skip navigation
The Brothers Karamazov

The Brothers Karamazov(1958)

  • Wednesday, January 7 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Brothers Karamazov In this adaptation of the... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Apologies...

    • RedRain
    • 7/1/13

    I most definitely meant to say Richard Basehart, not Tony Curtis, and I humbly apologize. Gad! I must have had a "senior moment" when I wrote that!

  • Addendum

    • Jhaemes
    • 11/20/12

    I've just realized that the Tony Curtis/Yul Brynner movie came after this on TCM.....perhaps the poster just got them confused.

  • Great film...

    • Jhaemes
    • 11/20/12

    ...but it does NOT include Tony Curtis, as the previous reviewer claims. Maybe they mean Richard Basehart? They don't resemble one another, but there it is. Anyway; I was duly intrigued with young Shatners' performance here. Known for being a little showboat-ish, he was lovely and restrained here, as in 'Judgement at Nuremberg'. Lee J. Cobb gives a 'wow!' rendition, as always.

  • Brilliant!

    • RedRain
    • 11/20/12

    One of the last great epic films from MGM with a superb cast all around. Surprisingly good performances by both Tony Curtis and William Shatner, as two of the three recognized sons of the father, played by Yul Brynner in what is arguably his best performance. The cinematography here is nothing less than phenomenal. The entire film brings together the high points of the novel in a stunning way. This is the story of a controlling yet distant father with three sons and another illegitimate son who he treats as a servant. This Cossack family in the throes of a changing Russia find their own drama to deal with. I am always drawn to this film whenever TCM airs it, as it truly echoes much of the world we live in today, along with the exact family dynamics, e.g. sons growing up and seeking their father's approval, sons learning to live and love in an adult world, questions over religion playing a part in their decisions, etc. Bronislau Kaper's beautiful film score is simply the icing on the cake in a film which should be seen by everyone!

  • This Classic on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 3/18/10

    I would enjoy this DVD myself. It stars Yul Brynner, Lee J. Cobb, and Claire Bloom.

  • Brothers Karamazov

    • Duane Walton
    • 3/1/10

    Brother Karamazov is an exceptional classic movie. The story written by a wold famous author should be on DVD for distribution as many other classic movies are. I certainly would purchase for myself and for friends. I would like other movies by the same author.

  • Need on DVD

    • Gerald Maloy
    • 7/26/09

    It's a shame that this movie is not on DVD. Every actor is superb and the adaptation from the novel is excellent. Proof that a thought-provoking movie can be enjoyed on many different levels.

  • Great movie and great actor...

    • janet masly
    • 7/14/08

    I extremely enjoy viewing Yul Brynner's movies. The one I wish to see again is Brothers Karamazov. I would love to see it available on DVD.

  • Great movie

    • margaret madrid
    • 1/1/08

    If you get this movie on dvd please let me know. I would like to buy it.

  • I saw this movie a long time back.

    • margaret madrid
    • 11/29/07

    would you please play this movie Brothers Karamazov on Turner Classic Movies and let me know by e-mail when it will be playing.thank youMargaret Madrid Megmadrid40y@comcast.net

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.