skip navigation
About Mrs. Leslie

About Mrs. Leslie(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

About Mrs.... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • THE REAL LOVE STORY

    • DE
    • 11/11/13

    A BEAUTIFUL AND WONDERFUL LOVE STORY. SHIRLEY AND ROBERT WHAT A COUPLE!PLEASE SHOW ON TCM SOON! SHIRLEY BIRTHDAY OR ROBERT BIRTHDAY, ANY TIME.

  • My Favorite Robert Ryan Film

    • Patti
    • 12/4/11

    Tender and touching, About Mrs. Leslie is a definite tearjerker. I totally adore Robert Ryan and loved having the opportunity to see him in something more than his usual "heavy" roles. While he was a totally amazing actor and was always fantastic in his villainous roles, it was a real treat to see him in a tender, romantic role. He had amazing range as an actor and was just as wonderful as a romantic lead as he was as a "bad guy." He was quite believeable here as the quiet, reserved George Leslie. Without question, this is my favorite of Ryan's films (and I love many of his works). Shirley Booth was wonderful in this heartbreaking role. While she's not generally thought of as a romantic actress, don't let that put you off from this film. I think the fact that she wasn't one of the "bombshell beauties" is what really makes this film work. Her character is just an ordinary, unglamorous, unpretentious gal, and since that is exactly what Shirley Booth was, she was perfect in this role. So, while Booth and Ryan may seem somewhat of an odd pairing, it definitely works beautifully in About Mrs. Leslie. Have the tissue box handy with this film. And, TCM, please air this one soon, as I am in need of a re-watch.

  • About Mrs. Leslie

    • Beth
    • 8/23/11

    I love this movie so much and couldn't find it on dvd. I asked my mother if she could find this movie on dvd I would never ask for anything again. She did, and I haven't. I think this movie (besides "Wuthering Heights") is one of the most beautiful love stories I have ever seen. I just think Robert Ryan was wonderful, handsome and gentle in his portrayl of George Leslie. See it, it's a wonderful movie!

  • About Mrs. Leslie

    • Gayle
    • 11/10/10

    "About Mrs. Leslie" is one of my favorite movies! Shirley Booth and Robert Ryan were SUPERB! Shirley Booth's acting reminded me her role in "Hot Spell." She played the loving wife to Anthony Quinn, who was superb as well, but didn't love her. Her devotion and love for Mr. Leslie was just so on point. They were two of my favorite stars and it's a shame that "About Mrs. Leslie" isn't available in DVD or on VHS. They don't make movies like they did back in the day, which is why I am praying that this movie WILL be made available for purchase. I prefer the Classics to this stuff that is being shown these days.

  • ABOUT MRS. LESLIE

    • indydave
    • 4/5/10

    this was the first love story i saw as a youngster in the sixties. having only seen shirley booth on television as the maid named hazel i was spellbound as this touching tale unfolded in a series of flashbacks that span what appears to be several decades. telling a tale of love not meant to be with robert ryan as her leading man and love interest, you will also notice a few cameo appearances by actors like ellen corby and the kid who played jimmy olsen on the 1950's george reeves t v show superman. its a great film for a dreary, rainy afternoon when you don't want to come out of a sad funk. please release this in disc for fans to purchase soon. tcm rules. thank you

  • Loved Shirley Booth and Robert Ryan

    • Linda S.
    • 3/1/10

    This is an old movie that I saw as a kid and never forgot.It is very well acted by Shirley Booth and Robert Ryan andit deserves to be released on DVD. Please bring it out on DVD so we can all enjoy it.

  • BRING BACK ABOUT MRS. LESLIE MOVIE

    • CAROL
    • 11/12/09

    I READ THAT UNIVERSAL AND T.C.M. WERE COMBINING FORCES TO BRING BACK MOVIES OF LONG AGO. I TRIED TO FIND IT AGAIN AT THE TCM SITE AND LOST IT. BUT IF THIS IS TRUE, I KNOW THERE ARE SOME OF US WHO HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR MANY YEARS FOR THE MOVIE, ABOUT MRS. LESLIE, STARRING ROBERT RYAN AND SHIRLEY BOOTH. PLEASE MAKE THIS MOVIE A PRIORITY WE CANT WAIT TO SEE IT AGAIN,WE'VE WAITED MUCH TOO LONG AS IT IS. MANY , MANY THANKS.

  • About Mrs. Leslie

    • terry
    • 11/10/09

    This is a beautiful movie. Only saw it once and never forgot the performances. PLEASE put this on DVD. A must for any real movie buff.

  • A Real Tearjerker!

    • Peg
    • 8/6/09

    This is a beautiful film that needs to be made available on DVD...And it needs to be made available on Turner Classic Movies. If ever there was an "Essential", it is this one!

  • about mrs. leslie

    • Delores
    • 9/21/08

    I SA THIS MOVIE YEARS AGO AND I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET IT WITH NO AVAIL. I HOPE THEY PUT IT UT SOON. A EONDERFUL LOVE STORY WITH EXCELLENT ACTING. SHIRLEY BOOTH WAS WONDERFUL. I CANNOT FORGET THE FILM AND I TELL ALL MY FRIENDS ABOUT IT. GET IT OUT SOON.

  • A Wonderful Love Story To Remember!

    • Alice
    • 7/18/08

    I saw this wonderful movie many years ago but couldn't remember the name of the title. This movie was so beautiful it stayed in my memory. After searching the net I found the title. All I could remember was that Shirley Booth met this gentlemen once a year. She asked him no questions but enjoyed the time they spend together and he in turn asked her no questions but savored their time together.

  • A touching, sensitive love story

    • Sally
    • 1/6/08

    I think this is the type of entertainment we're not able to get in today's offerings. It definitely should be made available for home video for classic- movie enthusiasts.

  • needs to be available on DVD!

    • elaine
    • 11/28/07

    I was lucky enough to get a copy of this touching picture. Someone on Ebay sold me a VHS copy. It's not the best quality and it must have been taped from the TV, but I treasure this gem of a romantic picture! It needs to be out on DVD!

  • A real love story

    • Linda
    • 7/19/07

    This use to pop up on TV all the time, haven't seen it in many years, but I remember every scene. Hope some day to find a copy to own - nobody has it.

  • needs to be seen again!

    • Kenneth
    • 2/3/07

    A signature, touching portrayal by the incomparable Shirley Booth. Second only to her performance in Come Back Little Sheba. Should be on DVD for sure!!!

  • Does anyone else liek the movie AboutMRs. Leslie

    • Olivia
    • 7/19/06

    I thinkthis is a cool movie. You never knowt he stories that experienced adults have behind them.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.