skip navigation
Private Screenings: Child Stars

Private Screenings: Child Stars(2006)

Contribute

FOR Private Screenings: Child Stars (2006) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Private Screenin... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Bravo Robert Osborne!

    • Charlie Seng
    • 11/24/11

    I happened across this interview by Robert Osborne with Jane Withers, Dickie Moore, Darryl Hickman and Margaret O'Brien. Without doubt, one of Mr. Osborne's better interviews. Of course, each interviewee had their own wonderful and exceptional experiences, each told in their own way, adding much to our knowledge about the lives of these stars. It is a wonder that more TV shows don't feature reminiscences about Hollywood stars. Probably the answer to why none of these show up is that the mostly young people today go for the current outlandish and on-the-edge (according to the young people) "stars" which make up 90% of media coverage. One thing needs to be said about Mr. Osborne's contributions to this interview - without interrupting excessively or hogging the program, Osborne used his knowledge and skills by drawing out many various aspects of each of these star's lives. Instead of reading daily about the unwholesome exploits of today's movie and TV "stars", it would behoove the entertainment industry, including TCM, to have more interviews with other past stars, before we lose them forever. This program was a beautiful example of the skills of Mr. Osborne and the here-to-fore unknown lives of these childhood stars, who, it turns out, each had fabulously full and exciting lives during their film careers, as well as lives of excitement and fulfillment during the rest of their careers.Charlie Seng

  • Wonderful!

    • Steve
    • 1/19/10

    Please do consider putting Margaret O'Brien on for an interview by herself. And also do another new full hour with Dick, Darryl, Margaret and Jane, they were great!!! Or at least rerun this show from Jan. 15. Thanks.

  • Great special

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/16/10

    This program re-aired yesterday after a marathon of Margaret O'Brien films. It definitely was an eye-opening special, filled with many candid recollections by the actors of their days as child stars. It really made me appreciate how difficult it was for them, how they took on such responsibility and discipline at a tender age, and how some of them were the breadwinners for their families. Not only did they have an unconventional education during those years, but they were working full-time and probably a lot harder than adults four or five times their age. That's amazing when you think about it. And the fact that they survived and lived to tell about it is just as amazing. Now, when I watch these films I think about what they endured and how they managed to give such magicial performances.

  • Why which Television today?

    • Odessa Stigler
    • 1/15/10

    From the music jazz song introduction, to the end of this selection where everyone say good-bye with a hug, I enjoyed it!A masterpiece of entertainment. The stars were passionate in there rendition and honest. Please continue to bring us presentation such as this. Thank you

  • Child Stars Really Entertaining!

    • Carol
    • 1/15/10

    I truly enjoyed watching this presentation and the amazing attitudes and discussions the 'stars' provided was really entertaining. I REALLY would like to get a couple pictures of Margaret's hair style!!! I love it and would want to cut my like that!!!!But the interplay between the 'child actors' reminiscing and divulging their experiences and their memories brought it 'home' for me.Love it!

  • THIS IS A MARVELOUS SHOW & NEEDS A SEQUEL!

    • Spencer Shannon
    • 1/15/09

    I saw this a couple yrs ago, very lateat night-(it was over at about 5am)& saw it again a couple times prior & again, since that late-night viewingThefirst thing that struck-me, was just how matter of fact>Darryl Hickman is about everything! A regular joe all the way & I love Mrs. Withers as a person With her "Gussy this" & "Gussy that"As for Margaret 0'Brien, A TCM ALERT LIKE *MR. BORGNINE! YOU FOLKS MUST GET HER ON A "PVT. SCREENINGS!!!" Not that she's his age. It's just that she was a little girl in the grandest of all "Dream Factories" Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer-(l924-) All us fans have left as far as memories are-(Books, dvd's & such) & here she is! Mr. Dickie Moore, he seems to not really want to speak of it all & as he said, same went for his acting I've heard horror stories of *DeMille before & his came as no surprise. Many may not know he was even basically barked-at by the very right-wing>*John Ford, during 1 of the meetings of directors during that awful period of the HUAC!!! May have been a DGA meeting *Ford stood-up & said "I'm *J. Ford, I Make Westerns & *Cecil, You've made some of the most popular pictures ever made. But, I Don't Like You *Cecil" & left. His reason: *DeMille was 100% behind it all & pushing just too-much even for the likes of a *Ford. Other stories surfaced as wellBut please do consider trying to get Margaret on the air!!! She seems like she'd love-it anyway & a follow-up to this show but possibly with a couple other "Child-Star Guests" TERRIFIC STUFF & I THANK YOU

  • Private Screenings: "Child Stars"

    • alan young
    • 1/15/08

    To really get a feel for what growing up as a Child Star in the Golden Age of MGM, this is a must see. Daryl Hickman, Margert O'Brien, Jane Withers share their memories of working together and with other well known child stars of this magical era. Going to school on the MGM lots and being part of a cast system that was not at all, inclusive. The Stories are entertaining, provocative and certainly enlighting to say the least. Vote so that these wonderful interviews will soon be released on DVD. Alan YoungCharlotte NC.

  • Who Would Have Known?

    • Jim Pass
    • 11/22/07

    This has to be one of the best interview sessions that I've ever watched. Darryl Hickman, Jane Withers, Margaret O'Brien, and Dick Moore are all faces that I've seen over the past 50 years, but didn't really know anything about. Robert Osborne's skillful parlay of questions evoked some of the most revealing comments about these wonderful folks, regarding their trials and tribulations in Hollywood. Applause, applause! This was a terrific show.

  • Great! Fab! But who the heck did the captioning?

    • Jeane Cooper
    • 10/2/06

    I was watching with an elderly relative and we had closed captioning on.While the show was truly entertaining and insightful - I got annoyed at the errors in the captioning.George Kukor and Jean Tierney?? These were just two of the more glaring mistakes.There are many younger people only now discovering the talents of a past time. Why give them incorrect information? Especially, for a program that is produced at TCM. Are there no proofreaders, who are also film buffs? No - then hire me!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.