer(1938)

Contribute

FOR The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1938) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Adventures... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1938)

    • JC
    • 6/4/14

    Please run this movie on TMC or produce the DVD?!? This is an American movie classic that I really want to share with my 10 year son. We are reading the book together, and though decades have passed since I viewed the movie on TV, I'm still able to vividly recollect the scenes in the 1938 movie. It was terrific!

  • Please make this available on dvd

    • Diane
    • 5/7/14

    This is the best of all the Tom Sawyer / Huckleberry Finn movies ever made. I would love to have it for myself my and grandchildren. Please release this black and white movie for all current and future generations. I only saw this a few times growing up and would love to see over and over again. I am sure I am not the only one growing up in the 50's and 60's that would love to be able to purchase this wonderful black and white movie.

  • WHY ISN'T THIS MOVIE ON DVD??

    • Jane C.
    • 5/23/13

    This is such a classic movie, and so well acted! I loved this movie as I was growing up, and can't believe that I can't show it to kids today. They would love it for its timeless message of growing up and learning about people.

  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

    • Rita S
    • 6/17/12

    I saw this movie as a young girl and have always loved it. I have been looking forward to having my daughter view this movie, especially after she read the book. Each week I scan TCM to see if this particular movie shows up and I am always disappointed. The actors bring this story to life. I wish this movie would be shown on TCM or more importantly to come out on DVD so I can purchase it for mine and my daughter's enjoyment.

  • THE ADVENTURES OF TOM SAWYER

    • gerald colucci
    • 8/6/11

    RELEASED THE SAME YEAR AS ROBIN HOOD, THESE MOVIES ARE STILL UNMATCHED. THIS IS LONG OVER DUE FOR DVD RELEASE, ALSO TCM HAS LONG IGNORED SHOWING THIS GEM. A GREAT CAST, A GREAT MOVIE, PLAY THE DAMN THING ALREADY. TCM SHOWS THE SAME MOVIES AGAIN AND AGAIN, ALOT OF THEM CRAP, THIS FILM DESERVES REPEATED SHOWINGS. A CLASSIC NOT TO BE MISSED----

  • Adventures of Tom Sawyer

    • Robin Nation
    • 6/12/11

    This my favorite movie adaptation of the novel, as a kid in the 50's it was on TV all the time and I don't think I ever missed a chance to watch it. Please release the film on DVD, I would love to see Tom, Becky, Aunt Polly, Muff Potter and even Injun' Joe again. It's a terrific, fun film and I'm sure many kids of the 50's feel the same way.

  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ****

  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (Tommy Kelly/1938)

    • Debi Brotherton
    • 2/25/10

    Delightful movie! Charming and enchanting! Tommy Kelly is adorable as Tom Sawyer! I want a copy of it for my 11 year old son. We watched part of it on youtube, but they took it off before we could see the whole thing. We loved it! It was fun watching it together. My son was doing research for a project on Mark Twain when we found it on youtube. My son dressed up as Tom Sawyer for his power point. Seeing at least part of the movie helped him a lot. I hope they will show it on TCM and re-release it on DVD.

  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

    • Cyndi
    • 1/29/10

    Saturday matinees were never more of a treat than when I saw this movie. I have never forgotten that whitewashed picket fence or the inside of the cave filled with the magical light of stalagmites, stalactites - it led to my reading all of Mark Twain and begging my parents to let me go caving. Though it was years ago, those memories are as clear as if I were sitting in the theatre today!!! Bravo, for a wonderful movie.

  • Wonderful Childhood Memories!!!!

    • Tisa Reeves
    • 8/26/09

    I Loved this movie as a child. I grew up in Southern California and this movie was on EVERY saturday morning. On mondays I would go to school and my friends and we would reenact it word for word...I always wanted to be Becky Thatcher so the only way we decided who would be her would be the one who would come in with her hairdo on Monday Morning. I would always win... I haven't seen it for years but I still think about it with warm memories...I am going to buy it and show it to my daughter (even thought she is grown).

  • My Favorite Tom Sawyer Movie

    • Karen Mosley
    • 4/1/09

    This was the best Tom Sawyer movie ever! It was released on VHS at one time. Please release it on DVD.

  • One of My Favorites

    • Liz
    • 6/30/08

    As children growing up in the 50's my two sisters, my brother and I were fortunate to be able to attend the movies in my hometown each Saturday afternoon. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer remains for me to this day one of the best memories of those days spent in that dark theater enthralled by the scenes up on the screen.I am hoping that this movie and others from my childhood will soon be available on DVD so that I can introduce them to my grandchildren!

  • DVD PLEASE

    • Debbie L
    • 5/30/08

    This was on Family Classics with Frazier Thomas many, many times and I nor my family ever tired of it. They just don't make movies like this anymore. I feel that more movies like this should be released into DVD format for ongoing generations to enjoy and have something more entertaining to watch than the triffle they show now a days that deter children of their imagination rather than enhance their dreams.

  • Please release this on DVD

    • terry smith
    • 5/11/08

    I remember viewing this movie as a child in the '60s. It is a classic! It motivated me to read the book.I know children I would love to share this delightful story with . . .

  • Waiting for release of the DVD

    • lynn conway
    • 3/31/08

    I watched this movie as child and have waited for many years to see it again. I would really love to have the DVD for my grandsons.

  • Great movie

    • Rita Saavedra
    • 2/15/08

    I watched this movie when I was younger and really enjoyed it. I would love for my little girl to see this classic. Please release this movie and also let me know when it is released.

  • Wonderful Movie to Watch, especially for children.

    • Sharon Jones
    • 4/7/07

    Please release this movie on DVD and let me know when it is released. I'm waiting for this children's classic to give to my grandchildren. They love to hear me tell them stories of the days when I was a child and this movie is a wonderful story of those days.

  • Wonderful Movie To Watch

    • debbie crawford
    • 3/20/07

    I love watching this movie is was so funny. I enjoyed it immensley.Please show and when will it be on DVD?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.